We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Liberating”
other traveller has booked this property
Dimpsey Shepherd's Hut Glamping - a perfect couples retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dimpsey Shepherd's Hut Glamping - a perfect couples retreat
Sit outside and watch the goose and ducks on the pond, or the sheep lazily grazing the field. Spring lambs on the farm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Dimpsey Shepherd's Hut Glamping - a perfect couples retreat
Sit outside and watch the goose and ducks on the pond, or the sheep lazily grazing the field.
Spring lambs on the farm
Dimpsey - just as the dusk draws in, Dimpsey really comes into its own...
Kitted out with UK made and vintage pieces - Dimpsey is a unique place to stay
We didn't skimp on the mattress so that we could ensure that you have a good night's sleep...
The Blackdown Hills skies provide an ever-changing backdrop to your break.
The makings of your breakfast will be waiting in the fridge, ready for you to cook at your leisure..
Fairy lights and cosy corners make for a very relaxing stay.
The private wood-fired hot-tub and outdoor garden oven are just perfect for your relaxing break.
The wood-fired hot-tub is Swedish - no chemicals, just water and fire required...
Full en-suite facilities including shower, basin and toilet mean everything is on hand for you - 5*
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chard, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sash386
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Liberating”
Reviewed 6 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Hospitality at its best! In a beautiful setting, the hut offered truly magical experience. The log fired outdoor bath was simply divine whilst star gazing and listenning to the fire cracking. Welcome tour was very informative. Food provisions from the farm was a very sweet touch. We took advantage and made full use of the outdoor oven, dining with incredible views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review - lovely to meet you both and so pleased that you had a great time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-digge...
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

2 night stay, excellent place very quiet and private. Hot tub is a experience you have to try, lighting a fire to make the bath is a man fire thing!
Outside oven to cook in and all undercover, nice mood lighting in the remoteness is fantastic.

The hut has all the Mod cons including a boiler for the shower.

Will go again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for your review - so pleased that you had a great time staying with us at Dimpsey.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed here 2 nights with my 8 year old son. This place is magical. From the little touches (afternoon tea, hidden hot chocolate) to the great piles of wood for the stove, hot tub and oven, it's all been impeccably thought out. I loved the setting, the cool books to read, the fabulous pillows. I loved the double bed and my son loved the bunk. Even the rain didn't really dampen our spirits. I can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it was great to meet you and we're really pleased that you had a great time at Dimpsey.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sineadmar...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection in every way”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I booked a 2 night stay here for my husband's birthday. It was our first time away in several years without our children, and it couldn't have been more perfect. The Hut is beautifully decorated, with every thing you could wish for, and more. It's extremely cosy, but luxurious at the same time. We loved the record player which was perfectly in keeping with the retro feel. The views over the countryside were fabulous and drinking coffee outside and looking out over the fields was so relaxing. We also used the wood-fired hot tub which was amazing - well worth the time it takes to warm up. The owners were extremely welcoming and though we didn't need anything whilst there, were only too happy to help. We ate in the Candlelight Inn, a very short distance away both evenings and the food, service and atmosphere were all superb. We had booked a different location for our second night, but liked the Candlelight we came back. Loved it so much I'm hoping to go back for my birthday in October. And many more times!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review - really pleased that you had a fab time with us at Dimpsey x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie G
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautifully done...”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I stayed here recently with my daughter as a short break while the rest of the family were away. Dimpsey's really is a great little hideaway and is beautifully done. Everything, that has been fitted or supplied is to a very high standard which is very rare these days; i can't think of a single corner cut. We thoroughly enjoyed our three nights - the outside kitchen and hot tub are wonderful additions, Location is very private on a relatively remote farm. Plenty to do locally. We went to the Devon coast and Exeter which are less than 40 minutes drive and also took in cycling on the Grand Western Canal path at Tiverton - a glorious 12 mile ride on rented bikes.
If you fancy glamping somewhere where they have got it right then this is for you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for this lovely review and sharing your highlights. We're so pleased that you had a lovely stay. Thank you for staying with us. Kind regards, Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing