We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Style over substance”
other travellers have booked this property
The beautiful Old School House in Lower Swell
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beautiful Old School House in Lower Swell
Welcoming living room with comfy sofas Plenty of space and that all important log burner!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
The beautiful Old School House in Lower Swell
Welcoming living room with comfy sofas
Plenty of space and that all important log burner!
A great opportunity to catch-up with friends or family
Smart, modern kitchen
Large dining table for 12 adults
Great for family gatherings
Bedroom 4 contains a double bed
Family bathroom, with walk-in electric shower, wash basin and toilet
The family bathroom from the shower
Bedroom 5, containing both a double and single bed
A well proportioned and stylish room
Bedroom 1, with a double bed
Bedroom 3, with a double bed plus an additional single bed (not shown)
Homely, cottage feel
Second family bathroom
Bedroom 2, with a double bed
Homely, cottage feel
Welcome to the Old School House!
Looking into the living room from outside
Homely, cottage feel
The large enclosed back garden is accessed directly from the house
A lovely spot for al fresco dining
Ideal for relaxing
Great garden space for the kids
Relax and enjoy the peace and tranquillity!
The garden in full bloom
A beautiful, period family home
Classic Cotswold walks, straight from the cottage
The stunning war memorial in Lower Swell
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Swell, Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dawn P
Devon
1 review
“Style over substance”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

On the face of it, this is a beautiful property and very luxurious with Conran bedding and denny china.

The location is perfect, nice and peaceful with beautiful outside space and ample parking. Lots of toys for the kids and a great selection of DVDs and books. We also really appreciated the wine and logs left for our arrival.

However a few details let the whole place down. The most significant problem was with the beds - all of us found them to be very uncomfortable, and size of the pillows were far too large for the small beds.

There are two bathrooms and no shower. This was fine, as we were aware of this, however getting everyone bathed in morning was impossible as the water took so long to heat up between baths.

Whilst we appreciated the importance of them, we found the number of notes and instructions around the property to be patronising, maybe it would be better if all these 'house rules' were included in one manual.

Finally the oven had not been cleaned properly, as the fumes from a previous guest spilt oil was almost toxic and required all doors and windows to be open whilst cooking.

All in all a very lovely place and we found all the people we dealt with in booking the property to be very helpful and friendly. However, we felt that the finer details would need to be taken care of before we would consider returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burning stove
Liked least: Uncomfortable beds
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kcflight
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in February 2013

The Old School House was absolutely brilliant to celebrate my 30th birthday with a large group of friends. Plenty of space, easy to access, great location. It was that good that I'm even thinking of re-booking for next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xose j
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very good Cottage house”
Reviewed 18 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

First of all, i would like to say that the house was great and was spot on. it had everything that we needed and it was as advertised.
The owner sounded very nice and polite over the phone as we never saw them.
There are some drawbacks though which i would like to point out.

Firstly, the heating was not enough for a house of this size, and when it is very cold like it was at the time of our stay you will be cold over night.
Secondly, a proper shower is required in the house, yes the baths are nice and poshy but when you need to have a quick shower it is just not comfortable enough. Even though one of the bathrooms had a shower head , still that's not enough as it is difficult to stand in the bath if you are above 6 feet and water splashed everywhere.
Finally and most importantly is the noise from the water pipes. In some rooms, the noise is unbearable and if someone goes to the bathroom and opens the tab, the noise will wake you up 100%.
Other than that, it was ok.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriet W
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Exceptional Quality”
Reviewed 26 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

What a treat - nestled in a pretty Cotswolds village this was ideal for me and my 'chicks' for my hen weekend. Ideally kitted out and more than comfortable. Everything you could have needed in one place. It felt just like home. Great sized kitchen/diner which heard many a debate and had lots of laughs. The great sized lounge with fire was superb and we didn't once feel cramped. Great sized TV that had a great sound sytem and the DVD player can take CD's through it - just be patient as takes a few minutes for them to be read and played!! The bedrooms are a great size and when sharing you certainly don't feel cramped either. You may want to take extra hangers through as these are a little sparce but certainly adequate. The only slight issue is that there are only 2 x bathrooms and with 8 girls this was a bit of a nightmare but manageable. Certainly wouldn't put us off going again - would try in the Summer to make use of the outdoor space. Great property, great location and the walk to Stow is a must especially with a 'bit of a thick head' on Saturday morning!! Great pubs, tea shops and quaint little shops nesstled in the town. Booking through our agent was also very smooth and easy. No fuss. Just great all round. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space
Liked least: 2 bathrooms and 8 ladies!!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large sofas and huge TV! Big table in kitchen for us all to eat and talk round
Liked least: no shower except over baths
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing