We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
allan1949
Tel Aviv, Israel

Beyond expectations

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 May 2024via mobile
Very good tours. Thanks to zaki.
Great food.
Comfortable bed.
Reasonable internet albeit in the bar only.
Too little light at dinner.....
.......
....

............
..............................................................
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taleni Africa, Marketing at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 17 May 2024
Dear Allan,
Thank you for the excellent rating!
Very happy to hear you enjoyed the comfortable beds, great food and the guided excursions!
We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 800
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 801
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 800
  • Vio.com
    R 3 793
24.5 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 3 800
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 800
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
24.5 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
Restaurant
R 7 406
    4.7 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    R 7 574
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      R 7 574
    • Lol.travel
      R 6 739
    • Expedia.com
      R 7 497
    35.9 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    R 600
    No prepayment needed
    • Agoda.com
      R 600
    26.8 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
    R 4 418
    R 4 101
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
      R 4 100
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 4 418
    • Tripadvisor
      R 4 101
    37.4 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
    R 3 827
    Fully refundable
    Earn Trip Coins after your stay
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
    42.1 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
    R 10 500
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      R 10 500
    • eDreams
      R 10 500
    • Vio.com
      R 10 480
    0.8 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    R 8 495
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      R 8 495
    19.8 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    View more hotels in Sesriem
    Reviews (1 147)
    Filter reviews
    1 147 results
    Traveller rating
    579
    403
    115
    36
    14
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    579
    403
    115
    36
    14
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews stir fry the grill buffet style reception area situated right breakfast and dinner air conditioned beef watering hole the reserve small pool park gate big daddy tents accommodation desert lodge
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    5 - 10 of 1 147 reviews
    Reviewed 23 March 2024

    The location and ambiance of this lodge are perfectly suited for the red desert sand dunes. It blended well with the nature and has easy access to Sossuvlei desert area.

    The real attraction is the dessert with Dune 45 and the ability to be close to nature. We enjoyed the observation deck, the sundowner deck and the outdoor dinner under the stars.

    The hotel can arrange tours and activities. We chose to take the plane ride over the desert and highly recommend that to get the most amazing perspective over how vast, red and gorgeous the Namib desert is.

    Room tip: This is geared toward large groups but the buffet is good and they handle the groups very well.
    Date of stay: March 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Travel16705090688
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Taleni Africa, Marketing at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2024

    Dear Kathy,
    Thanks so much for the 5-star rating!
    We are very pleased that you enjoyed our location, ambiance of our Lodge, the dining under the stars experience, activities offered and the recommended flight over the Desert!
    Looking forward to your next visit!
    Best wishes,
    The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 February 2024

    The Lodge is just outside the Main Gate for the dunes, so very convenient for an early start. Our chalet was lovely, very spacious and comfortable. The evening buffet dinner, served outside, was excellent. We enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended.

    Date of stay: February 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank groovygirl123
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Taleni Africa, Marketing at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2024

    Dear Groovy Gril,
    Thank you for the recommendation and super rating!
    Delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location, spacious accommodation and the excellent dinner buffet on our al fresco terrace!
    We look forward to welcome you back again!
    Best wishes,
    The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 January 2024

    During my recent stay in the Sossusvlei area I visited Sossusvlei Lodge for dinner and can highly recommend it. Before heading to the restaurant we grabbed some sundowners at the bar which was definitely the right choice. The drinks paired with the beautiful Namib desert and the firepits being lit as the sun started setting really set the mood for the evening. Dinner was a 3-course buffet featuring a surprising variety of fresh, local ingredients, with highlights like game meat options. When you consider the variety of the buffet and the impressive selection of wines, it's amazing how Sossusvlei Lodge manages to deliver such quality in the heart of the Namib. To top it all off, our waiter, was attentive and friendly making the evening even more enjoyable, and our table looking out onto the desert is truly what fairy tales are made of. If you're looking for a memorable dining experience in the Sossusvlei area, then Sossusvlei Lodge is a must-visit. A huge shout out to New African Safaris for arranging this once-in-a-lifetime experience!

    Date of stay: August 2023
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Dewald R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Taleni Africa, Marketing at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2024

    Dear Dewald,
    Many thanks for this heartfelt review and recommendation!
    We truly appreciate the kind compliments and are so happy that you enjoyed the amazing experience from having drinks during sunset, the impressive wine list, variety at our buffet and the service you received from our staff!
    Looking forward to welcome you back when you visit Sossusvlei again!
    Best wishes,
    The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 December 2023

    On a road trip, this was our stop for the famous Dunes, really comfortable accommodation, we were furthest possible from reception but still had WiFi (patchy at times but not an issue). Fabulous scenery and views wherever you looked. The evening buffet was exceptional, it would be hard to find fault unless you were exceptionally picky. Just look where you are!
    I couldn’t comment on breakfast as we left beforehand to get to Big Daddy whilst it was still fairly cool. The lodge provided all our group (46 people in total) with an excellent packed breakfast. Only slight issue was yoghurt supplied without spoons!
    We would be more than happy to stay there again

    Date of stay: November 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank 927suerev
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Taleni Africa, Marketing at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2023

    Dear Osusana,
    Thank you for the excellent ratings and review!
    Delighted that you enjoyed our comfortable accommodation, the exceptional evening buffet and the packed breakfast!
    Our apologies for the oversight of adding spoons - will notify our kitchen staff to be more cautious.
    We look forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Sossusvlei!
    Best wishes,
    The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 December 2023

    First lodge of our trip, we went there for 2 night.
    Amazing location, with super view on the desert.
    Staff friendly and cleaned space BUT
    -We left pocket in our room (not in the safety box and we lost 150 euros). Not admissible
    -a/c working but not refrigerating (old system?)
    - you should provide water to your guest, it's not a cheap accomodation and we found free water in every other place we slept in
    -food is not that good. Leftover of dinner served for breakfast, fish overcooked and the way they offer food (a lot of in buffet ) is really such a waste of food.

    Date of stay: November 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank 159ilaria
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Taleni Africa, Marketing at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2023

    Dear Ilaria,
    Thank you for your feedback.
    Glad you enjoyed our amazing location, superb view of the Desert and the friendly service you received from our staff!
    Our air-conditioners are regularly serviced and working as best as any system can in the extreme Desert heat.
    We will never serve left-over food from dinner for breakfast! It is clearly stated in all descriptions that we serve buffet meals - understandably it is not everyone's liking. Our apologies for the overcooked fish - you are always welcome to ask for a new serving to be prepared to your preference...
    It is a pity that you did not report anything about stolen money whilst at the Lodge? At least then we could have investigated it properly - now it is just a statement you make without any proof?
    Best wishes,
    The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews