We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
This balloon ride is a true lifetime experience

A once in a lifetime experience. We loved the peace and serenity as we glided through the skies... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Peter B
,
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Hot air balloon 30th wedding

This trip in a hot air balloon over dunes was fantastic the whole team well.orgamised and... read more

Reviewed 3 June 2024
elaine1408
,
United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 347 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Sesriem
More Info
More Info
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
309
21
5
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
309
21
5
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews champagne breakfast balloon ride hot air balloon once in a lifetime whole experience worth every penny amazing experience an early start red dunes ground crew family business the sun rise local community amazing flight whole team bread high quality
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Amazing experience! totally quiet peaceful and majestic. It is not often that we get to experience such a wonder that transforms us, if only for a few hours,into an observer from above of such beauty in nature. Professional and 1st class. Thank you very much.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Larry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
denis981, Owner at Namib Sky Balloon Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Larry,

Thank you for your kind words!

We are so happy to hear you have enjoyed the experience with us, and we are looking forward to having you onboard again in the future for another completely different flight.

Hoping you have a wonderful safari onwards.

Warmest regards,

The Namib Sky Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

Truly a wonderful experience to fly over Namibia at sunset. The entire experience is very safe and the guides/pilots are friendly. The breakfast is also well arranged and delicious.

The reason for giving only 4 out of 5 is the the fact that we did not actually fly over the dunes but over a plain next to them (we could see the dunes, though) and the price. The entire flight is less than 1 hour, so this works out to €6-7 per minute which is obviously significant.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Toon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
denis981, Owner at Namib Sky Balloon Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your valued review. We are so happy to hear you have enjoyed the experience with us.

The balloon flies with the wind therefore we can never guarantee a flight over the dunes, but we are so glad you have had a nice view of them while flying nearby.

Over all, we hope to have made your experience a memorable one and we look forward to welcoming you onboard in the future!

Warmes regards,

The Namib Sky Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

If what you really want is to experience a balloon flight, better do it somewhere else.
You will not be flying over the dunes, the whole flight consists on overflying a plain for the whole hour, looking at the same landscape without getting closer to anything else.
The breakfast itself was very short and not as expected for the high amount of money you are paying.
Basically, the experience is, by far, not worth the money.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank T9324QVjavierg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
denis981, Owner at Namib Sky Balloon Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Javier,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we strive to offer a memorable experience for everyone and your thoughts are key for us to achieve this.

Part of the magic of ballooning is not knowing for sure where the winds will take us as we have no engines. Every flight is different to the previous and we therefore cannot promise a flight over the dunes, but our launch site is situated 6 km from the famous red Sossusvlei dunes making for excellent panoramic views.

We are so sorry to hear you did not enjoy the flight, and hope we can convince you to take another flight with us in the future for a different perspective.

Warmest regards,

Namib Sky Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

This is a must do for anyone who is comming to the area.
Thank you Tracey for our amazing experience we really enjoyed it.

The scenery you see while you are floating in the sky is next level.
The ballon ride is like floating in the sky one moment you were close to the ground the next you were high up in the sky there were no bumps or anything just a gentle cruise in the sky. The landing had no big impact no rocking around or anything.

The breakfast that came later was good value. There were plenty for all and plenty of choices.

Note: take some extra money to buy some items that the school sewing project do. I really regret not having enough on me to buy something

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank claire_beer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2018

This was a highlight on our trip to Namibia - a truly amazing experience. The stunning views soon made us forget about any fear of heights, helped by the humour of our Canadian pilot, Jerome. Our trip lasted an hour and a half and it ended with a surprisingly soft landing. The ground crew were waiting for us and we were treated to a lovely champagne breakfast. The organisation was excellent. Do this; it's marvellous.
NB if you are staying at Little Kulala you are very close to the launch site.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank RMFHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews