We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helicopter flight was one of the best experiences of my life” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sossusvlei Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sossusvlei Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Helicopter flight was one of the best experiences of my life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We didn't stay at Sossusvlei Lodge, but organised a helicopter flight through the Adventure Centre. Wow! We did a 45 minute flight with Yandre. Absolutely fantastic. The check-in staff were fast and efficient, Yandre was an exceptionally experienced pilot, and responsive to our needs as photographers. Absolutely fantastic and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anderst04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Anderst,
Thank you for the excellent rating of your helicopter excursion booked by our Adventure Centre! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the excursion and the professional service from Yandre.
We are looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    266
    72
    26
    8
See reviews for
147
388
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sheer luxury in the desert. Beautifully appointed rooms, perfect for in the desert! Evening buffets exceptional, made extra special as they're outdoors - add wonderful African flavor to the whole experience. Lovely sitting out in the desert sand enjoying sundowners. Special gateway to the Sossusvlei dunes! Would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Julie,
Thank you do much for the fantastic rating and review! We are pleased to hear you loved our rooms, the evening buffet and the service you received during your stay.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Best part of my stay was time with the guide, Simon. I had four excursions with him. Each outing, he was passionate, articulate, and pleasant to be with.
The rest of the staff were not quite as helpful, particularly the activities office. When asked to provide help in air transportation, they simply gave a list of vendors, and neglected to mention their airstrip was closed. This created a fair amount of consternation, blame, and problems for my travel.
They also didn't inform that the property is under renovation.
Seems to cater to larger groups, without much interest in supporting the independent traveler.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the outside edge of the camp, for un obstructed views of the sky, and savannah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GSPARKMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We did not stay at this lodge, but enjoyed an outdoor buffet that was included with our stay at a nearby tented camp.

Not everyone will be as lucky as we were. The night we ate at the outdoor buffet there was a beautiful full moon with just a whisper of a warm evening breeze. The setting was magical. Just thinking of that evening enjoying a great meal under the warm African sky still makes me smile.

The breakfast basket that was prepared for our trip to the dunes the next morning was also nicely done. Overall, the hotel facilities and grounds were excellent, especially considering the remote location.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear George,
Thank you for the excellent rating and review of your magical dinner experience, the breakfast basket for your dune trip as well as our overall facilities at the Lodge.
We are looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duisburg
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2017

It was my second time at Sossusvlei Lodge and I have to say that it was again a fantastic stay! The stuff is so helpful and friendly, the food was fresh and delicous and our bungalow was clean and comfortable.
The new year´s eve was celebrated perfectly and affectionately. A perfect start into the new year. This lodge and the breathtaking surroundings are perkekt to relax and to forget the everyday stress. A big thank you to the whole stuff for an unforgettable wonderful time!
To the guests which are complaining because of "all the sand" I would like to recommend a hotel outside of a desert. And whoever is upset, because it rains rarely two or three drops, let me tell you that the animals and humans need the rain more than urgently. This is Africa! Who doesn´t understand how valuable rain in this region is, should be better fly to Athens ;-)

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2017
Dear Tina,
We are delighted that you visited us again and would like to thank you for the excellent rating and review! Happy to hear you enjoyed the New Year's Eve celebrations, the beautiful surrounds and the friendly service you received!
Looking forward to welcome you back again!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesriem
58.9 km away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
34.1 km away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
22.2 km away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
#4 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
3.7 km away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 km away
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
#3 of 7 in Sesriem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sossusvlei Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sossusvlei Lodge

Property: Sossusvlei Lodge
Address: Gate to Sossusvlei entrance Namib Desert, Sesriem 6900, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Sesriem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Sesriem
Price range (per night): R2 532 - R4 628
Hotel Class:4 star — Sossusvlei Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the Entrance Gate to the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossusvlei Lodge offers direct access to the towering red sand dunes, the famous pan of Sossusvlei, the scorched black trees of Dead Vlei and the remarkable depths of the Sesriem Canyon. The 45 individual accommodation units at Sossusvlei Lodge are carefully laid out to perfectly blend in with the magnificent surrounding natural environment. Each luxury unit offers a fully air-conditioned bedroom, en-suite bathroom and a patio to enjoy the views of the roaming wildlife and incredible Desert landscapes. Experience the true art of Hospitality with the thoughtful touch of attentive staff to contribute to a truly memorable experience. Facilities include a sparkling pool, bar, beer garden and an al fresco terrace where one can enjoy exquisite food, award-winning wines and magnificent views of the floodlit waterhole. The Sossusvlei Lodge Adventure Centre provides a range of activities including Guided Excursions, Sun-downer Trips, Hot Air Ballooning, Scenic Flights and much more to explore the area's natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Sossusvlei Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sossusvlei Hotel Sesriem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing