We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommendable Restaurant”
Review of Damhuis

Damhuis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 16 March 2018

We were lucky enough to get a reservation in this very busy restaurant. The menu has a big variety of choices.The dishes were well prepared and presented. The waiters were very friendly and attentive.

Thank Johanestelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan M, Owner at Damhuis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Johan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2018

Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendliest hostess I've met in a long time. We were shown to our table and then took a walk around. From the unique bar area to the vast kiddies play area, this place has much to offer. If (like me) you're a fan of craft beer, you'll love this place. The food although it took a bit long to prepare, was amazing! The fish was fresh, squid heads crunchy, chips just right and a unique sauce to top it off. Definitely worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lucianrajah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan M, Owner at Damhuis, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you so much Lucian!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

I was blown away by the personalised service and the staff's knowledge of their products. I also like how it looked and felt especially the different areas which all have a different feel (bar, outdoor lounge, indoor lounge and indoor dining.)

Thank iltartufohydepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan M, Owner at Damhuis, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

We gave Damhuis a try for lunch, after reading all the rave reviews on this site. Mistake. A nice rustic seaside setting, and friendly service, was a good start. But the battered hake was dry and overcooked, with too much batter, the calamari tubes were too thick and meaty, with the batter falling off, and the chips were not crispy, and too thin. Our order came out quickly. Perhaps too quickly, as I suspect that everything had been precooked and then was kept hot until ordered, which will never produce great results. I think traditional hake and chips are a good test of a restaurant getting the basics right. This time, I am afraid, it was a fail. The wine list was adequate, and the prices were fair. No sign of management checking on things during the entire course of our meal, or during our departure, so we couldn't share constructive criticism. We won't be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Butch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan M, Owner at Damhuis, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Hi Butch,
Thank you so much for the feedback. i would appreciate it if you can send me an e-mail with regards to your review in order for me to investigate, follow up and rectify the matter. stefan@diedamhuis.co.za
Thank you so much
Kind regards
Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Eaten there 2 x in one week
Welcoming and friendly service. Waitress not knowledgeable on all dishes Quality and tasty food - well presented and prepared to make additions / changes. THE PRICE OF DESERTS IS ABSURD - RIDICULOUSLY HIGH
Can buy 2 whole milktarts for price of one slice ..

Thank tiny263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan M, Owner at Damhuis, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Damhuis also viewed

Melkbosstrand, Cape Town
 
Melkbosstrand, Cape Town
 

Been to Damhuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing