We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sossusvlei Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sossus Oasis Camp Site(Sesriem)(Great Value!)
US$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (878)
Filter reviews
878 results
Traveller rating
445
312
85
28
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
445
312
85
28
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame meatstir frydinner buffetthe grillbuffet stylehalf tentwide varietydesert campair conditioningbreakfast basketadventure centerpark entrancereception areaan oasisporkexcellent foodsituated right
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 878 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Sheer luxury in the desert. Beautifully appointed rooms, perfect for in the desert! Evening buffets exceptional, made extra special as they're outdoors - add wonderful African flavor to the whole experience. Lovely sitting out in the desert sand enjoying sundowners. Special gateway to the Sossusvlei dunes! Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Dear Julie,
Thank you do much for the fantastic rating and review! We are pleased to hear you loved our rooms, the evening buffet and the service you received during your stay.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Best part of my stay was time with the guide, Simon. I had four excursions with him. Each outing, he was passionate, articulate, and pleasant to be with.
The rest of the staff were not quite as helpful, particularly the activities office. When asked to provide help in air transportation, they simply gave a list of vendors, and neglected to mention their airstrip was closed. This created a fair amount of consternation, blame, and problems for my travel.
They also didn't inform that the property is under renovation.
Seems to cater to larger groups, without much interest in supporting the independent traveler.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the outside edge of the camp, for un obstructed views of the sky, and savannah.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GSPARKMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

We did not stay at this lodge, but enjoyed an outdoor buffet that was included with our stay at a nearby tented camp.

Not everyone will be as lucky as we were. The night we ate at the outdoor buffet there was a beautiful full moon with just a whisper of a warm evening breeze. The setting was magical. Just thinking of that evening enjoying a great meal under the warm African sky still makes me smile.

The breakfast basket that was prepared for our trip to the dunes the next morning was also nicely done. Overall, the hotel facilities and grounds were excellent, especially considering the remote location.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMikeAppleValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear George,
Thank you for the excellent rating and review of your magical dinner experience, the breakfast basket for your dune trip as well as our overall facilities at the Lodge.
We are looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

It was my second time at Sossusvlei Lodge and I have to say that it was again a fantastic stay! The stuff is so helpful and friendly, the food was fresh and delicous and our bungalow was clean and comfortable.
The new year´s eve was celebrated perfectly and affectionately. A perfect start into the new year. This lodge and the breathtaking surroundings are perkekt to relax and to forget the everyday stress. A big thank you to the whole stuff for an unforgettable wonderful time!
To the guests which are complaining because of "all the sand" I would like to recommend a hotel outside of a desert. And whoever is upset, because it rains rarely two or three drops, let me tell you that the animals and humans need the rain more than urgently. This is Africa! Who doesn´t understand how valuable rain in this region is, should be better fly to Athens ;-)

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Dear Tina,
We are delighted that you visited us again and would like to thank you for the excellent rating and review! Happy to hear you enjoyed the New Year's Eve celebrations, the beautiful surrounds and the friendly service you received!
Looking forward to welcome you back again!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Whereas the entry, reception area and restaurant still are amazing, the 'rooms' definitely could use some work and modernization. Great food!
Walking through the Deadvlei, climbing Big Daddy, running down the highest dune straight...a must!!!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank rerob69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Dear Rerob,
Thank you for the review! We are glad you enjoyed our location, the main areas and the great food! We are currently busy with major renovations on our units and it will have a brand new look within the next few months.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to our refurbished Lodge!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews