We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice rooms, vast buffet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sossusvlei Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sossusvlei Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location, nice rooms, vast buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016

In the middle of nowhere just close enough to the dunes you will find the Sossusvlei Lodge. People were helpfull, the room had great A/C and the buffet had tons of tasty food. We enjoyed a helicopter ride and the animals that lurk around the housing.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJPontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, 5 January 2017
Dear MJ Pontheroad,
Thank you for the wonderful rating and review! Glad you enjoyed your stay, the roaming animals, the helicopter excursion as well as the dinner buffet.
We are looking for ward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    266
    72
    26
    8
See reviews for
147
388
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

After visiting the dunes, we went for a drink and lunch to this lodge.

It is in good shape and you can feel the friendly and very welcoming atmosphere from the staff. As we were unfortunately not staying here but at the Namib Desert Lodge, where we were totally dissatisfied with the food, we were so happy to have a delicious lunch buffet here. So culinarily this lodge is highly recommendable after visiting the dunes and since it is located at the gate it is the place to be.

In Etosha, we have stayed two nights at Etosha Village, which belongs to the same chain and was also very pleasant.

Please have a look at the pictures how a good lunch buffet can look like.

Stayed December 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank PatricioZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, 5 January 2017
Dear Patricio,
Thank you for the excellent rating and nice pictures of the lunch spread! We are delighted that you enjoyed the lunch and your stay at Etosha Village.
Looking forward to welcome you back for a stay-over during your next visit to Namibia!
Best Wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel lacks class but charges over-the-top prices! On arrival, the receptionist was anything but welcoming. The place Is probably acceptable as a 3 star hotel, no more than that, but charges 4 star prices at least. The rooms are tired and lack simple facilities like a fridge (one would reasonably expect one in a desert area!) The bathrooms are clean but in need of updating. For example, the restaurant had table mats that were chipped and marked and staff that were only moderately interested in service. On the plus side it is in a lovely setting and reasonably convenient for Sossusvlei itself. The food is also good, but the service poor. Some good training would definitely help! Definitely not to be recommended.

Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Happy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, 30 November 2016
Dear Happy B,
Thank you for your review and valuable feedback. Glad you enjoyed our location!
We are happy to advise that our Sossusvlei Lodge will be completely renovated during the first 6 months of next year to provide brand new and improved rooms and bathrooms.
Best wishes and safe travels,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaka's Rock, South Africa
Level Contributor
314 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Sossusvlei Lodge is unfortunately resting on its laurels and maybe with a bit of competition, might improve the quality of their meals, spruce up their rooms and worn mattresses and just take a bit more attention to detail. The views from the tented rooms ONLY if you have the front rooms are amazing. This is not the case if you are in the second row as there is no privacy on your balcony with "distant" views of the vistas in the front. As stated in other reviews that I have read, the buffets are tiresome after 2 nights as the game meat is really tough and not well prepared. The salads and side dishes are good but at the prices we pay we must queue up for a buffet?? The desserts are totally substandard so do not even attempt them. We were there for 3 nights and one would assume that during the course of an evening/day a manager would make his presence felt and talk to a few guests and get a general feel of their expectations. The staff do their job and that is about it. Mechanical. One matter that did really concern me was the amount of feral cats at the lodge! Not only are they an absolute menace to wildlife, but they pose a danger to tourists. The cats are not inoculated against rabies, or other diseases some of which are a hazard to humans. The staff are actually scared of these cats which seem to be breeding at an alarming rate. I must stress that Sossusvlei Lodge should make every attempt to remove these animals. It is concerning that the Management have not done so already!
In my opinion Sossusvlei Lodge has amazing potential but needs to re-examine its set of values as it will surely lose its place in the market eventually.

Stayed November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Stephne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, 30 November 2016
Dear Stephne A,
Thank you for your review and valuable feedback. We are happy to advise that our Sossusvlei Lodge will be completely renovated next year, so next time you visit we’ll have brand new and improved rooms. The wild cats are a bit of a problem mostly due to the fact that our guests feed them and then they continue to return. They keep our guest areas snake and scorpion free and they are not aggressive or harmful to any wildlife. We have managed to catch most of the kittens and have found them homes, but it is a more timeous process with the adults as they are pretty smart when it comes to escaping our efforts.
Looking forward to welcome you back in future.
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2016

We stayed here for one night on a dinner bed and breakfast rate. It is not cheap but there is little or no competition in the immediate vicinity so close to the entrance to the Sossussvlei Park. They can really charge just what they want. The food was excellent - fantastic buffet dinner with so many options; and also a superb buffet breakfast. Everything about the meals was perfect. How did they manage to produce all the cuisine when there is just nothing around. The logistics in deliveries has to be admired. The service was all excellent. They serve breakfast from 5.30am so that you can get off early into the Park. The rooms were really comfortable and we had one which was probably one of the furthest away from the reception area. It suited us very well as we had nobody in front of us other than the mountain views and the oryx. The room was very comfortable with all amenities with the exception of a hair dryer. I would have expected that for the price that we had to pay. Everything about our stay here was perfect and we would definitely return if ever in the area.

Room Tip: Room 124 was excellent on the edge of the site. Uninterrupted views. Don't choose it if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaaaandEeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, 30 November 2016
Dear AaaaandEeee,
Thank you for your excellent rating and kind compliments to our logistics to be able to provide such and excellent buffet dinner spread! Glad you enjoyed our location, the service you received as well as the quality of the food.
We are looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Sossusvlei!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesriem
58.9 km away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
34.1 km away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
22.2 km away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
#4 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
3.7 km away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 km away
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
#3 of 7 in Sesriem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sossusvlei Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sossusvlei Lodge

Property: Sossusvlei Lodge
Address: Gate to Sossusvlei entrance Namib Desert, Sesriem 6900, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Sesriem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Sesriem
Price range (per night): R2 532 - R4 628
Hotel Class:4 star — Sossusvlei Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the Entrance Gate to the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossusvlei Lodge offers direct access to the towering red sand dunes, the famous pan of Sossusvlei, the scorched black trees of Dead Vlei and the remarkable depths of the Sesriem Canyon. The 45 individual accommodation units at Sossusvlei Lodge are carefully laid out to perfectly blend in with the magnificent surrounding natural environment. Each luxury unit offers a fully air-conditioned bedroom, en-suite bathroom and a patio to enjoy the views of the roaming wildlife and incredible Desert landscapes. Experience the true art of Hospitality with the thoughtful touch of attentive staff to contribute to a truly memorable experience. Facilities include a sparkling pool, bar, beer garden and an al fresco terrace where one can enjoy exquisite food, award-winning wines and magnificent views of the floodlit waterhole. The Sossusvlei Lodge Adventure Centre provides a range of activities including Guided Excursions, Sun-downer Trips, Hot Air Ballooning, Scenic Flights and much more to explore the area's natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sossusvlei Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sossusvlei Hotel Sesriem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing