We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing place”
Review of Sossusvlei Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sossusvlei Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Stayed here recently as part of a tour on the Sholongolo Express - Separate review. Service compared to the train and also similar lodge experience in Kenya requires improvement. No assistance with baggage (always happens in my experience in ZA and Kenya). There are 150 cabin units, however there was always only one bar staff on duty. Bar food is extremely slow (45 minutes for a Caesar salad - fortunately not for me) and I overheard the person asking for olive oil 3 times before it was produced. Unless you eat early at night the light is so dim you can't see what you are eating, and the lighting in the cabins is so dim that you can't read. A co traveller complained and the solution by the lodge was to remove the lampshades. Unable to buy wine by the glass, took the remains of the 1/2 bottle that had been purchased back to the room. The following day when returning to the "serviced room" the glass and bottle were still there. Cabin faced directly west so no shade whatsoever in the afternoon in the area for seating. No chair in the cabin. Had to unplug one of the lights in order to make a cup of tea. Couldn't wait to get back to train.

Room Tip: Lower numbered rooms are closer to the lodge. Ask for a room that doesn't face west if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank schmitchen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Dear Scmitchen,
Thank you for your review and valuable feedback. We would like to point out that we do have a porter service and our porter was ready with the trolley right next to the minivans you and the rest of your group arrived in.
If at any point you did not want to take your own luggage you could have just asked us as we were all present during your check in. We could have quickly arranged our porter to assist you.
We are happy to advise that our Sossusvlei Lodge will be renovated next year and we shall soon have new and improved rooms with much better lighting. On our restaurant terrace we prefer to keep a warm candlelit ambience in order for our guests to enjoy our magnificent star studded skies during dinner.
Our housekeepers are instructed not to remove bottles of wine not completely empty from any guest rooms. They wash the glasses and leave it with the unfinished wine on the table. Next time please place it in the dustbin then we know it is safe to remove.
Best wishes and safe travels,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2016

I felt my stay at the Sossusvlei Lodge was brought by luck. I was upgraded to this lodge after reserving my stay at the Desert Quiver Camp and I will forever be grateful to Lenize Steenkamp for this wonderful surprise and complimentary dinner - especially on my birthday. I was assigned site #140 and it felt like I was in a dream. Beautiful room with amazing views from the patio overlooking the mountains and oryx. If the hotel wasn't sold out for the next day, I would have easily paid more to stay here again. The adventure office was kind to offer me options for the next day and was happy with the 6+ hour jeep tour of the Park. Our driver Lucas was so friendly and pleasant to hang out with. The buffet dinner was fantastic - so many meats to choose from such as zebra and wildebeest. It was the best dinner I've had in my many visits to Africa. I only wish there was wifi in the rooms but no complains as I was able to get wifi in the reception area which offered free water and coffee all day long. But the one memory I will forever cherish from my stay at the Sossusvlei Lodge is star gazing at 4am. Living in cities you take for granted at how beautiful a place like Namibia really is. I spent 90 minutes just staring at the stars until the sun began to rise. It leaves you speechless.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Dear Michael,
Thank you for the excellent rating and review! We are delighted that you enjoyed the upgrade, the views fom the units, the guided excursion, the buffet dinner and of course the supurb night sky.
We are looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

The lodge is located on the plains of the Namib desert. The cabins consist of a composite of a stone build unit containing the hall, the shower/bathroom and toilet and supporting walls for the canvas of the tent. The inside is luxurious and spacious, with air conditioning and adjoining single beds that guarantee a good sleep quality. There is no mini-bar or hairdryer. One socket takes European plugs, no American or Australian. There is an electronic in-room safe. There is a swimming pool (about 3 x 7 m) and pool towels are available at the reception. All meals are served in buffet style and are good. At dinner they offer at least ten different meats of game (among it zebra, hartebeest, warthog, impala, black wildebeest, oryx…). The bar has limited seating (especially in the shadow). Sometimes it gets crowded because people from neighbouring sites (lodges or campsites) that have no meal service come here for restaurant or bar. In general service is good.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maurits V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Dear Maurits,
Thank you for the wonderful rating! Glad you enjoyed our spacious air-conditioned rooms and the good dinner buffet. We are currently busy with renovations enlarging the bar and pool areas.
We are looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Excellent place to stay in Sesriem just at the entrance of the Park. Clean and spacious rooms with all commodities. Friendly staff. Attention is given to small details which can make the difference. The buffet is various, copious and served outside with a view on the desert. Would stay there again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Saahfoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Dear Saahfoya,
Thank you for the fantastic rating! Happy to hear you enjoyed the smaal details, the spacious rooms, the buffets as well as the friendly service you received.
Looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Lovely situation, very nice staff and some wild animals to be seen close up. The lunch was lovely and the service good. Looks like a nice hotel as well, but we did not stay overnight only for lunch. .......

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank rapfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Thanks for the great rating and reviewing your lunch experience Rapfred!
Glad you enjoyed the lovely lunch, friendly service you received as well as the roaming wildlife.
We are looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesriem
58.9 km away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
107 reviews
0.0 km away
Betesda Lodge & Camping
Betesda Lodge & Camping
#3 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
90 reviews
34.1 km away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
528 reviews
3.7 km away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
212 reviews
4.8 km away
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
#5 of 12 in Sossusvlei
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sossusvlei Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sossusvlei Lodge

Address: Gate to Sossusvlei entrance Namib Desert, Sesriem 6900, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Sesriem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Sesriem
Price Range: R2 957 - R7 599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sossusvlei Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the Entrance Gate to the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossusvlei Lodge offers direct access to the towering red sand dunes, the famous pan of Sossusvlei, the scorched black trees of Dead Vlei and the remarkable depths of the Sesriem Canyon. The 45 individual accommodation units at Sossusvlei Lodge are carefully laid out to perfectly blend in with the magnificent surrounding natural environment. Each luxury unit offers a fully air-conditioned bedroom, en-suite bathroom and a patio to enjoy the views of the roaming wildlife and incredible Desert landscapes. Experience the true art of Hospitality with the thoughtful touch of attentive staff to contribute to a truly memorable experience. Facilities include a sparkling pool, bar, beer garden and an al fresco terrace where one can enjoy exquisite food, award-winning wines and magnificent views of the floodlit waterhole. The Sossusvlei Lodge Adventure Centre provides a range of activities including Guided Excursions, Sun-downer Trips, Hot Air Ballooning, Scenic Flights and much more to explore the area's natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sossusvlei Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sossusvlei Hotel Sesriem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing