We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ILoveNam
Henties Bay, Namibia

Great stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 07 Jun 2022
Loved the lodge and room! Great care was taken when planning the lodge to make best use of the views. If you want to access the Park an hour before sunrise and stay an hour after sunset, this is the place to stay.

Getting to the room is an adventure; prepare yourself for a long walk. For those with difficulty walking, please mention this in your booking as the rooms are very far from the main building. Even the close rooms are far. They do have staff and trolleys to take your luggage to the room.

Rooms are canvas with thatched roofs. On one side is a huge bed, 2 loungers, and coffee station, including a small fridge. The bathroom has a large indoor shower and separate toilet. Double basin. A balcony, with a most spectacular view completes the chalet.

Meals (and most service staff) were great. Pool needs a good algae clean.

As with most NWR properties, there are maintenance issues like leaky taps and lime scale in the bathroom; the setting makes you forget these...
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 7 630
  • Hotels.com
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 5 594
  • Hotels.com
Free parking
Pool
Camping at Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 777
  • Priceline
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
Free parking
Pool
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 689
View more hotels in Sesriem
Reviews (734)
Filter reviews
734 results
Traveller rating
258
325
101
32
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
258
325
101
32
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big daddy long walk place to stay national park lodge inside the park sunrise and sunset your luggage packed breakfast wonderful location early morning guided tour main building morning drive mosquito net min drive spent nights here sossusvlei area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 734 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2022

After reading all the negative reviews I wasn’t that keen on staying here, and spent days researching all the other options! We spent one night here in the end and I can absolutely recommend it. The staff were friendly, the location unbeatable and we loved our rooms. The food was fine and service friendly. Really, if you consider what other surrounding operations are charging, this is absolutely the best option. The morning drive to sossusvlei with a takeaway breakfast costs a fraction of what it does elsewhere (particularly considering their child rates) and you will be the first there. On top of this NWR occasionally offer special rates which are excellent value - we benefitted from a special on their website. The booking office can be a little slow in answering emails, but they do get back to you. We had to shift our dates twice because of covid and I had paid fully in advance…they honoured all my bookings. So I have no absolutely no complaints and would recommend staying here.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CapeGooseberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2021

On the plus side, the location is amazing. If you want to avoid gate times and beat the crowds to Deadvlei for the sunrise, it is the only place to stay. The views over the desert are impressive. I even saw a brown hyena at the waterhole just after the sun set. The staff were lovely, too.

The chalets are comfortable and spacious, but looking tired. We had two boarded up windows in our unit which somewhat spoils the floor to ceiling views over the waterhole. We had one of the units nearest the main area so didn't have too far to walk.

On the negative side, it was incredibly noisy. I was expecting peace and tranquility in the middle of the desert. Alas, that is not what I got. All afternoon and well into the evening, I had to put up with shrieks, whoops and hollers from groups of party-goers, hogging the pool with loud music blaring. Perhaps I was just unlucky, but it rather spoiled the atmosphere.

Even worse was the food. Tough steak: unheard of in Namibia, but they managed it. Boiled potatoes with frozen mixed vegetables. Dessert was allegedly panna cotta but I would have been embarrassed to serve it. It reminded me of a school dinner.

Overall, I was very disappointed and would not stay there again.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traceydominic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 October 2021

If you want the extra hour before sunrise and after sunset to get to and from the dunes this is the only game in town other than camping, and is priced accordingly. You pay for the location, not for the quality of the accommodations, food and services.
The lodge sits at the base of a small mountain with the expansive desert in front. In the distance are pink sand dunes. The cabins spoke out from the common areas single file along the base of the mountain. Cabins 13 and above have the better views of the sand dunes. If you are either end you can be fairly far from the common areas, especially on the low numbered side.
The common area includes a bar/restaurant, the reception area and lounge and a pool area. None are air conditioned and neither are the rooms. While the mornings and evenings were perfectly comfortable, around 3pm it is quite toasty with only a fan to keep you cool. On our first day it was over 39°C/100°F in our room the 3rd week in September.
The high ceilinged rooms are spacious, a sort of luxurious thatched roof hut. The bedroom side is large enough for a bed and sitting area. The king sized bed is two large twins pushed together. The sitting area has views of the desert and the pink sand dunes beyond. There is also a porch with chairs and a table facing the same view. Lovely in the morning but way too hot in the afternoon in September. There are only a couple of outlets for charging and no WIFI in the rooms. In fact you have to buy a voucher if you want WIFI access in the common areas. A bit cheesy at these prices.
The bathroom is also spacious and includes a large shower and a double sink counter. That said the huts have seen better days and are showing signs of wear and pour maintenance - the shower head leaks profusely, the outlets are old and dirty, stains on the outdoor furniture, the wooden counters are worn, the water boiler is in serious need of decalcification, etc.
While I’ve seen complaints about the service and indifferent staff, we found everyone to be helpful and friendly and had no issues.
With the place less than have full because of Covid-19 the dinner and lunch menus were limited with only one or two choices. On our second night there were even fewer guests and they didn’t even offer a starter. Food quality is OK, just limited offerings.

Room tip: Chalets 13-25 have sand dune views. 13 is closer to the main lodge. 25 is furthest out.
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank debndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2021 via mobile

The place is situated in the middle of the desert and is super close to the dunes, amazing! The place itself is very beautiful. It has a pool to relax and the rooms are super comfortable, right in front of the desert, where with luck you may see animals. The only big problem was the staff and the service. They charge 11 euro for 100mb of WIFI, and it doesn’t even let you write on WhatsApp. By trying to sort this problem out, the staff was super rude and uninterested in customer service. They treated us very badly and pretended us to pay even if the service was not working. Generally speaking they didn’t know what customer service meant.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank nacarrillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 July 2021

the lodge is set in a pretty stunning location. you cant see it when you first enter the park through the outer gate - it is right behind a mountain. it is about 10 minutes drive to get to it once you enter the park. it is also pretty near to the Sesriem Canyon.

there are 2 access roads - the first, is a "public road", take the first left after you enter the park entrance (outer gate); the second is further down beyond the second entrance (inner gate), about 1.7km west of the elim dune turnout, on a "private road".

guests at this lodge get to depart for sossusvlei a little earlier than the rest of the visitors, and return a little later. if you cant stay at this lodge, other nearby good options would be Dead Valley Lodge, Sesriem Oshana Camp, and Sesriem Campsite

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mrc282
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews