We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
rachel b
Brooklyn, New York

Amazing

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 06 Sept 2023via mobile
This hotel is my favorite place in the whole world. It is so spectacularly beautiful. Oryxs walked past our room in the evening and sociable weavers nested out back. This is the most special place and I can’t recommend it enough. Wonderful team
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taleni Africa, Marketing at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 07 Sept 2023
Dear Rachel,
Thank you for the kind recommendation!
We are very ecstatic that you enjoyed our beautiful Lodge, the roaming wildlife, the special surrounds and the service you received from our team!
Looking forward to welcome you back to your favorite place!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.2 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
23.7 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Camping at Sossus Oasis Camp Site
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 3 748
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 748
24.5 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 6 636
  • Priceline
35.9 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.8 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
65.2 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
19.8 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Bar Toilet - unlimited views!!
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
24.5 km from Sossusvlei Lodge
Restaurant
View more hotels in Sesriem
Reviews (1 147)
Filter reviews
1 147 results
Traveller rating
579
403
115
36
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
579
403
115
36
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stir fry the grill buffet style reception area situated right breakfast and dinner air conditioned beef watering hole the reserve small pool park gate big daddy tents accommodation desert lodge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1 147 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2023

Close to DeadVlei, good and clean houses, excellent breakfasts , delicious dinners (especially steaks) , very helpful staff. I would recommend the place to anyone willing to be in the Soususvlei Park at earliest

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 286jerzys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taleni Africa, Marketing at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2023

Dear Jerzy,
Thanks so much for the recommendation and excellent ratings!
Pleased that you enjoyed our clean facilities, the delicious dinner and breakfasts as well as the helpful service you received from our staff!
Looking forward to welcome you back when you visit Sossusvlei again!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2023

The lodge was a great place to unwind after a drive and climb at the dunes. The individual lodge type room was comfortable and sufficient. We were able to see a few oryx roaming about just outside our private entrance deck. There is also a watering hole on the property which is lit up at night but we personally did not witness any animals there. There is outside seating in the bar area and it is a great place to unwind and look at the sunset and again the oryx. The dinner buffet held outdoors (still warm enough in July) was one of the best. The seating is reserved and well co-ordinated by the staff. There were grilling stations for meat which included some game, a grilling station for fish as well as a section for stir fry with noodles. The salad and dessert bars were generous and had a good variety of selections. The breakfast buffet is also very good (indoors due to cold temp) with ample selection as well as an eggs "your way" cooking station.

Room tip: Try to snag a room away from the parking area which face the "back" where you may see some wildlife.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Macpen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taleni Africa, Marketing at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2023

Dear Macpen,
Thank you for the superb ratings and review!
Delighted that you enjoyed our location, the individual accommodation units, the roaming oryx, the dining under the stars experience and the delicious food served at our buffets!
We look forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Sossusvlei!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2023

These are the pros and cons based on my experience:

Positive: big nice rooms, beautiful location in the desert

Negative: the AC unit in the room was too loud, no bottle of water in the room, food is barely average, no robe in the room. It’s overpriced for what they offer. The lodge is 45 kilometers to the dunes, you have to pay someone to take you to the dunes.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Maryam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taleni Africa, Marketing at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2023

Dear Maryam,
Thank you for the lovely rating!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful location in the Desert and the nice big rooms.
Yes, we are situated outside the Park and from the Park entrance it is 45km to Dune 45 - Elim dune is just past the entrance and Deadvlei is another few km further - we do offer guided excursions or you can do a self-drive.
We are one of the most affordable accommodation options in the area.
Looking forward to welcome you back.
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2023

We came to do an exchange for our fire dancing shows with Sossusvlei Lodge and really enjoyed our time there! The little house we had was so comfortable; they even delivered dinner straight to our room because we arrived super late, which was really nice of them and unexpected. Their food is next level, wow, best buffet and grill ever. The staff was super friendly and approachable, all of them. I was even able to teach one of my online yoga students outside on the grass by the pool, so the internet is good even way out in the desert! And then going and viewing the Dead Flei nearby was truly epic. Thanks again to you all so much! We are stoked to have made our Namibia debut at your facility! What a grand stage! ❤️‍🔥🙏🙌 -Jesse, Catherine and baby Prana.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Full Circle Phe... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taleni Africa, Marketing at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2023

Thanks so much for the lovely review!
Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, the food and the good internet!
Your shows were such a delight and created lasting memories for our staff and guests!
We look forward to welcome you back again!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2023

This was an amazing lodge at Sesriem in a stunning location just outside the gates to the Namib National Park. We stayed here for two nights. Rooms are individual around the main building on paths. Animals do roam free, and the Oryx do come in around the rooms, so it can be a little interesting getting back after dinner sometimes! The food was amazing, especially dinner! We really enjoyed our stay here.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KCrC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taleni Africa, Marketing at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2023

Dear KCrC,
Thank you for the superb rating and review!
Delighted that you enjoyed our stunning location, the individual rooms, roaming wildlife and the amazing dinner!
We look forward to welcome you back when you visit Sossusvlei again!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews