We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most fantastic place on earth!”
Review of Sossusvlei Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sossusvlei Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Duisburg
2 reviews
“Most fantastic place on earth!”
Reviewed 1 February 2017

It was my second time at Sossusvlei Lodge and I have to say that it was again a fantastic stay! The stuff is so helpful and friendly, the food was fresh and delicous and our bungalow was clean and comfortable.
The new year´s eve was celebrated perfectly and affectionately. A perfect start into the new year. This lodge and the breathtaking surroundings are perkekt to relax and to forget the everyday stress. A big thank you to the whole stuff for an unforgettable wonderful time!
To the guests which are complaining because of "all the sand" I would like to recommend a hotel outside of a desert. And whoever is upset, because it rains rarely two or three drops, let me tell you that the animals and humans need the rain more than urgently. This is Africa! Who doesn´t understand how valuable rain in this region is, should be better fly to Athens ;-)

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2017
Dear Tina,
We are delighted that you visited us again and would like to thank you for the excellent rating and review! Happy to hear you enjoyed the New Year's Eve celebrations, the beautiful surrounds and the friendly service you received!
Looking forward to welcome you back again!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    273
    76
    26
    8
See reviews for
149
396
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Whereas the entry, reception area and restaurant still are amazing, the 'rooms' definitely could use some work and modernization. Great food!
Walking through the Deadvlei, climbing Big Daddy, running down the highest dune straight...a must!!!

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rerob69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, 24 January 2017
Dear Rerob,
Thank you for the review! We are glad you enjoyed our location, the main areas and the great food! We are currently busy with major renovations on our units and it will have a brand new look within the next few months.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to our refurbished Lodge!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Sossusvlei Lodge is a wonderful lodge in the middle of nowhere, proofing that being remotely located does not have an impact on wonderful food, great accommodation and friendly service. Arriving at the lodge after having challenges on the road and being extremely tired it was wonderful to relax. Checking in was easy, having assistance to carry our luggage to our room. Dinning at Sossusvlei Lodge is a experience not likely to be forgotten. The food was excellent and the waiters very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adri v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, 5 January 2017
Dear Adri,
Thank you for the excellent rating and review! We appreciate your compliments very much. Happy to hear you enjoyed your relaxing stay, the service you received and of course the dinner experience.
We are looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wettingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Great food in the restaurant. the bar is also opened in the afternoon and evenings. Lodges with aircon are very cute. The place is clean, shower and everything is working. Great tour guide with perfect know how about animals and nature. Sossusvlei dunes we did by ourselves with the 4x4 truck. It was super nice! Wifi very week and often not working at the bar, only at reception area.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SimoneZuerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, 5 January 2017
Dear Simone,
Thanks for the fantastic rating and review! Glad you enjoyed the clean accommodation units, the bar and the great food service at our restaurant. Wifi is bit of a daunting task to provide in the middle of the Desert.
Looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Excellent accommodation close to park entrance with very friendly staff. We ordered a breakfast basket for our trip to the dunes and was really surprised with the treat that was packed. The dinner setting and and food surpassed all our expectations and the wine list is really good. Defintely worth a visit.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dangro640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, 5 January 2017
Dear Dangro,
Thank you for the excellent rating and review! Delighted that your enjoyed your stay, the breakfast basket for your dune trip and the dinner experience.
Looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesriem
58.9 km away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
34.1 km away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
22.2 km away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
4.8 km away
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
#4 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.0 km away
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
#3 of 8 in Sesriem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sossusvlei Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sossusvlei Lodge

Property: Sossusvlei Lodge
Address: Gate to Sossusvlei entrance Namib Desert, Sesriem 6900, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Sesriem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Sesriem
Price range (per night): R2 681 - R4 343
Hotel Class:4 star — Sossusvlei Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the Entrance Gate to the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossusvlei Lodge offers direct access to the towering red sand dunes, the famous pan of Sossusvlei, the scorched black trees of Dead Vlei and the remarkable depths of the Sesriem Canyon. The 45 individual accommodation units at Sossusvlei Lodge are carefully laid out to perfectly blend in with the magnificent surrounding natural environment. Each luxury unit offers a fully air-conditioned bedroom, en-suite bathroom and a patio to enjoy the views of the roaming wildlife and incredible Desert landscapes. Experience the true art of Hospitality with the thoughtful touch of attentive staff to contribute to a truly memorable experience. Facilities include a sparkling pool, bar, beer garden and an al fresco terrace where one can enjoy exquisite food, award-winning wines and magnificent views of the floodlit waterhole. The Sossusvlei Lodge Adventure Centre provides a range of activities including Guided Excursions, Sun-downer Trips, Hot Air Ballooning, Scenic Flights and much more to explore the area's natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sossusvlei Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sossusvlei Hotel Sesriem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing