We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dewald R
Cape Town Central, South Africa

Private Camping & Desert Fairy-tale

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 07 Feb 2024
If you're looking for the perfect Sossusvlei camping experience, then look no further than the Sossus Oasis Camp Site. It is located just outside the Sesriem Gate, making Sossusvlei extremely accessible, and the campsite almost feels like a desert fairy-tale that definitely should be at the top of your list. Each of the private campsites are like their own mini oasis with each having a rustic yet beautiful private ablution, kitchenette, and "braai" (BBQ) area. The campsites are spacious and are suitable for tents, bush-wagons and caravans alike; even including a paved roof-covered area providing some reprieve from the sun. Each site is strategically positioned to face the desert (some better than others) ensuring all guests have beautiful views and the best seats in the house for unforgettable sunrises and sunsets. It isn't just the private campsites that make the campsite so special. They have a refreshing swimming pool for you to cool off at as well as the Sossus Oasis (reviewed separately) nearby which serves as a fuel station, convenience store and check-in area for the campsite. Keep in mind that wildlife are able to roam freely, and we were lucky enough to see Oryx as well as a Fennec Fox nearby our site. Also watch out for the jackals, especially in the evenings, as they're notorious bin raiders. I recommend you secure yours with heavy rocks to avoid any surprises. Camping at the Sossus Oasis Camp Site was an unforgettable experience, and I will most definitely be back if I ever have the opportunity of visiting Sossusvlei again!
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taleni Africa, General Manager at Sossus Oasis Camp Site, responded to this review
Responded 07 Feb 2024
Dear Dewald,
Thanks so much for the superb review and rating of your unforgettable camping experience!
Happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, the private facilities, spacious grounds around each campsite, the refreshing pool, roaming wildlife and of course the beautiful views!
We look forward to welcome you back again!
Best wishes,
The Sossus Oasis Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 4 994
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 994
0.8 km from Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Free parking
Pool
R 2 894
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 894
  • Priceline
23.9 km from Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Free parking
Pool
R 3 683
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 683
  • ZenHotels.com
37.4 km from Sossus Oasis Camp Site
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 7 488
  • Trip.com
36.7 km from Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
23.0 km from Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
64.5 km from Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Free parking
Pool
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
19.3 km from Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Sesriem
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
246
181
40
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
246
181
40
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews petrol station private toilet hot water private ablutions service station small shop national park few meters entrance gate sesriem canyon visit sossusvlei early in the morning namib desert shade shower garage middle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2024

Stayed here more than once. It is commercial and touristy because of the location. But better than many other campsites that are in similar tourist attractions around Namibia.
First, the privat campsites are great. Even so we had one facing the road, the place was still quite and private. We had a little issue with the fire place, as the pin was missing that holds it up. It was also not placed very well. The bathroom was nice and the seating area also cozy. We had a bird living in our roof, so we had to rearrange the table mulitple times in order to keep the table clean. The pool is small and there is no shade. Nice to cool down a bit but that is all.

Second, the communal campsites are also very nice. Not as privat but still not too close to each other. The fireplace was very well positioned and we had a big tree for shade. The bathrooms were nice and clean. However, we only had one warm shower out of three. There was a big tour bus group staying there when we did. They were quite noisy and partying at the pool, so we did not check it out. Still, they were respectful at night and not loud after 8pm.

Beware of animals around both sides. There are fences but they do not keep all of them out. We had our bin raided one night and could see animals hiding in the dark during dinner, coming as close as 3meters.
Also, it can get very windy here. Make sure to pack away all your belongings at night or tie them down well.

Room tip: Optimaler Stop um nach Sossusvlei zu kommen
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CrazyAsap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taleni Africa, General Manager at Sossus Oasis Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2024

Dear Crazy Asap,
Thank you for the wonderful rating and extensive review of your stay in May last year!
Glad you enjoyed the quiet private campsites and the communal campsite facilities. Yes we do have roaming wildlife around camp and guests are warn upon check-in to keep things packed away.
Looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Sossus Oasis Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2023 via mobile

We are here for 2 nights as part of a G Adventures tour. We did not have a choice but to stay here. Although there is a big place down the road where I would much rather be called Sossusvlei Lodge. I hate camping but I guess if you like that sort of thing this isn’t a bad place. It’s got toilets, showers and sinks. There is also a decent swimming pool.

Room tip: This is roughing it in my mind. But if it’s your style, it’s not the worst place on earth.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Scenic30210514384
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taleni Africa, General Manager at Sossus Oasis Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2024

Dear Sharon,
Thank you for the feedback!
Pity that you hate camping and yet choose to take part in a camping trip with G adventures?
Looking forward to welcome you back for a more luxury stay at our nearby Sossusvlei Lodge in future!
Best wishes,
The Sossus Oasis Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2023

A beautiful campsite. The individual facilities on each site were lovely and included toilet, shower, washing-up area (both with hot water), braai, light.The camping areas were well spaced and the views lovely. The sky at night was spectacular.
It was conveniently located for the dunes and also the balloon ride and airport, if you wanted extra trips. There was a convenient shop and also the petrol station, where the staff were very helpful and changed and repaired one of our tyres.
Sadly the pool was not available, but as it was winter the water would probably have been too cold.
I would recommend this site and go back there if we are ever lucky enough to be there again.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank unam147
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taleni Africa, General Manager at Sossus Oasis Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2023

Dear Unam,
Thank you for the excellent rating and review!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location, the private facilities at each campsite, lovely views and night sky and the shop, fuel and tyre workshop nearby!
Our apologies for the pool - as an aftermath of a wind storm we need to do a thorough clean to get it usable again that can take up to 2 days.
Looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Sossus Oasis Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2023 via mobile

This campsite is an excellent choice if you plan to visit Sossusvlei just for a couple of days. We stayed here for two days with our motorhome, the chalets were perfectly situated with excellent views over the namib desert and surrounding vistas including epic mountains. You will have a really nice shower and BBQ site with great power outlets. During night time, curious animals will visit you- like desert fox. They seemed relaxed. Check in was swift and done at the campsite center where you can find a small shop for your most important amenities including food and snacks. Firewood can also be bought here too. Do not worry about fuel or tire services because all can be done here. The nearby Oshana camp seems pricey and not worth. Book the Oasis!

Room tip: The pool area in the center looked nics but was cold (June). Probably very nice when it is above 30 degrees outside.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank T3llic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taleni Africa, General Manager at Sossus Oasis Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2023

Dear T3llic,
Thanks so much for the superb rating and review!
Delighted that you enjoyed our location, the beautiful views, the nice shower and private facilities and also the other onsite facilities like fuel, shop and tyre service.
We look forward to welcome you back when you visit Sossusvlei again!
Best wishes,
The Sossus Oasis Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2023

This is some of the top notch camping I have ever experienced! The campground is located close by to Entrance Gate to Sossusvlei and Deadvlei monument. Quick drive to the national park and other attractions. The campsite includes small shop, electricity outlets, kitchens, pool and showers with toilets. There is limited Wi-Fi near the pool area. We had bunch of jackals visiting our campsite at night!

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lucie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taleni Africa, General Manager at Sossus Oasis Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2023

Dear Lucyan,
Thank you for the lovely rating and review!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our location, the private facilities at each campsite, the pool and nearby shop!
Looking forward to welcome you back again!
Best wishes,
The Sossus Oasis Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews