We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Trip.com
US$176
US$105
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/02
Reserve now, pay at stay
Orbitz.com
PricelineUS$128
Prestigia.comUS$176
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
115
110
42
9
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
115
110
42
9
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews exhibition centre ferry terminal great hotel reception bilbao parking corridor lift
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2020

We were catching the ferry the following day and needed a hotel for the night, we were lucky enough to book this hotel. The room or I would call it a suite was gorgeous very spacious modern and a bathroom to die for. We used the restaurant on arrival the food was lovely and reasonably priced, we originally wanted to book a hotel closer to the ferry terminal but unfortunately none had parking this hotel has secure parking underneath the hotel quite pricey but worth it. All in all a great hotel.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank DeniseAnkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2019

We choose this hotel for it’s proximity to the ferry terminal. We were pleasantly surprised at the the food offering in the hotel’s restaurant. Breakfast was also very good. Staff were welcoming and friendly.

One minus was the lack of enforcement of the hotel’s no smoking policy in the bedrooms . The corridor outside our room smelt strongly of cigarette smoke, obviously coming from one of the other rooms.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2019 via mobile

After a very strange day involving a friend taken ill on a flight to Almeria which got us diverted and blue lighted off the plane to Bilbao hospital (service and care received for my pal amazing!) the welcome I received here from a fantastic and charming Ivan on reception couldn't have been more gratefully received!
Made my day so much better and the lovely 5th floor room i was given is immaculate! (I write this from a lovely relaxing bath!)
Amazing value for money, awesome staff and of course, delicious Spanish red wine!
Don't hesitate, visit the beautiful, warm natured and all round fantastic city of Bilbao soon!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank stuwilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2019

This place had everything I have a soft spot for - hugeness, massive atrium. massive rooms, massive bathroom (well, mine was), restaurant with space between tables, quiet. Thirty minutes' drive to the ferry port, twenty minutes' walk from Ansio metro station, which is just a few stops from Bilbao centre. The breakfast was superb, an enormous selection of help-yourself counters. Staff helpful. Not all of them spoke great English but I do have limited Spanish, and in any case when required there was always someone on reception who could speak good English. Parking is round the back in the underground car park and there was no problem finding a space. Check out Google street view before you go; this makes the car parks's circuitous approach quite easy.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPuertadeBilbao, Director General at Hotel Puerta de Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2019

Dear Steve E,
We are proud to know that your espectations have been met and even exceeded.
Thnak you for sharing your comments, which are always an opportnity to know and understand our customers, and of course a mean for improving our services.
We will be pleased to welcome you back in a near future
Best regards
Roberto Delgado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2019

Modern clean hotel. A little soulless but more than adequate. Room was good. Bathroom shower did leak all over the floor but otherwise nice. Outside space by pool was small but lovely for a city hotel, we had a beer outside and almost had the place to ourselves in the early evening (Friday night in early July). Meal in restaurant was good, wine very good & service good. Handy to have pretty secure underground parking. Nearby supermarket for some provisions. Happy to stay there again although not sure how handy it would be to visit Bilbao city centre.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samcat392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPuertadeBilbao, Director General at Hotel Puerta de Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2019

Dear samcat392,
We sincelery thank you for your kind comments and your time sharing them in this social media.
We note the leaking issue, which we are already taking care of.
We look forward to welcoming you back in a future, our rooms renovation and common areas upgrade are ongoing this winter, so maybe we will have the chance to show you our better shape soon.
Best regards,
Roberto Delgado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews