We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nomad787781
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

Great location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Sept 2023
The chalets are situated amongst lovely grounds and our one was right on the edge of the dessert with lovely views not impeded by other chalets.
The food was plentiful, buffet, with freshly cooked meat of your choice. I did hear one other guest say he felt intimidated by the large queues and I could understand what he meant as there were many many guests.
The rooms were generous with a marvellous bathroom and the staff polite and friendly
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taleni Africa, Marketing at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 26 Sept 2023
Dear Nomad,
Thank you for the great rating and review!
Very pleased that you enjoyed our lovely views, the large rooms, buffet meals and the friendly service you received from our staff!
We look forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 800
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 800
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 800
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 812
24.5 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Bar Toilet - unlimited views!!
R 3 800
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 800
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
24.5 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
Restaurant
R 7 420
    4.7 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    R 7 574
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      R 7 574
    • Lol.travel
      R 6 636
    • Hotels.com
      R 7 659
    35.9 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    R 600
    No prepayment needed
    • Agoda.com
      R 600
    26.8 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
    R 4 425
    R 4 100
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
      R 4 100
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 4 425
    • Tripadvisor
      R 4 100
    37.4 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
    R 3 245
    Earn Trip Coins after your stay
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
    42.1 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
    R 10 500
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      R 10 500
    • eDreams
      R 10 500
    • Vio.com
      R 10 500
    0.8 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    R 8 495
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      R 8 495
    19.8 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    View more hotels in Sesriem
    Reviews (1 147)
    Filter reviews
    1 147 results
    Traveller rating
    579
    403
    115
    36
    14
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    579
    403
    115
    36
    14
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews stir fry the grill buffet style reception area situated right breakfast and dinner air conditioned beef watering hole the reserve small pool park gate big daddy tents accommodation desert lodge
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    15 - 20 of 1 147 reviews
    Reviewed 12 September 2023

    Our stay here was magic. Location is stunning and the chalet was divine and well appointed. Food and service excellent, to the extent that the sandstorm was catered for. Tour and guide to Deathvlei and the many big dunes was a great experience.

    Room tip: Bring along warm clothing for chilly evenings and morning on desert drives in winter
    Date of stay: August 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Flip v
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Taleni Africa, Marketing at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2023

    Dear Flip,
    Thanks so much for the superb ratings and review!
    Delighted that you enjoyed our magical location, the well appointed chalets, excellent food, great guided excursion and the service you received from our staff!
    We look forward to welcome you back when you visit Sossusvlei again!
    Best wishes,
    The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 6 September 2023 via mobile

    This hotel is my favorite place in the whole world. It is so spectacularly beautiful. Oryxs walked past our room in the evening and sociable weavers nested out back. This is the most special place and I can’t recommend it enough. Wonderful team

    Date of stay: October 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank rachelbX8942LN
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Taleni Africa, Marketing at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2023

    Dear Rachel,
    Thank you for the kind recommendation!
    We are very ecstatic that you enjoyed our beautiful Lodge, the roaming wildlife, the special surrounds and the service you received from our team!
    Looking forward to welcome you back to your favorite place!
    Best wishes,
    The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 August 2023

    Close to DeadVlei, good and clean houses, excellent breakfasts , delicious dinners (especially steaks) , very helpful staff. I would recommend the place to anyone willing to be in the Soususvlei Park at earliest

    Date of stay: August 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank 286jerzys
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Taleni Africa, Marketing at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2023

    Dear Jerzy,
    Thanks so much for the recommendation and excellent ratings!
    Pleased that you enjoyed our clean facilities, the delicious dinner and breakfasts as well as the helpful service you received from our staff!
    Looking forward to welcome you back when you visit Sossusvlei again!
    Best wishes,
    The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 August 2023

    The lodge was a great place to unwind after a drive and climb at the dunes. The individual lodge type room was comfortable and sufficient. We were able to see a few oryx roaming about just outside our private entrance deck. There is also a watering hole on the property which is lit up at night but we personally did not witness any animals there. There is outside seating in the bar area and it is a great place to unwind and look at the sunset and again the oryx. The dinner buffet held outdoors (still warm enough in July) was one of the best. The seating is reserved and well co-ordinated by the staff. There were grilling stations for meat which included some game, a grilling station for fish as well as a section for stir fry with noodles. The salad and dessert bars were generous and had a good variety of selections. The breakfast buffet is also very good (indoors due to cold temp) with ample selection as well as an eggs "your way" cooking station.

    Room tip: Try to snag a room away from the parking area which face the "back" where you may see some wildlife.
    Date of stay: July 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Macpen2014
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Taleni Africa, Marketing at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2023

    Dear Macpen,
    Thank you for the superb ratings and review!
    Delighted that you enjoyed our location, the individual accommodation units, the roaming oryx, the dining under the stars experience and the delicious food served at our buffets!
    We look forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Sossusvlei!
    Best wishes,
    The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 July 2023

    These are the pros and cons based on my experience:

    Positive: big nice rooms, beautiful location in the desert

    Negative: the AC unit in the room was too loud, no bottle of water in the room, food is barely average, no robe in the room. It’s overpriced for what they offer. The lodge is 45 kilometers to the dunes, you have to pay someone to take you to the dunes.

    Date of stay: July 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank Maryam S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Taleni Africa, Marketing at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2023

    Dear Maryam,
    Thank you for the lovely rating!
    We are very pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful location in the Desert and the nice big rooms.
    Yes, we are situated outside the Park and from the Park entrance it is 45km to Dune 45 - Elim dune is just past the entrance and Deadvlei is another few km further - we do offer guided excursions or you can do a self-drive.
    We are one of the most affordable accommodation options in the area.
    Looking forward to welcome you back.
    Best wishes,
    The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews