We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Carl Stuart
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom

One of the top campsites in Namibia

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Jan 2023
Me and my girlfriend spent 30 days touring Namibia where we stayed at a good number of campsites. Sesriem Oshana was probably one of the top campsites we stayed at. The campsite itself was excellent: quiet, spacious and had a decent view of Elim Dune. You get your own shower, bathroom and sink area (which has hot water). Also, the nightsky at this campsite is something else. It was the first time I'd ever seen the Milky Way in any kind of detail in real life. The bar / shop was a great place to grab cold drinks (definitely needed when you're in the middle of the desert) and the pool area was a great place to cool off, chill and meet other tourists / travellers. We were also close to the inner gate which was perfect when we wanted to visit Elim, Big Daddy, Dune 45 and the Deadvlei. We loved it here, which is why we spent 3 nights here. If I go back to Namibia one day, I'll definitely be coming back.
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bertus Struwig, Other at Sesriem Oshana Campsite, responded to this review
Responded 30 Jan 2023
Thank you for you high rating - glad you've enjoyed your stay at Sesriem Oshana camps.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
1.0 km from Sesriem Oshana Campsite
Free parking
Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 5 699
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Sesriem Oshana Campsite
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
24.2 km from Sesriem Oshana Campsite
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
36.3 km from Sesriem Oshana Campsite
Free Wifi
Free parking
Camping at Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Sesriem Oshana Campsite
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 779
  • Priceline
25.1 km from Sesriem Oshana Campsite
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Sesriem Oshana Campsite
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
65.7 km from Sesriem Oshana Campsite
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 614
38.2 km from Sesriem Oshana Campsite
View more hotels in Sesriem
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
9
7
8
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
9
7
8
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tourists toilet camping campsite shop pool gate wifi park namibia desert lodge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2022

VERY UNHAPPY LOCAL GUEST

We paid N$4700 for 4 adults and 1 child this weekend. This camp site is not secluded and unique as you would assume for the price.
You share the restaurant and pool with the NWR campsite which is RIGHT behind this one.
Campsites are on top of each other and so close together that you hear your neighbours conversations.
NWR campsite is N$800 for the weekend which is a massive difference.
Oshana camp site has no trees and almost no shade. The tiny roof doesn’t help much. NWR campsite has full power and massive trees.
Essentially what you pay $4700 for was a private shower and toilet. An absolute rip off! To add to that, the shower geyser is only big enough for 2 people to shower, then it’s ice cold.
NWR ablutions are beautiful and clean.
Don’t waste your time and money paying for this campsite, rather just book at NWR.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ZarenKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 August 2022 via mobile

Camp equiped with bathroom ans toilets at your place, clean and adapted to park the car. Unfortunately each place are near from the other which is a negative point. The parc gate is just at the beginning of the camp if you want to leave earlier for the dunes in the morning.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lo59670
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 May 2022 via mobile

Great campsite to stay at. We did 2 nights here. It can get really really hot at ssesriem and the shaded site can help a little - but access to the NWR pool helps even more! Having an attached shower and toilet was a luxurious touch for us :) campsite is small and quiet. There is a lot of room between each site.

Room tip: You need to check in a dead valley lodge just up the road. You cannot use their pool though. It gets loud around 5 am for sunset departures
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank annaoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2021 via mobile

This campsite is inside the outer gate. The inner gate is just a 2 min drive away. It's perfect to be among the first at Sossusvlei. Each site has its own toilet and shower. This is really convenient. There is enough space and all was very clean.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank icespark
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2020

Sesriem Oshana is a fantastic option if you want to camp inside the park (and therefore get the perks that come along with that, namely getting an extra hour in the morning and at night before and after the park closes to the general public). Yes, it's a little pricier than a lot of other campsites in Namibia, but it's totally worth it for those two extra hours inside the park, and for its facilities.

We stayed in a number of campsites throughout the country and this was definitely one of the best. (Spitzkoppe Tented Camp and Camping was another standout, but that was mostly b/c of the complete privacy; the facilities there were basically nonexistent except for a drop toilet). Each site at Oshana has a roof, a private ablution block (with toilet and shower facilities in separate units), a brai pit, an outdoor sink for washing dishes, and--best of all--unobstructed views straight out into the desert. We saw springbok, gemsbok, and ostrich during the day, and a jackal at night (who actually ran through camp, which was fun).

I highly recommend Oshana if you want to camp in the park, and would happily stay there again.

As for not being able to use the pool at the fancy schmancy "sister lodge" (my words, and I'm just too lazy to look up the name of the place, but it's where you'll check in for Oshana Campsite), I totally get it. Who knows how much people are paying to stay there, versus us campers who are paying...undoubtedly a lot less. I didn't feel offended or upset; plus, there's a bar and resto just down the road that's open to Oshana campers.

My only gripe, and it's not really against the campsite (although maybe a staff member could enforce some sort of quiet rule?), is that I, ahem, felt inspired to, kindly ask the people one spot over to turn off their music long after the sun had set. I love music, but there's a time and place for it, and at night in the desert isn't it--especially when everyone else is being quiet and respectful.

Please be respectful of your environment, both the people and non-human animals you're sharing it with.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brittany_11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bertusglobal, Owner at Sesriem Oshana Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2020

Thank you for your detailed response and advice. We do plan a swimming pool for the Oshana camp in the future. We fully agree that playing of music is not suitable and we do our best to advice our clients of camping rules.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews