We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
askok
Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Basic lodges; good stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Mar 2020
I stayed here during a Nomad tour. The ground is big, there is a pool, wifi works well (I had some issues with my iPad, but on the phone it worked well).

I stayed at a lodge. The lodge itself is basic, but has everything you need. The shower was great. It was clean. It was fine to stay here for 2 days.
The campground had some issues with one of the bathrooms which flooded after a shower. But the campground and kitchen were clean.
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 798
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 798
33.8 km from Hammerstein Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 7 415
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 7 415
57.5 km from Hammerstein Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 4 466
R 4 097
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 097
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 466
47.5 km from Hammerstein Lodge
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
7.7 km from Hammerstein Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
33.9 km from Hammerstein Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
57.3 km from Hammerstein Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Camping at Sossus Oasis Camp Site
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
56.9 km from Hammerstein Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
82.6 km from Hammerstein Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Official Site
    R 2 850
54.3 km from Hammerstein Lodge
View more hotels in Sesriem
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
37
102
99
31
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
37
102
99
31
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big cats self catering unit air condition perfect stay nice pool animals reception lodge internet silence pity distance game
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2019

We had a two-night stay and saw most guests are from group tours.

Lodge grounds were good with pool and outdoor sitting area. Plenty of sitting areas for guest both outdoor and indoor.

Reception:
Staff were friendly and a briefing was given on arrival.
Very limited wifi in this area only.

Bar area:
Had free coffee and tea but only till 6pm.

Room:
Quite basic but sufficient.
Air- cond.
No hair dryer.

Restaurant:
Good size. We had both dinner and breakfast there, food was good.
Staff polite and helpful.
Staff entertained after dinner, it's enjoyable.

Activity:
A guided tour to see 'animals' with a fee. Not realized there was only one leopard, one cheetah kept in cage. There were a couple of small animals locked up around, so depressing! No waste your money!

My suggestion to the owner is please let these animals go back to the while, it's so inhumane to keep them in cage, they deserve to be free just like all of us.

Room tip: Lodge 29, not facing west.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dreamtime18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HammersteinAfrica, Marketing Manager at Hammerstein Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2019

Thanks for the review, we take your opinion serious and will consider your suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2019 via mobile

A good stop for a good sleep. The rooms are are a bit dated but serve the purpose.
Very clean and comfortable beds and shower.
Had a tour to the wild cats, which was very interesting.
The dinner food was a smorgasbord, and had a good selection of food.
Breakfast had a large selection and hot breakfast if you wanted.
The waiters and servers were very pleasant and helpful .

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank LynLes_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 July 2019 via mobile

Hammerstein lodge is a Friendly, clean, secure place to stop on selfdrive . Perfekt distanse to the dunes. Main and gravelroad are OK to the lodge butt bad from the lodge to the dunes. Perfect to sefdrive from Windhoek and hire driver with car from the lodge. Happy and friendly straff , great meals .

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank helgeasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HammersteinAfrica, Marketing Manager at Hammerstein Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2019

Thanks for your great review! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2019 via mobile

Comfortable, cosy and welcoming. Being about one hour drive from Sossusvlei this accommodation is very reasonable priced. The owner is a good cook and ready to serve a meal when you arrive for the night.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2019

This lodge has everything You need to stay for a night in Namibian Desserts - but also nothing more.
It has seen better times and it would be good, to invest some bucks for better conditions, so that the visitors/guest would see it more comfortable - I think.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank misterppt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews