We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Chaz
Leura, Australia

Perfect location close to Sossusvlei

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Dec 2023
The resort is conveniently located within the main Sossusvlei gates, allowing you access into the park an hour earlier than guests staying outside of the main gates - making for additional photo time and more enjoyable weather for climbing and photographing the dunes. The rooms themselves were stunning, with the comfiest beds and air conditioning (a must in the desert!). The main resort was stunning and we thoroughly enjoyed the dinner and breakfast buffets. The hotel is also very flexible in offering take away breakfasts for those who are wanting to head off first thing in the morning to experience the dunes and they also provide you with a delicious take away lunch on the day of departure which is very helpful as there is nothing around for a couple hundred kilometres other than lodges and petrol stations. The pool facilities were nice and in high demand of an afternoon. The staff were very friendly and professional, however can take their time in responding to requests (such as getting towels for the pool etc). Would definitely recommend for a night or two.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 5 385
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 994
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 004
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 994
0.8 km from Dead Valley Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 6 310
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 6 310
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 751
24.3 km from Dead Valley Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 2 900
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 894
  • Tripadvisor
    R 2 894
  • Priceline
25.2 km from Dead Valley Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 2 695
    5.5 km from Dead Valley Lodge
    R 3 769
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      R 3 769
    • Agoda.com
      R 3 769
    • eDreams
      R 3 769
    65.8 km from Dead Valley Lodge
    Free parking
    Pool
    R 3 683
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
      R 3 690
    • Tripadvisor
      R 3 683
    • ZenHotels.com
    38.1 km from Dead Valley Lodge
    R 3 286
    Earn Trip Coins after your stay
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
    42.2 km from Dead Valley Lodge
    R 7 574
    No prepayment needed
    • Hotels.com
      R 7 486
    • Lol.travel
      R 7 228
    • Expedia.com
      R 7 488
    36.0 km from Dead Valley Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Sesriem
    Reviews (94)
    Filter reviews
    94 results
    Traveller rating
    64
    12
    7
    7
    4
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    64
    12
    7
    7
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews golf buggy water trough game meat sunrise tour big mama recommend staying here packed breakfast wonderful location early morning park gate stayed here for nights pool area air con philip tent bbq luxury
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    7 - 12 of 94 reviews
    Reviewed 29 October 2023

    Located near the entrance to the park, this is a perfect place to arrive early to the Vleis before it gets too hot or later to hike Sesriem Canyon. We loved the openness of the lodge and our gorgeous accommodations, complete with Oryx napping in the shade and the sound of barking geckos when the sun fell. P.P. and his staff did an excellent job with the braai, offering such game meats grilled in front of you as, Kudu, Orynx, Blue Wildebeest, Warthog, Eland, and Steenbok sprinkled with delicious Namibian Kahana Spice. We were also encouraged to try the fried mopane worms, which are a Namibian delicacy. We would definitely stay here again.

    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank Debra D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 28 October 2023

    We really enjoyed Dead Valley Lodge, it's inside the first main gate which means you can be first in line for a second gate that opens at 5.30am and be in the park before sunrise. The staff were SO friendly here, we loved it. The design of the hotel area, all open plan, airy and modern really appealed to me, lovely restaurant area and large bar with stools around. The food was very good, a buffet and plenty of choice with meats cooked to order. The pool area was small but nice and never overcrowded when we were there but it was hot! For the day we went to the Vlei's early they also did a breakfast pack to take with you and this place was full board with simple salad selections for lunch. The tented lodges are big and split in 2 halves with a large bathroom on on side and room on the other. Even had air-con though they were still tents! big comfy bed too.

    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Martyjojo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 22 October 2023

    I was on a road trip with friends and I wanted to be at Dead Vlei for dawn. As there are only two camps that I know of inside the first gate at Sossusvlei, I booked us into Dead Valley Lodge in order to get an early start. We were all thrilled with the accommodation and the hotel. It was the perfect desert setting, yet comfortable and luxurious! The staff couldn't have been lovelier and the food was great fun. There was an opportunity to try lots of different local game meats. The chef welcomed everyone to dinner with a drumbeat and made sure everyone was happy and settled. We had a great guide who took us out to Dead Vlei very early and the hotel provided us with a packed breakfast. It was a wonderful experience.

    Room tip: The pool is certainly crowded during the day but it is a very hot desert so the fact that there is water at all is a miracle.
    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Judy C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 28 September 2023 via mobile

    Booked as part of a trip organised by Audley Travel. Flew into an airstrip about an hours drive over gravel roads from Sesreim. The welcome we received was warm and. Friendly, and although we were early our chalet was soon ready. The roof and walls are canvas with mesh windows with canvas covers on the outside and curtains inside. It was spacious and the king size+ bed was comfortable. When the wind didn’t blow it was very quiet, and when it did the sound against the canvas lulled me to sleep. The food was generous in portion size, and Chef PP was the life and soul of the party. The range on the menu wasn’t huge, with red meat predominating but it was well prepared and tasty. Lunches were simple affairs and the two nights we were there dinner was a buffet/bbq. Plenty of dishes to make up a starter and to accompany the bbq meat or fish and all very tasty.

    The highlight of the trip for us were the guided tours Elim at sunset, the Sossusfrei Sunrise tour, with a climb up Dune 45 at 6:30am and the Sesreim gorge. On all three our guide was Richard. He was friendly and informative without lecturing us. He was mindful of our capabilities, to the extent of offering to carry chairs up the Elim dune so that we could sit in comfort to watch the sunset - we made him leave them behind, but he insisted on carrying up a cool box so that we had sundowners at sundown. Most importantly, in the gravel roads and river beds he was a careful driver, mindful of our safety and, as far as possible, our comfort, but some degree of “African Massage” is inevitable off road. He is a real credit to an excellent lodge.

    Date of stay: September 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank 701MarkT
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 23 September 2023 via mobile

    Everything was perfect: the food, the views, the pool, the accommodation and especially the service. A HUGE shout-out to manager Desire! She is superb. Her staff are confident and empowered. She made us feel very welcome and adives us well

    Room tip: If you want to get to Dead Vlei before the early morning shadows are thrown, make sure you are at the gate by 5:30am (gate opens at 6am).
    Date of stay: September 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank lidljeemstevie
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews