We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Henry

Nice lodge to stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Oct 2023
It is a good joice if you like to stay next to the park entry and/or like to flight over the dunes and the Namib. The lodge has a normal standard, food is good, rooms are good and clean. As in most lodges the WIFI is only at the bar/reception.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taleni Africa, Marketing at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 18 Oct 2023
Dear Henry,
Thank you for the lovely ratings and review!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our location, the good food, clean rooms and facilities and activities!
Looking forward to welcome you back again!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.2 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
23.7 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Camping at Sossus Oasis Camp Site
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
0.8 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 7 494
  • Priceline
35.9 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 800
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 800
24.5 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.8 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
65.2 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
19.8 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 425
37.4 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
View more hotels in Sesriem
Reviews (1 147)
Filter reviews
1 147 results
Traveller rating
579
403
115
36
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
579
403
115
36
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stir fry the grill buffet style reception area situated right breakfast and dinner air conditioned beef watering hole the reserve small pool park gate big daddy tents accommodation desert lodge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1 147 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2023

We had our first sundowner experience in Africa at the Sossusvlei Lodge (it was an add on) and absolutely loved it. The wildlife including the largest bird nest that looked more like a condo complex was great, but the sundowner was the real treat - great drinks and snacks while watching one of the best sunsets ever.

Everyone has their own private cabin that is comfortable with a large shower and prep area. Wake up call is a knock on the door - another first - making the whole experience special. The meals were great with plenty of game meat available. To my amazement, my wife said she loved the "ostrich" and wanted a second helping.

I actually have a hard time describing the setting which was lovely, but to me, the feelings of relaxation, calmness, and just raw beauty can only be absorbed by being there. Thank you to the welcoming people of Sossusvlei!

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taleni Africa, Marketing at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2023

Dear Mike,
Thanks so much for the superb rating and review!
Delighted that you enjoyed the raw beauty of our environment, your first African sunset experience, the individual accommodation units and the delicious game meats at our dinner buffet!
We look forward to welcome you back during your second visit to Sossusvlei!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2023 via mobile

Great location, right next to the park entrance.
Rooms were nicely done and lovely views out to the desert. Bonus to see animals coming through the lodge and at waterhole

Negatives, it has a lot of coach parties that nominate breakfast and dinner. The service was not so good (particularly bar staff) as in other lodges around Namibia, this maybe related to the large groups.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dazza22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taleni Africa, Marketing at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2023

Dear Dazza,
Thank you for the lovely rating and review!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, the views from the rooms and the roaming wildlife at our Lodge!
Our apologies that our service were not on par at the bar - will look into that to improve.
Looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2023

The chalets are situated amongst lovely grounds and our one was right on the edge of the dessert with lovely views not impeded by other chalets.
The food was plentiful, buffet, with freshly cooked meat of your choice. I did hear one other guest say he felt intimidated by the large queues and I could understand what he meant as there were many many guests.
The rooms were generous with a marvellous bathroom and the staff polite and friendly

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Nomad787781
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taleni Africa, Marketing at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2023

Dear Nomad,
Thank you for the great rating and review!
Very pleased that you enjoyed our lovely views, the large rooms, buffet meals and the friendly service you received from our staff!
We look forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2023

Our stay here was magic. Location is stunning and the chalet was divine and well appointed. Food and service excellent, to the extent that the sandstorm was catered for. Tour and guide to Deathvlei and the many big dunes was a great experience.

Room tip: Bring along warm clothing for chilly evenings and morning on desert drives in winter
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Flip v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taleni Africa, Marketing at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2023

Dear Flip,
Thanks so much for the superb ratings and review!
Delighted that you enjoyed our magical location, the well appointed chalets, excellent food, great guided excursion and the service you received from our staff!
We look forward to welcome you back when you visit Sossusvlei again!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2023 via mobile

This hotel is my favorite place in the whole world. It is so spectacularly beautiful. Oryxs walked past our room in the evening and sociable weavers nested out back. This is the most special place and I can’t recommend it enough. Wonderful team

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rachelbX8942LN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taleni Africa, Marketing at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2023

Dear Rachel,
Thank you for the kind recommendation!
We are very ecstatic that you enjoyed our beautiful Lodge, the roaming wildlife, the special surrounds and the service you received from our team!
Looking forward to welcome you back to your favorite place!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews