We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
TLCPHDK
Copenhagen, Denmark

Hoodia Desert Lodge near Sossusvlei

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 07 Dec 2022
Hoodia Desert Lodge (link) is located 22 km from Sesriem, the entrance gate to the famous Sossusvlei area. The lodge sits on the dry banks of Tsauchab River and it is surrounded by mountains in a rather harsh landscape with stony plains and limited vegetation.

It´s in a modern and design´ish style, but perhaps lacks a bit of personality. This is however offset by the many comforts: Shared pool with a view to the dry riverbed, large seating area with comfortable sofas and chairs. Large dining room with central fireplace, and a shaded terrace. In addition, good internet.

In the private thatched bungalows, there is a wonderful bathroom with both indoor and outdoor bathing facilities, including an outdoor bathtub. All in beautiful terracotta colors. Furthermore, large double bed, fridge and air con.

We stayed on a half board basis. Both breakfast and dinner were of high quality.

The day after arrival, we did the full day excursion to Sossusvlei from Hoodia Desert Lodge. It´s recommended.

PRO´s
- Completely modern and in perfect condition
- Large, beautiful rooms with a romantic outdoor bathtub
- High food quality
- Fantastic full day excursion to Sossusvlei

CON´s
- Slightly impersonal "designer style lodge"
- Exposed isolated location on the dry riverbed and stony plain
Date of stay: November 2022
Room Tip: Take full day excursion to Sossusvlei from Hoodia Desert Lodge
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 4 635
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 635
  • Agoda.com
    R 4 411
  • Priceline
24.3 km from Hoodia Desert Lodge
Restaurant
R 5 836
    4.6 km from Hoodia Desert Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    R 2 850
      4.6 km from Hoodia Desert Lodge
      R 3 769
      No prepayment needed
      • Priceline
        R 3 769
      • Agoda.com
        R 3 769
      • eDreams
        R 3 769
      65.0 km from Hoodia Desert Lodge
      Free parking
      Pool
      R 600
      No prepayment needed
        26.6 km from Hoodia Desert Lodge
        R 3 690
        Get rewarded with One Key
        • Hotels.com
          R 3 690
        • ZenHotels.com
          R 3 689
        • Tripadvisor
          R 3 690
        37.2 km from Hoodia Desert Lodge
        R 10 500
        No prepayment needed
        • Priceline
          R 10 500
        • Agoda.com
          R 10 500
        • eDreams
          R 10 500
        0.9 km from Hoodia Desert Lodge
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        R 8 286
        No prepayment needed
        • Expedia.com
          R 7 835
        • Lol.travel
          R 7 630
        • Hotels.com
          R 7 835
        36.0 km from Hoodia Desert Lodge
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        Get rewarded with One Key
        • Hotels.com
          R 3 768
        • Priceline
        • ZenHotels.com
          R 3 777
        24.3 km from Hoodia Desert Lodge
        Free parking
        Pool
        View more hotels in Sesriem
        Reviews (595)
        Filter reviews
        595 results
        Traveller rating
        524
        61
        3
        2
        5
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        524
        61
        3
        2
        5
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviews outdoor shower day trip sundowner experience picnic lunch sundowner drinks full day tour short drive knowledgeable guide sossusvlei area guided tour stunning location two nights sesriem canyon big daddy first stop self drive red dunes
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        37 - 42 of 595 reviews
        Reviewed 4 November 2022

        After a long drive from Windhoek arriving here was like a beautiful Oasis, it is a beautiful place in an absolutely incredible setting. Staying here for two nights was one of the highlights of our honeymoon - huge thanks to the amazing staff Lucas, Deshi and Karina. They looked after us so well and were warm and genuine, we really enjoyed spending time in their company and conversating with them as well as the perfect service, food etc they offered. We loved the day trip to Sossusvlei, exploring this landscape was like nothing we have ever seen and Lucas was the perfect guide, v knowledgeable and made it all so interesting (as well as surprising us with an amazing lunch at the end). Finally, we really appreciated the special, romantic sundowner drinks they organised for us, watching the sun go down and seeing all of the crazy colours changing whilst sitting alone next to a roaring fire in the hills was a beautiful and unbelievably romantic moment. Thanks Hoodia team! Love, Anaëlle and Joe

        Date of stay: October 2022
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank jevs13
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 28 October 2022

        Our group of 5 stayed in 3 chalets for 3 nights while on a self-drive tour of Namibia. Before we even stopped the car, Thomas was opening his arms, smiling and waving us in from the front porch to welcome us! There were cool cloths, refreshing drinks and a well appointed comfortable lodge inside where we cooled off and planned our stay in great detail. This is an extremely well run lodge in a beautiful location. Thomas, his wife Reece and the entire lodge and guiding staff were friendly and always looking to be helpful in any way they could. We were spoiled! The chalets were very comfortable. There were both indoor and outdoor showers, comfortable beds and ample desk, sitting, and luggage space. The wilderness views and the nighttime stars in this private location are highlights of the stay. The food was excellent with options for the meat lovers and the vegetarians in our group. Dinners included starters such as delicious soups, main course choices such as kudu kebabs, delicious desserts of all sorts and lots of great drink options. Breakfast was an ample buffet including eggs cooked to order. Lunch also was superb with several options such as smoked salmon and eggs on salad of beautiful greens and veggies or oryx lasagna. Our activities included a day hiking and touring Sossusvlei area, a hot air balloon ride and an evening sundowner in a picturesque location. Big shout out to our guide, Lukas. He is knowledgeable, joyful, and went above and beyond to make sure we saw and did everything we wanted to do. When not out exploring, we enjoyed the back patio and pool areas. The lodge setting is on a large dry river with a rocky mountain beyond. It is stunning! We enjoyed watching baboons and birds and also just cooling off in the pool after a day in the heat. We had to leave in a hurry to catch a flight and discovered after leaving that we had left crucial items in our chalets. The staff zoomed around to retrieve our items and hand them off to us in the car with all of us waving and wishing each other well. Overall, a wonderful stay and we were sorry to leave.

        Date of stay: October 2022
        • Trip type: Travelled with friends
          • Value
          • Location
          • Service
        Thank sherischrdr
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Leana Marais, Marketing at Hoodia Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2022

        Good day
        Thank you so much for your detailed review. We are glad you enjoyed everything that was on offer from the lodge. :-) It is our passion to show you the true beauty of our area
        We wish you well and hope the rest of your trip was just as nice.

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 25 October 2022

        Best lodge of our trip through Namibia. The amazing Sundowner activity is a must-have! The great guiding to Sossusvlei and Sesriem with an amazing lunch offered in the desert is an unforgettable event! The service is perfect in hospitality and professional trained as well. The delicious food was excellent prepared! The lovely reed covered huts were nice decorated, spacious and clean. When coming back to Namibia, Hoodia would definitely be one of our favorites!

        Date of stay: October 2022
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank 129christophw
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Leana Marais, Marketing at Hoodia Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2022

        Hi Christoph

        Thank you so much for your kind review. We are humbled.

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 2 October 2022

        If you want 7 star treatment and a holiday, this is your place in Namibia. The facilities are wonderful and everyone involved with this place runs it with heart and soul so you really feel great. A must part of a visit to Lucas' restaurant.

        Date of stay: September 2022
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Service
        Thank 493marinp
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 25 September 2022

        Hidden from the main road, one can easily find this little oasis with clear road signs and indications. At a first glance, you are enticed to keep staring at the unique row of bungalows. The centre of attention immediately catches your eye as you draw closer to the reception area.
        Breath-taking interior design, filled with warm hospitality greets you as you enter. You immediately feel relaxed and ready for more happiness.
        As soon as you are checked-in, you are escorted to your private bungalow with a quick briefing of the utilities. A unique way of checking in guests and allowing them to soak up all the magic that each unit has to offer.
        The rooms are accordingly decorated to immediately take your breath away. Amazing views from the comfort of your bed already has you instantly relaxed. A private mosaic champagne bath is enough to give you a blissful relaxing time in nature.
        The restaurant area is equipped with just enough tables to make each guest feel like a VIP. Both the service and the food were exceptional. With hands-on owners and well-trained staff, this lodge should be on the top of the list for any couple.
        The desert charm continues as guests are treated to a truly incredible Namibian sundowner. A well-chosen location with charming landscape keeps you enticed until the stars start to shimmer. Snacks and drinks are well prepared, making you wish you could stay just a little longer.
        During the day, a very entertaining guided tour can keep you busy for majority of the day. Well-planned secrets are revealed, as you are taken on a true Sossusvlei adventure starting from the red dunes right through to the ever so popular dead valley.
        A premium gem that we will definitely recommend to anyone. A premium gem that we will visit again without a doubt.

        Date of stay: August 2022
          • Value
          • Rooms
          • Service
        Thank talitanastashan
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        View more reviews