We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kiwiana
New Plymouth, New Zealand

Only campsite inside the park so great for an early start to the dunes

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 05 Jun 2023
Large campsite with many sites, each with its own braai. As this is a large campsite, there were several communal ablution blocks – clean enough but could do with more regular cleaning, and as with most NWR sites, none of the facilities are regularly maintained. Ha s reception/shop area, a large undercover restaurant and bar and swimming pool. Wifi at reception and restaurant areas.
Reasonably well-stocked shop and the staff were helpful with advice regarding climbing the dunes.
By staying at Sesrium campsite (the only camp inside the park), you can go to the park entrance gate (located about 200metres further along the road), and then go through the gate at 6.15am. This is 1 hour before the main gate opens so a ‘head start’ of 1 hour to get to the dunes.
We stopped on the way to Sossusvlei at Dune 40 (40km from Sossusvlei) – there were only 2 other people and us climbing the dune so it was very peaceful and a great way to enjoy the sunrise.

Date of stay: April 2023
Room Tip: Great to stay at this campsite for an early start driving to the dunes. The gate opens one hour...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 7 491
  • Trip.com
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 6 689
  • Hotels.com
Free parking
Pool
Camping at Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 806
  • Priceline
Free parking
Pool
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
Free parking
Pool
R 4 413
R 3 690
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 690
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 413
View more hotels in Sesriem
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
48
96
54
26
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
96
54
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool head start beautiful tree park entrance braai dune sunrise canyon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2023 via mobile

One of the nicest places to stay & explore the dunes. You must wake up early & climb the dunes. It's an amazing experience. Also a must visit place is the Sesrium Canyon.
The campsite must provide WiFi access to customers. Not only at the restaurant.
🙏🇱🇰🙏

Room tip: Please stay 2 nights & 3 days to cover Sossusvlei
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank GundaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2022 via mobile

Stopped off here for lunch as there are very few options in the area. Nice people and very impressive hall like restaurant/building but the food is average at best. Still better than going without on this long road though. May well be livelier in the season as we were there mid winter.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2022 via mobile

We stayed at the campsite for two nights during March 2022. The location is excellent, the campsites basic, but with a large beautiful tree at each camp site.

However, as with most NWR sites, nothing is maintained. Bathrooms have broken shower heads and leaking taps, rubbish bins are overflowing and stink soo much, the roofs at the pool area were falling appart, the lawn was not mowed in years, and the sand dunes started taking over the place... Would be a wonderful place if staff could maintain it properly.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Francois P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2021 via mobile

Our Campsite was under a nice big tree and very spacious. We picked one close to the ablutions which was cleaned on a regular basis.

The Campsite offers a restaurant. It was disappointing when they did not have everything on the menu in stock.

The staff at the gate was very unfriendly when needing to open the gate to go to the local shop and we were told "it's to much work to open the gate now."

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 320aliciad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 June 2021

Spent 2 nights camping in May 2021. Sites nice and big and most had a big shady tree. Ablutions were nice and clean with good hot water showers. Facilities were adequate - but the shop was very under stocked, I guess due to Covid and the lack of visitors. Best to make sure you have all the foodstuffs you need with you. Restaurant has a very limited menu, but what they do have is very good. Staff are friendly and helpful. It was really nice to be there at such a quiet time - getting a head start before the outside gates open in the morning to Dune 45, Dead Vlei and Sossusvlei is a great bonus. Really enjoyed our time there

Date of stay: May 2021
Thank SAtraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews