We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sossusvlei Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sossus Oasis Camp Site(Sesriem)(Great Value!)
US$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (878)
Filter reviews
878 results
Traveller rating
445
312
85
28
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
445
312
85
28
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame meatstir frydinner buffetthe grillbuffet stylehalf tentwide varietydesert campair conditioningbreakfast basketadventure centerpark entrancereception areaan oasisporkexcellent foodsituated right
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 878 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Excellent setting at the Sesriem gate of Naukluft Park. It s great as we left 6am in the mornings to the Dunes. Accomodation tents well equipped. Service above excellent.. Food brilliant, good choice clever recycling, wide variety. Bedding great. Bathroom average. Room could be cleaner, but difficult with the dust and sand.
We did not have a private and quiet tent which were available , due to the booking agent at Taleni Africa. Ensure that you choose your tent as per plan of the resort. the layout. We were awake every night from the Generator as our tent was to close to the Dining room area.That was dissapointing for 3 nights as we have travelled for many years and stayed in several countries and battled with the booking agent.This we blame Taleni Africa for as staff on site were brilliant and knowledgeable. The guides were also excellent. F and B and Restaurant Managers brilliant. They went the extra mile for visitors. Karl Heinz GM of resort on site also very helpful.

Room Tip: If you book via Taleni Africa, choose your tent on the resort plan if privacy and quiet is important to u.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank susandph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear Susan,
Thank you for the excellent rating and kind compliments to our staff, management and GM! We are Glad you enjoyed our units, the bedding, the service you received as well as the food at our buffets.
Looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here only for two nights. Much too short! Our tent was beautiful and very comfortable. At night it turned out to be slightly chilly. Especially the children were complaining about that. But with some extra bedding it was all perfect.

The diners were perfect. We made a reservation for a table inside (which is obviously warmer in the winter nights). The dinner is a buffet and truly amazing. The children went back for more and more and more and ... well, more! They loved it.

The next day we traveled to the Deadvlei. Try to be there in the morning. From noon onwards it gets too hot. Climb the dunes. Run down the dunes and enjoy the truly bizarre landscape. Real money spenders can go on hot air balloon journeys before sunrise! We just travelled with our 4x4 to the Deadvlei and got stuck in the sand. Fortunately there were many drivers to pull us out again. Do not go there if you do not have a 4x4!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank 85dylanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear Dylan,
Thanks for the wonderful rating and review! Happy to hear you and the children enjoyed the dinner buffet so much!
We are looking forward to welcome you back for a longer stay in the near future!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Our posh tent was very lush, but surely that level of posh isn't needed at the edge of the desert? Free standing bath (during a drought) etc... Huge shower, two sinks?? I'd rather have less fancy stuff and a lower price.

The restaurant serves buffet style food with lots of choice and the meat is cooked whilst you wait. The food and choice was excellent.

I guess I'm being picky, but if you want authentic Namibian or a desert experience then don't stay here. If you like luxury and you don't want to actually feel like you're in a spritiual place, then you'll like it.

The staff were ok, but no one helped us with the bags (which I don't mind, but if you're pricing yourself at that end of the market, then I do expect a porter). Also I felt a little uncomfortable in the restaurant because the staff had obviously been told to be on their best behaviour and it just felt a little sterile and pretentious.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jarvo2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear Jarvo,
Thanks you for your review! Glad you enjoyed the buffet style food! We do have 2 self-catering facilities about 5km from the Lodge with less luxuries.
Looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

The Sossusvlei Lodge was our first lodge in Namibia after the first night in Windhoek. We arrived in our own car. Lucky us, we got assigned the brand new "tent" 111, together with 112 the newest solid huts. This was definitely an upgrade to the older "tents", and the huts are located at the very edge of the area. The interior was spectacular, super clean and of natural materials. Such a bathroom would suit any downtown Penthouse in New York very well, and it was right in the desert! June is low season, nevertheless this lodge was well populated, and the staff had full attention on everything that was going on. The buffets, especially the grill, exceeded all our expectations. Try the Oryx! Since the lodge is right next to the entrance of Sossusvlei National Park doing the excursions was super convenient. We did take part in the lodge's guided tours and were very happy with them. Many other people seem to feel good there, we did meet a lot of relaxed people and actually found friends. Finally, we paid two and got three nights. We loved it!

Room Tip: Newly-built huts (111, 112 and others) are even better than the others
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Philipp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear Philipp,
Thank you for your excellent rating and review! We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, the guided excursions, the service you received from our staff as well as the buffets!
Looking forward to welcome you back!
Best Wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Even it it is a very big camp it is very quiet and all bungalows have a wonderful view. There is a waterhole, where you can watch animals. Meals as a buffet are very luxury, staff is nice. If it is cold you need to book a table inside early otherwise you will sit outside and that may be very cold in winter.
If you go for a morning drive to the big dunes you can order a wonderful breakfast basket and than have a picknick at the dunes.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MoanaDortmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear Moana,
Thanks for the wonderful rating and review! Glad you enjoyed our views, the waterhole, the luxury buffet and the breakfast basket during your morning excursion.
Looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Namibia!
Best Wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews