We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandwich Harbour Guided, Self-Drive Tour
4

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Namib-Naukluft National Park
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
266
39
9
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
266
39
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big daddy lots of water take your time deadvlei dune sand sunset shuttle namibia desert wildlife nature highlights mountains springbok lodge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2021

This is going to be one of the most spectacular drives of your life!
The terrain is desolate in some areas, lush in others, colourful in others.
Take it slowly, enjoy the dust and the sand and make sure to look out for wildlife - big and small.

Date of experience: February 2021
5  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 December 2020

Wonderful park with Sossusvlei as the highlight. The Big Daddy climb is worthless, both up and down. Must see place in Namibia.
We booked our tour through the Sossusvlei Lodge Activity Center and our guide was Enos.

Date of experience: December 2020
1  Thank Robert_fromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 February 2020

Driving through the national park is a great experience. Make sure you have a good car and spare tires as the roads are not tarmac. But the roads are quite safe.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Varadarajan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2020

It seems like Namib-Naukluft National Park is other-worldly, that it has alien landscape, that it's on another planet, and yet the cool thing is: it's right here on our own beautiful, amazing, incredible planet. (Excuse me, I'm feeling very saddened right now w/ the bushfires raging across Australia and decimating wildlife and natural spaces).

This park has some of the biggest sand dunes in the world, some of the coolest and hardiest animals on the continent (like the gemsbok, who seem impervious to the blazing sun, scorching temperatures, and tremendous lack of water), and a whole lot of peaceful, desolate spaces to enjoy.

Camping (or lodging) inside the park is a great way to ensure that you get an extra hour in the morning and an extra hour at night to experience the park (before and after the general public is allowed in), and the park is definitely worth at least one full day and night of your time.

Hiking Elim, Dune 45 and/or Big Daddy offers a good chance for some exercise while admiring stunning vistas (especially at sunrise and/or sunset); trekking out to Hiddenvlei offers the opportunity to experience one of the quietest places in Namibia (or maybe in Africa, or maybe in the world); Sesriem Canyon (which is outside the park, but only just) provides the chance to meander through a cool little canyon and do a spot of scrambling; and Deadvlei makes for awesome photos.

Be sure to watch for wildlife as well--even in/on the dunes (look for little tracks, and you might find beetles and lizards not far away)--because it's definitely there. Ostrich, springbok and gemsbok are most abundant, but you might also see jackals, warthogs, vultures, and who knows what else.

To the person who said it's too touristy: my advice is to go in the low season. We went at the end of December and felt like we pretty much had the park--and most of the country, in fact--to ourselves.

To the person who said the dunes are only beautiful if they have shades of the rising sun: a) that's absurd (look for the animals, and you'll surely find the dunes beautiful simply for sustaining life), and b) then stay in the park and go for sunrise and/or sunset.

To everyone who rates this "average": I feel sad for you. Also, the fact that you consider a place like Namib-Naukluft NP "average" makes me wonder where else on Earth (or maybe in the whole Solar System) you've been. I grew up in Alaska, and I still thought this place was incredible.

Date of experience: December 2019
5  Thank Brittany_11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2019

With Sossusvlei, Deadvlei, Dune 45 and all the other worldwide well known sites the Namib Naukluft NP may be the most visited area of Namibia. So be aware that place can be(very) crowded in high season with all the negative known effects.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank on4ajt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews