We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Aurélie
Geneva, Switzerland

Average/poor lodge.

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Jul 2023via mobile
The location is nice. The room was small, the beddings a bit dirty and the cushions smelled a bit funny… The door was hard to open and close, it was making a loud noise. The walls are quite thin so you can hear anyone outside of the room going up and down the stairs. The staff is nice and the food is good. The swimming pool wasn’t looking that good. I would give this hotel a rate between two and three points on five.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 900
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 900
  • Tripadvisor
    R 2 900
  • Priceline
33.8 km from Hammerstein Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 6 310
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 6 310
  • Agoda.com
    R 6 310
33.9 km from Hammerstein Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 5 385
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 004
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 004
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 991
57.5 km from Hammerstein Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 10 500
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 10 500
  • eDreams
    R 10 500
  • Agoda.com
    R 10 500
58.2 km from Hammerstein Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 695
    54.3 km from Hammerstein Lodge
    • eDreams
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    7.7 km from Hammerstein Lodge
    Free parking
    Pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Lol.travel
      R 7 228
    • Hotels.com
    82.6 km from Hammerstein Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    38.6 km from Hammerstein Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    View more hotels in Sesriem
    Reviews (281)
    Filter reviews
    281 results
    Traveller rating
    37
    102
    99
    31
    12
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    37
    102
    99
    31
    12
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews big cats self catering unit air condition perfect stay nice pool animals reception lodge internet silence pity distance game
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    4 - 9 of 281 reviews
    Reviewed 6 July 2023

    Good clean accommodation in the heart of a desert setting. Helpful staff and good breakfast and dinner. It was a bit cool in the evening so sat by a lovely open fire in the bar. Enjoyed an afternoon game drive and good evening meal and breakfast

    Date of stay: July 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Myra P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 June 2023

    Comfortable and well maintained lodge in a nice setting. Friendly staff. Great value for money (especially when compared to other options) . One has to remember this is remote Africa and set expectations accordingly.

    Date of stay: June 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank IMGT
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 5 June 2023

    My room was clean and spacious, but there was no fridge or wifi in the room.
    There are mosquito nets, a nice lawn, lobby and bar.
    They supposedly have wifi in the bar, but it was literally necessary to sit in a particular 4 meter radius spot between the bar and restaurant to access it!
    Nice pool

    Date of stay: April 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Bakbouk
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 May 2023

    I'd give this place 10 stars if I could!
    After mechanical issues derailed my itinerary, I was tired and dusty when I drove past this place. Knowing I wouldn't make it to Sesriem before dark, I pulled in.
    The manager (German guy from Berlin, apologies for not remembering your name) was really helpful and put me in a self-catering unit, that was clean and comfortable.
    Got a great nights sleep!
    All of the staff are lovely. The place is clean, tidy and safe.
    Highly recommend.

    Date of stay: May 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank john k
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 26 March 2023

    We, my wife, my son and his partner, were guests at Hammerstein Lodge in the Southern Region, Sesriem Namibia from March 11th, 2023 to March 13th, 2023. Both the service, as well as the cleanliness were unreservedly excellent. The friendliness with which we were greeted and served by the gentlemen of the lodge was very great. The entire area invited to linger and relax after a strenuous journey or excursion program. Located in the wilderness, the resort offers peace and relaxation. The food was simply delicious in terms of freshness and taste. The starry sky shown to us at night with a view of the Milky Way was a sensation. The bookable game drive was also a great event. For a European, and maybe not only for him, it is a great experience to observe and photograph wild animals from a distance that is comfortable for animals and humans.
    We would like to say a very special thank you and a big compliment to Oliver, who is a mainstay of the lodge with his service and courtesy. Always a friendly word on his lips, always in a good mood and very attentive, that's how we got to know and appreciate him.
    However, we have to add one criticism. Pictures of animals, including big cats, that could be petted at the lodge are still circulating on the Internet. These should be removed, as they give the impression of a petting zoo in the wilderness. This no longer exists in the lodge and that's a good thing. Dear management, it is now your task to remove them. The pictures give a completely wrong impression of the lodge and it is a pity when a positive impression is clouded and weakened by possibly false expectations.

    Room tip: The perfect wilderness stop
    Date of stay: March 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Thomas B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews