We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ocean Two Resort & Residences(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Time Out Hotel(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rostrevor Hotel(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean 15 Hotel(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Palms(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Yellow Bird Hotel(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meridian Inn(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Aces Apartments(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Mirabelle Apartment Hotel(St. Lawrence Gap)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
South Gap Hotel(St. Lawrence Gap)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3 149)
Filter reviews
3 149 results
Traveller rating
2 002
734
245
91
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2 002
734
245
91
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrystal lagoonmerry monkeymain poolpiano barcaribbean villagesushibuilding workbayside restaurantbombay clubcafe de parisindian restaurantroyal houseclub levelconstruction sitebutler serviceswim up roomconstruction noise
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 3 149 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We had a wonderful time at Sandals Barbados in January 2018. Weather was perfect especially as we had escaped the cold of Europe. Food, drink and hospitality met our expectations and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. We have no complaints and we were able to get into the sea without any problems.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Drevil99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Our first trip to a Sandals resort for my 40th birthday and we’d picked this hotel for its beautiful beach scenery and all-in watersports.

Unfortunately for us the water was brown, choppy and beach covered in infamous orange seaweed - what a shocker! Red flag every day.

Luckily however, we took it on the chin, jumped on a local bus for 1 US Dollar and 10mins down the road the beautiful Carlisle Bay came to the rescue - amazing!

Also went on the Sea, Sun and Snorkling trip which is brilliant, and spent time on a beautiful West Coat beach - highly recommend this trip and great value.

On the plus side for Sandals, the food was excellent, better than anticipated - 5 stars for the food.

Mother Nature played her part here for sure but I don’t think the hotel managed the customer experience very well. For instance, they could have offered free water sport at an alternative venue.

To rub salt into our wounds, we were woken up twice by the staff on our departure day in the early hours of the morning despite the fact I went to reception the day before and pointed out they had recorded our flight time incorrectly. Not much point spending time in the Sandals arrivals lounge on their iPad if it can’t capture the data accurately.

Would we go back to this hotel again - no. Would we go to Barbados again 100% but I’ll definitley be checking on the conditions before we leave, and staying West Coast.

Would we go with Sandals again?? The jury is out on this one. Let’s see if they respond to feedback...which we haven’t been asked for yet.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
7  Thank r w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadel B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Barbados, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your review of Sandals Barbados. It is regrettable to learn that your stay with us was not the exceptional experience we strive to deliver, as we wish this for all of our guests. While we understand the beach conditions were not ideal during your stay with us, we have been experiencing inclement weather conditions and as a result we have been getting an excess amount of seaweeds which may disrupt some of the beach plans from time to time. As you stated, the seaweed is a part of Mother Nature and not within our control however, we do try our best to reduce their presence as much as possible. Just to clarify, the room checkout time is 11am, however, even after you have checked out, you still have access to the resort amenities until it is time to go to the airport. The front desk can secure your luggage for you while you enjoy the resort and there is also an area is freshen up before leaving the property. We do apologize if this was not clearly communicated to you before or if the resort had you schedule for an earlier shuttle time than you felt necessary and we will share this feedback with the Front Desk team for review. Despite the few challenges you would have encountered, we are delighted that you enjoyed the our gourmet dining options, as we pride ourselves on offering a variety of delectable cuisines so our guests can have a global dining experience while on their stay. It is also great to hear that you would enjoyed your excursion and got the chance to experience the island and appreciate it’s beauty. We do hope that the positive aspects of your stay will lead you back to one of our resorts again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

My husband and I are senior citizens who look after our four grandchildren all week to help our love ones , so during the school break we took the opportunity to book a Sandals vacation in Barbados . We treated ourselves to a Luxury Honeymoon room with Balcony Tranquillity Soaking Tub All- Inclusive in the Crystal Lagoon with the knowledge of the quote in the Sandals brochure " We always strive to provide all our guests with only delightful holiday experiences, undeniable luxury with inventive accommodation" also boasting in their brochure that all accommodation at the Barbados Resort had been refurbished. The room was anything but luxurious, hole in the ceiling directly above the soaking tub, building debris landing in the tub whenever it was windy, brown water staining across the ceiling, black hardened chewing gum stuck to tiled floor, red staining on beige lounge chair (dread to think what had happened there ) marks on walls and woodwork, damage to balcony table top and flaking paintwork, the only word to describe this so- called luxury room, DISGUSTING .

Folks out there, are you still reading , it gets worse !!!!!! Made a complaint to a Duty Manager who replied to us that there was nothing she could do about it . Disgraceful attitude !!!!!! A reply from the Resort Manager, his words, " whilst we do believe that if the vacation was deemed intolerable your stay would have been aborted " We were complaining about not receiving the luxury accommodation which we were expecting not
for the management to speak down to us. So much for the correspondence we receive
annually from Sandals addressing us as loyal customers who have booked previous vacations with them . We found it necessary to film the disgusting state of the room especially when we received no response from any member of staff during our stay.
We again voiced our anger with a Duty Manager just before leaving the resort regarding the treatment we had received and we're shocked to discover that the room had been sealed off once we had vacated to allow it to be refurbished , we left for the airport SEETHING !!!!!!!!!!! At our time of life a luxury vacation in Barbados was our dream and although it was a fortune to make it happen we made it happen. The dispicable treatment that we encountered from Sandals, their refusal to reply to our correspondence, their refusal to bring our complaint to an amicable resolution shows them in a disturbing alternative to the World's Leading All- Inclusive Resorts they would have you believe.

Now seems an ideal opportunity to allow readers to discover areas of a Sandals vacation which may shock you.
The beach, it's a public beach !!!!!! workmen on the beach all day every day directly in front of holiday makers, digging deep pits to bury mounds of seaweed that is washed up every day, in truth it is a horrible beach , the sea is brown, dirty and cold , the " AIR - BRUSHED " beach photo in the brochure is comical in comparison .White sand and crystal blue water, certainly not this beach .
Touts annoying you on the beach all day, refusing to take no !!!! for an answer. If you are looking for a quiet peaceful rest on the beach, forget it, remember that because the beach is public everyone has access, hence the touts/ excursion salesman in your face all day. Tipping, so we're led to believe is not acceptable wrong!!!!!! be prepared , no tip , no sun loungers, no parasols, and no cabanas, witnessed a full blown argument between a holidaymaker and a member of staff over the use of the very limited amount of beach equipment, this holiday is described as all- Inclusive, staff need to be reminded to leave the tipping attitude outside the resort gates .
So much for us being loyal customers, holiday ruined ,treated with distain and disrespected, folks we hope this has helped in your choice of booking a holiday and hopefully the media will bring the treatment we received to the attention of the general public to include all our irrefutable evidence. Lastly, advice to Sandals customer service department , when an elderly couple such as my husband and I book a premium luxury vacation with your company , which we did not receive please do not ignore us and treat us both appallingly . Shame on you Sandals ,
Good luck to all you tripadvisor readers in choosing your vacation .

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
19  Thank _aclines123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

My husband and I, and two of our closest friends took a group vacation to Sandals Barbados.

We were very excited for this trip as we heard Sandals was the best of adults only - all inclusive resorts.

Unfortunately, our experience was less than spectacular.

Service at the restaurants was nothing to write home about - to get our food at the Merry Monkey - the only restaurant open at 930PM took over an hour - we kept being told it would only be a few more minutes - over an hour later we got it - cold.

Our biggest issue is with how the Bridgetown Tour and Ultimate Snorkeling Tour was advertised on Sandals' website.

It was advertised as maximum twenty people - we got there, 49 people were on the tour.

Dirty goggles were provided - no fins.

We were incredibly frustrated by this and asked who we could speak to regarding our frustrations as we felt that the tour was very falsely advertised.

We were told to contact Barbara Thomas, Director of Customer Service for Sandals Barbados.

We emailed her once we got back voicing our frustrations and concerns - primarily with the tour.

She sent back a generic response - and said that it was the tour's fault and Sandals has no control over it.

Mind you, we got a generic response back after following up asking why we never heard back.

My friend and I tried to explain to her it was not the tour company that we were upset with, it was how Sandals advertised the tour.

Our credit card was also charged by Sandals - not the tour company.

Barbara stopped responding. I tried to email customer service - no response. I tried to chat with them - they said they could not help.

Sandals is not worth the money, especially if you want help if any issues go wrong after your stay.

We are still trying to get an answer after multiple follow ups - very disappointing as my husband and I were thinking about going to Sandals Bahamas in 2019.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Krista S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Manager at Sandals Barbados, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hello Krista and thank you for your review of our Sandals Barbados.
We are deeply sorry that you felt that the tours booked were not what you would have expected and please allow us to clarify that our Sandals reservation department would have assisted with the tour booking but these are handled by our tour company - Island Routes. They only work with reputable third-party tour vendors and they would only be allotted a certain number of seats or spots for given tours. However, the vendor themselves may have additional participants booked with them directly at their discretion but they would not exceed their maximum capacity. Upon reviewing our records, we do see that you would have been in contact with our Director of Guest service at the resort and she has been in communication with both you and your travel companions. Your concerns would have been escalated to the tour company as they are the most appropriate contact for addressing these types of concerns and the matter is being looked into currently. We do apologize if you felt there were any shortcomings on the part of the resort team but we assure you, they have provided all necessary information to the appropriate personnel for further review as we strive to to ensure our guests are always happy with their entire vacation experience. We hope that this unusual occurrence does not deter you from visiting another one of our resorts as we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

From the moment we arrived till we left, we were treated to a truly 5* experience.
We had booked a Weddingmoon, which was very professionally organised.
The staff were so attentive, genuinely friendly, and lovely to deal with.
Our accommodation was in the Crystal Lagoon Village Club Level.
Our room was fab, and we had a well stocked mini bar which was replenished daily.
The food in every restaurant we visited could not be faulted.
The only downsides of the trip were:
1) We found the aircon in the 'stand alone' restaurants left us feeling very cold. This is saying something as we live in a cool climate.
2) We also felt that the bingo and pool games somewhat undermined the Sandals experience. Felt slightly cheap.
3) As a red wine drinker, I was quite disappointed the Robert Mondavi wines. Average at best.
Having said all this,we still had a wonderful time, and would love to return in the future. The staff really helped to make it a wonderful wedding experience.

Room Tip: More privacy and quieter in the Crystal Lagoon area.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akiel B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Barbados, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hello Harold,
We’re so excited that you were able to have your nuptials and honeymoon with us! Knowing that we were able to make a special time in your life even more special brings us an immense amount of satisfaction. We’re sorry to hear that there were some minor things that were not to your liking. Our Robert Mondavi wines are specially made only for our sandals properties and although we usually get raving reviews on them we do understand if you may not have enjoyed it. With that being said however, we do hope that you were able to take advantage of our many other options in wine selections and that they were more to your liking. Our bingo and pool games are an easy way to interact and have fun with other guests but we do offer a number of different activities whether it is included or at an additional cost that may be better suited to you. All in all, we are very happy that you were able to start your new lives together with us and we hope to see you again for your future anniversaries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews