We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Styles Chinon(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saint Jacques(Chinon)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$101
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Boule d'Or(Chinon)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$106
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Lion d'Or(Chinon)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Le Plantagenet(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostellerie Gargantua(Chinon)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Hotel Agnes Sorel(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Best Western Hotel De France(Chinon)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Diderot(Chinon)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (528)
Filter reviews
528 results
Traveller rating
309
155
40
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
155
40
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloire valleysuperior roomservice was impeccabletasting menuhorse ridingwine cellarswimming poolwest wingcourse mealroom was largereception deskstone wallsbeautiful propertyspent one nightlovely roomwell worth a visitold building
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 528 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed three nights last week at the beautiful Chatea de Marcay. We had last stayed there three years ago, since when it has changed owners. We were hoping the same high standards would be preserved, and to a larger extent they were. The grounds are still beautifully maintained and the chateau and its rooms are still timelessly elegant.

Purely coincidentally we were given the same large and comfortable room as on our previous stay (Room 40); it’s in the “East Wing”, which actually is not a wing of the chateau but a now attached converted stable range. The ground floor rooms have their own tiny private, hedged gardens which are fantastic for sunbathing, a quiet drink or quick access to the swimming pool

I want to give the chateau a five star rating because it's stunning, the service excellent and the food good, but I am hesitating. However, for the prices charged, a decent shower should be in all rooms – a hold in your hand thing is not good enough, especially when it retracts back into the bath and brings lots of black gunge when pulled out. I have seen it said elsewhere on this site “this is an old building, allowances have to be made.” Fair enough, but other equally ancient places manage, and in an old stable that’s been converted within the last few years? Get real and install some decent showers! There were two hand basins in our bathroom. Unfortunately, the cold tap only worked in one of them. This is sloppy housekeeping – the person who cleans the basins must know this, so why is not reported and fixed?

We were lucky with the weather and were able to have dinner twice on the terrace overlooking the magnificent view (the dining room and bar are closed on Tuesdays – at this price, the bar at least should be open). The service was excellent, the atmosphere sublime and the young sommelier very knowledgeable, helpful and courteous. The food was good, the starter and main course may have been a little meagre, but were faultlessly cooked and presented. However, despite the chef’s admirable ambitions, this is not a Michelin starred restaurant. On successive nights, I had two of the three deserts on offer: “Nuage de crème brulée, ganache chocolat noir, dacquoise noisette et sa tuile de caramel” and “Mousse d’avocat, faisselle de chèvre au miel, asperges confites et feuilletage caramélisé.” These both sound very impressive, but on the second night, I had to call over the maître d'hôtel because I thought I had been given the same desert as the night before. Apparently, I hadn’t, but whatever: a minuscule piece of chocolate ganache drowning in a lake of tasteless foam is not good enough – whatever it’s supposed to be – and defiantly not at 11.5 Euros.

Overall, the Chateau de Marcay is still very good and I would happily stay again, but it does need to up its game if it wants to continue charging high prices. I have seriously hovered between a 4 and 3 star review, and will give 4 because it’s still a magical, beautiful place to stay, but the management needs to wake up sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AdamPhilips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Chateau_de_Marcay, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear AdamPhilips,
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay with us. Whether the remarks are positive or negative, we remain attentive to the expectations of our clients and that is why we apologize if you have felt any inconvenience. Regarding the bathroom, do not hesitate to report any malfunction so that we can come make the necessary repairs or change rooms. We thank you, however, for your precious fidelity to our House and look forward to welcoming you again soon to show you another aspect of our work.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Arriving late and being in a hurry for dinner we didnot bother to compare the room originally booked with the one provided.. that was an error.. the issue was discovered and raised in the morning.. the reponse was less than friendly.. it went something like this.. the room u booked is occupied (wtf??) and u shud have complained yesterday.. they insisted on charging the highest price as per original booking despite having substantial pricing flexibility within category (their junior suties are priced from eur 130 to 299 (may 2018) depending on the location of the room.. although i really doubt that this duplex was even junior suite.. best to avoided .. plenty of accomodation options in loire valley

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank kpredko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Chateau_de_Marcay, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear kpredko,
We thank you for taking the time to share your experience, even though we regret that it has not brought you satisfaction, and that is why we would like to respond to you and provide more details to explain the situation. Upon your arrival, we showed you the room as usual : a living room in duplex. You did not inform us that the room did not suit you and you left more than an hour later. If we can afford it, it gives you the time to let us know that the room did not meet your expectations.
In the morning, upon check-out, you came to the front desk complaining that it was not the room originally booked, showing us a picture of one of our living rooms. All our rooms are different (which is generally appreciated by our clients because not standardized) and the photos on the internet are only to give ideas on the type of rooms. We tried to explain that, but you were irritated and we could not express ourselves. Indeed, if you had come the day before telling us that the room did not suit you, obviously we would have offered another room, without any problem.
So we sincerely regret that you were disappointed, but it was difficult for us to be able to remedy the problem at the time of departure. The room you occupied was exactly the same category as your booking, charged at the right price, because you asked for a reduction that was not justified in our opinion. Our job is to serve our clients best by listening to them and we are attentive to every detail, so if you had expressed your dissatisfaction upon your arrival, rest assured that we would have found a solution to make your visit a pleasant stay.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

The chateau de Marcay is a very nice chateau, quietly situated in the Loire valley. We had a very nice superior room in the chateau overlooking the vast grounds. The bathroom was huge. Unfortunately it was rather chilly when we stayed at the Marcay so we didn't use the swimming pool, but had drinks on the terrace at the backside of the hotel. We had a more than excellent dinner -menu Les pieds sous la table"- in the restaurant. The sommelier gave us a very good advice. Staff is highly professional and friendly. For that reason we were rather disappointed next morning when we had breakfast. Just a little lad who couldn't tell us if we could get some fried eggs for breakfast and when we finally got the eggs, they were a bit burned and it took the lad more than 5 minutes (eggs cold) to find us some salt and pepper. The assortment of the breakfast was not what we had expected. Unbelievable that the food came out of the same kitchen as the dinner the night before and breakfast staff so unprofessional. Not very clever: it's the last impression you keep in mind. Anyway it has negatively influenced our review on staff and value. We hope when we come again this disadvantage will be solved.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the castle on the backside, the front side is less quiet (guests leaving etc.)
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dorrith Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie_MOLLARD, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Dorrith Z,
I thank you for the beautiful score you give your stay, despite the small inconvenience encountered at breakfast for which I am sincerely sorry. We are very attentive to each of our clients' remarks, so rest assured that we take note of them.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon and best wishes,
Stéphanie Mollard, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Our stay at Chateau de Marcay was just perfect. An elegantly decorated room in a classic Loire Valley Chateau, what more could you ask for.
Chateau de Marcay is well positioned to enable visits to the best of the Loire Chateaus and a quite and peaceful retreat after a day of sightseeing.
If you stay here you must book for dinner, it is a 5 star gourmet experience. We spent 5 weeks in Europe and rated this the best meal we had on the trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main Chateau building
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GraemeH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Our room was on the second floor looking out over the countryside and the back patio area. A very nice, spacious room with large bathroom. I had difficulty figuring out the knobs for the shower, but that was a very minor distraction. Sparkling wine and hors d'oeuvres on the patio, an excellent meal with wine in the dining room, and sparkling conversation in the bar and lounge areas. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clawboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews