We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real gem in the foothills of The Pyrenees”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Roc

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The bedroom with the new space beyond The bedroom with bathroom beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
The bedroom with the new space beyond
The bedroom with bathroom beyond
Our salt water swimming pool 12 m. x 4 m.
The pool looking south
The pool terrace
Our garden from the main house. In the spring we cut pathways through the grass and wild flowers
Mount Canigou from Le Roc, the massive granite boulders now exposed after erosion of the earth
Our garden is full of herbs found growing naturally in the Garrigue.
Sunrise over the chateau in the village, every morning a different sky!
Mount Canigou at dusk.
'Les Orgues' with Mount Canigou in the distance, formed by erosion due to the wind and rai
Food for free, foraging in our woodland can bring gastronomic  rewards.
Green Almonds ready for pickling at the end of May.
Night time entertainment at Le Roc, a Sanglier sow with nine young eating outside the tower.
Our near neighbours, the eighth foal this year!
The Hoopoes are really friendly, they tap on the bedroom window for food in the mornings!
Young Swallows just fledged
Our new friend, now a daily visiter to the garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tower -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ille-sur-Tet, Pyrenees-Orientales, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Phill N
1 review
“A real gem in the foothills of The Pyrenees”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My Fiancée and I booked a week at "Le Roc" in June and we both agreed it was one of the best holidays we have had. Jhon and Valerie are the perfect hosts who made us feel welcome from the start and were extremely helpful while still respecting our space and leaving us to do our "own thing". The breakfasts, which include fresh bread and croissants and home made jams are delicious and kept us going till dinner.
The surrounding countryside is just beautiful. Stunning views across to "Canigou", the symbolic mountain of The Catalan people, and lovely walks through neighbouring fields.
The is not much to do in the village of Montalba-le-Chateau but it is a delight to just walk through its narrow streets and take in views of the countryside from the walls of the Chateau. There is also a gallery here with paintings by Frederique Orus which is definitely worth a visit. For food there are two restaurants and a bar in Belesta just across the valley or take a drive in to Ille-sur-tet.
For those who like history there are magnificent Cathar castle ruins not too far away at Peyrepertuse, Queribus and Puilaurens. Or take the Little Yellow Train up in to the mountains for stunning mountain views.
The local people we met were all very friendly and willing to help, especially if you make an effort with the language. Thank you Google Translate!
Le Roc provided us with a beautiful place to stay while we explored a beautiful part of France. It was always a pleasure return at the end of the day and take a dip in the infinity pool then relax, with the mountain wind just taking the edge of the heat.
We will definitely be returning next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMJM6
Derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Away from it all”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent 5 days at Le Roc before moving on Northern Spain and it was just the thing to get us into the relaxed holiday mood we needed. The location is stunning - beautifully tamed garden area, surrounded by olive, almond and apple trees with distant views of the mountains and Med. The small pool is very well maintained.

Jhon and Valerie are lovely hosts - discreet, kind and helpful.

Breakfast is a real treat - fresh pastries and fruit delivered to your door.

There is plenty to do in the area so long as you have transport.

Only one niggle - my husband is over 6 foot tall and the double bed was a little short for him to be completely comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace, relaxation and views
Liked least: The bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My husband and I spent a week at Le Roc this summer and agree that it's one of the best rentals we've ever booked! The water tower was extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated with a great shower. The outdoor kitchen was very well equipped and the terrace was spacious with fabulous views of the beautiful countryside, the Pyrenees and Perpignan in the distance.
Jhon and Valerie were the perfect hosts making us feel at home from the minute we arrived. Our welcome pack included 2 bottles of wine, olives, butter, milk and 3 jars of delicious homemade jams! The breakfasts, that another reviewer describes as legendary, were just that!
Each morning a covered tray appeared on the terrace containing croissants, pain au chocolats, large baguette, fresh fruits and natural yoghurt with fresh orange juice and coffee. Accompanying this daily feast was a printout of the local weather forecast hour by hour. Nice touch! We were often brought lovely treats throughout our stay including fresh goats cheese from the local market and some incredibly alcoholic cherries - most memorable! Nothing can beat that daily swim in their sizeable infinity pool looking out over The Pyrenees - we will definitely be returning! Just perfect. Thank you Jhon and Valerie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyto2820
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A perfect retreat”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Le Roc is a perfect retreat in the peaceful French countryside, with an abundance of wildlife on your doorstep and a beautiful infinity pool to relaxing in. It is close to the charming little village of Montalba-le-Château but near enough to Ille-Sur Tet for shops and easy access to visit the surrounding area. There is everything you need in the outdoor kitchen and Jhon even delivers breakfast to your door every morning. Jhon and Valerie are delightful, they are very discreet but so welcoming and helpful. Thank you for a really enjoyable stay, Brenda and John.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCMW
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“As Excellent as Ever”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Seriously - as excellent as ever!! If you like relaxation, vineyards, infinity pools, wine, nature, history, beaches, BBQ’s, a luxury breakfast delivered every day to your private patio – you will love Le Roc. Even better it is run by a wonderful and interesting couple Jhon and Valerie, who are warm and welcoming yet respect your privacy (also the proud owners of a lovely and very ancient but rarely seen cat called Flurry). Each day can be planned while you enjoy your freshly delivered breakfast of butter croissants, chocolate croissants, fresh fruit carefully peeled, sliced and ready to eat, plus homemade jam and everyday a surprise dish ranging from day old goats cheese to locally made dark brown chestnut honey! Then round off your day of sightseeing or hiking through the vineyards and hills, which are right on your doorsteps, by cooling off in the refreshing salt water infinity pool with a vista stretching over the fields to the Chateau perched on the hilltop at the centre of the local village. A glass of rose wine never tasted so good as enjoyed while sitting in the evenings warmth looking out over the countryside. This was our second visit and it was even better than we remembered and we are already looking forward to our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquillity of the the place
Liked least: Leaving!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing