We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
107
118
25
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
118
25
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool eggs cooked to order warm welcome beautiful small town beautiful breakfast minutes walk away young couple pastries train station staff were very helpful really enjoyed our stay here beautiful hotel balcony meats matters smashing villa
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2017

The hotel Atlantic staff are excellent! They make all guests feel like family and are ready and willing to offer assistance when needed. Indoor pool is truly unique - the rain shower adds a special touch. Breakfast is not to be missed. Generous portions of meat, cheeses and pastries are guaranteed to make every pallet smile. Best of all is the location to the beach, train station and center of town. ~ Tiff

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank GAHeart2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

The villa was fun to stay in. Room was nice and cozy, cleaned everyday. Staff were very helpful and took care of any issues that may have arisen. Nice outdoor and indoor pools. Breakfast and dinner were excellent.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

First of all - before I get into the details about the hotel, Castiglioncello is a very strange place to go on holidays to. Make sure before you go that you know what you're getting yourself into! Myself and my boyfriend came here for 3 nights at the end of a 9-day trip in Italy (3 nights in Rome and 3 nights in Florence too). We wanted a beachside/ relaxing few days at the end of our trip to chill out after the madness of the other two cities. Castiglioncello was recommended by my boyfriend's Italian boss at work. Turns out, Castiglioncello USED to be popular in the 1950s or so, but is now more of a ghost town. We went in early September, which isn't exactly high season, but I would still expect SOME sort of buzz about the place (particularly as Rome and Florence were both heaving with people at this time of year), but Castiglioncello felt like a deserted town with very little to do, very few shops/ restaurants and very few other people around, particularly tourists. (Which yes, is a good thing, but it was unnerving to feel so out of place!). The beach near this hotel is very narrow and small and there is about 1 metre of gritty sand you can lie on before the sea edge. There were no watersports available on any of the Castiglioncello beaches or on the 'White Beach' in Rosagnino (which we walked 3km to get to - really wasn't worth it). It was advertised online that you can go scuba diving here too (we were both very excited about that as we love diving) but when we got here, no-one seemed to know anywhere that did diving trips, not even the girl in the sports shop which sold tons of diving equipment!! Such a strange place. We felt really random there and spent the first two days just wandering around, hoping to come across something more exciting to do. We decided to take the train up to Livorno as that sounded a bit more exciting. Again, we were greeted by an old, dilapidated, dull town with no effort to make it beautiful or appealing. We ended up eating in McDonalds as the restaurant choices were so few. We went to the aquarium in Livorno which was ok, but not mind blowing.
Anyway - the hotel itself was good. It's very old fashioned, and obviously must have been in its prime in the 1950's or so. The bathroom was all old beige tiles and looked like something out of your grandmother's house. That said, the bed was comfy, air con was adequate (but it wasn't overly hot when we were there), the room was cleaned daily with fresh towels. The room was quiet, we both slept very well each night. We had a fabulous balcony out the back of our room with sun loungers and a table & chairs. The indoor pool is lovely and the outdoor pool was great too (it's located two villas down, they tell you the code to get in through the gate) and we had the place to ourselves with lots of loungers and a grassy area surrounding it etc.
The location of the hotel in Castiglioncello is great, 3min walk to the 'centre'. Caffè Ginori in the centre of the town is lovely and quite upmarket, we went here one night for dessert and drinks and it was very nice. Also Il Piccinino restaurant just opposite this had lovely food too.
The breakfast in the hotel was nice - freshly squeezed orange juice, lots of cakes and breads, but little else. There was no fresh fruit which seemed to be the case in all the hotels we stayed in Italy, a coffee making machine, tea, water etc.
The wifi was weak, don't rely on it to download anything significant, but it just about did the job.
The staff were friendly but most didn't speak English, the elderly man and lady checked us in - they were both about 70/80 years old and still going, restocking the breakfast and everything!
All in all - it's a very old fashioned, quiet place. For two people in their mid twenties, we felt it wasn't suitable and would not recommend going here if you're looking for any sort of action or activity.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kjonwinmasterpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

I chose to go to this hotel due to the positive reviews on here, it was a very good choice!
It is very easy to get to the beach and to the local cafes and shops. The staff were incredibly helpful including,lending us an I phone charger because ours broke. The breakfasts are amazing especially if you have a sweet tooth. I was there with my daughters who are under 10 and with my 94 year old uncle so it suits all ages. The swimming pools are bliss, very often we were the only ones using them.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DizBalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Hotel Atlantico is very central for the beach and train station. The reception staff were very helpful. Breakfast was self service from 7am and cooking eggs was no trouble with fresh orange, meats and cheeses and a copious number of sweet pastries. We did not eat dinner at the Atlantico. Castiglioncello is not a large resort. There is a small public beach and a paying beach (25 euro for 2 lounger beds). There is a very large public beach with a lot of parking approx. 4 miles down the coast. Train to Pisa is easy and drive to Lucca was easy (free public parking nearby). Hotel has parking at hotel and at overflow annex two doors down. I would recommend staying in the main hotel. Swimming pool is tiny and more for children. We swam in very clean sea which was rough on one day.

Room tip: Stay in the main hotel
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank R0aming2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews