We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simon Says!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sossusvlei Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sossusvlei Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simon Says!”
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We stayed here on a group tour and it was our first experience in Lodge accommodation in Namibia. From the welcome drink and refreshing hot towel on arrival right through to the knock on the door as our wake up call, nothing was too much trouble. We struck a day of high winds which made everything very dusty. The Lodge packed a great hamper for our breakfast. Food at the Lodge was served buffet style, with a great barbecue selection in the evening. Our host was Simon for the sunset drive. He was very knowledgeable and kept us all entertained throughout.

Room Tip: All are tent and attached bathroom facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, 9 September 2016
Dear Molly,
Thank you for the excellent rating and review! We are delighted that you enjoyed the sunset drive, the overall service you received as well as the great selection at the buffets.
We are looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    270
    74
    26
    8
See reviews for
149
392
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Lovely rooms, excellent food, perfect position and friendly and helpful staff throughout the lodge area.
We stayed here for two nights in Aug 2016 and we loved every minute of our stay.
Even myself as a guide, I was treated so well, and was assisted with all my requests to please my guests.
Even though I was given a "house" for the last night due to the lodge being full, the "house" was clean, organized and comfortable for me to stay in.
Well done to all staff at Sossusvlei lodge, always a stunning experience!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, 9 September 2016
Dear Helen,
Thank you for the fantastic rating and review of your experience! Glad you enjoyed every minute - We pride ourselves on providing an outstanding service to all our guests and guides and will always try our best to fulfill all requests - highly appreciate your compliments on that!
Looking forward to welcome you back soon!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Excellent setting at the Sesriem gate of Naukluft Park. It s great as we left 6am in the mornings to the Dunes. Accomodation tents well equipped. Service above excellent.. Food brilliant, good choice clever recycling, wide variety. Bedding great. Bathroom average. Room could be cleaner, but difficult with the dust and sand.
We did not have a private and quiet tent which were available , due to the booking agent at Taleni Africa. Ensure that you choose your tent as per plan of the resort. the layout. We were awake every night from the Generator as our tent was to close to the Dining room area.That was dissapointing for 3 nights as we have travelled for many years and stayed in several countries and battled with the booking agent.This we blame Taleni Africa for as staff on site were brilliant and knowledgeable. The guides were also excellent. F and B and Restaurant Managers brilliant. They went the extra mile for visitors. Karl Heinz GM of resort on site also very helpful.

Room Tip: If you book via Taleni Africa, choose your tent on the resort plan if privacy and quiet is important...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susandph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, 9 September 2016
Dear Susan,
Thank you for the excellent rating and kind compliments to our staff, management and GM! We are Glad you enjoyed our units, the bedding, the service you received as well as the food at our buffets.
Looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here only for two nights. Much too short! Our tent was beautiful and very comfortable. At night it turned out to be slightly chilly. Especially the children were complaining about that. But with some extra bedding it was all perfect.

The diners were perfect. We made a reservation for a table inside (which is obviously warmer in the winter nights). The dinner is a buffet and truly amazing. The children went back for more and more and more and ... well, more! They loved it.

The next day we traveled to the Deadvlei. Try to be there in the morning. From noon onwards it gets too hot. Climb the dunes. Run down the dunes and enjoy the truly bizarre landscape. Real money spenders can go on hot air balloon journeys before sunrise! We just travelled with our 4x4 to the Deadvlei and got stuck in the sand. Fortunately there were many drivers to pull us out again. Do not go there if you do not have a 4x4!

Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 85dylanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, 9 September 2016
Dear Dylan,
Thanks for the wonderful rating and review! Happy to hear you and the children enjoyed the dinner buffet so much!
We are looking forward to welcome you back for a longer stay in the near future!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Our posh tent was very lush, but surely that level of posh isn't needed at the edge of the desert? Free standing bath (during a drought) etc... Huge shower, two sinks?? I'd rather have less fancy stuff and a lower price.

The restaurant serves buffet style food with lots of choice and the meat is cooked whilst you wait. The food and choice was excellent.

I guess I'm being picky, but if you want authentic Namibian or a desert experience then don't stay here. If you like luxury and you don't want to actually feel like you're in a spritiual place, then you'll like it.

The staff were ok, but no one helped us with the bags (which I don't mind, but if you're pricing yourself at that end of the market, then I do expect a porter). Also I felt a little uncomfortable in the restaurant because the staff had obviously been told to be on their best behaviour and it just felt a little sterile and pretentious.

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jarvo2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, 9 September 2016
Dear Jarvo,
Thanks you for your review! Glad you enjoyed the buffet style food! We do have 2 self-catering facilities about 5km from the Lodge with less luxuries.
Looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesriem
58.9 km away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
91 reviews
0.4 km away
Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge
59.4 km away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
435 reviews
3.7 km away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
155 reviews
4.8 km away
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
#4 of 12 in Sossusvlei
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sossusvlei Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sossusvlei Lodge

Property: Sossusvlei Lodge
Address: Gate to Sossusvlei entrance Namib Desert, Sesriem 6900, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Sesriem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Sesriem
Price range (per night): R3 054 - R4 852
Hotel Class:4 star — Sossusvlei Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the Entrance Gate to the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossusvlei Lodge offers direct access to the towering red sand dunes, the famous pan of Sossusvlei, the scorched black trees of Dead Vlei and the remarkable depths of the Sesriem Canyon. The 45 individual accommodation units at Sossusvlei Lodge are carefully laid out to perfectly blend in with the magnificent surrounding natural environment. Each luxury unit offers a fully air-conditioned bedroom, en-suite bathroom and a patio to enjoy the views of the roaming wildlife and incredible Desert landscapes. Experience the true art of Hospitality with the thoughtful touch of attentive staff to contribute to a truly memorable experience. Facilities include a sparkling pool, bar, beer garden and an al fresco terrace where one can enjoy exquisite food, award-winning wines and magnificent views of the floodlit waterhole. The Sossusvlei Lodge Adventure Centre provides a range of activities including Guided Excursions, Sun-downer Trips, Hot Air Ballooning, Scenic Flights and much more to explore the area's natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sossusvlei Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sossusvlei Hotel Sesriem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing