We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming end to our holiday”
Review of Danforth Yachting

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Maclear
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Danforth Yachting
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here at the end of a safari tour in Zambia, flying to Malawi in a very tiny bush plane. The trip from Lilongwe airport to the lake was pretty long (about 3.5 hours) but gave an opportunity to see quite a bit of the country. Danforth Yachting itself is a charming small lodge right on the lake, with lovely gardens, pristine beach (sand swept every morning!) and a small infinity pool. The owners Howard and Michelle are very hands-on and attentive. For most of the time we were there we were the only guests so they spent time with us in the bar and at tea telling tales of Africa. Michelle runs an excellent kitchen - the food was first rate - and Howard was always available to organise the various activities that are on offer at the lodge. We went on the sunset cruise on Mufasa, Howard's very splendid catamaran, and by good luck that was the night of the super moon, which we saw rising over Lake Malawi. Combined with the copious champagne supplied by Howard, that made for a very special trip.
The rooms are large and comfortable although beginning to show signs of wear. Unfortunately because the rains were late, electricity was on ration so we had a couple of nights with no air-con or fans which was pretty uncomfortable. Otherwise it was fine.
The owners have two very large and charming dogs who spent a good deal of time with us, but anyone who doesn't love dogs might find them a bit disconcerting- although I'm sure the owners would put them away if required.
Altogether a very comfortable and relaxing few days to complete our visit to Africa.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank GMO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2016

We had originally planned for a two night stay but arrived 24h late due to a missed flight Connection. Relly a pit since this Place is Beautiful and the perfect Place to start of you vacation and wind down into vaction mode. It is right on the beack. Very nice garden with a small poll and of course direct access to the beach. The dining and bar areas are shady and cozy and it is a perfect end to a Lovely dinner to just stroll over to the bar and have a sundowner, play some games and relax. The have PADI centre for all you snorklers and divers and it is easy to go out sailing on the lake. The staff is attentive and very nice. If you are not into water activities you can take walks on the beach or to the local village or just sit in a beach chair and enjoy a book. I would easily have put five stars on this but the room do need a refurbishing. Not that you spend any time there but it is a Little bit outdated and worn down. If we even have the opportunity to revisit Lake Malawi and Cape Maclear it is very likely that we return to this Place.

Room Tip: All rooms have similar view towards the lake so no need to worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

This is the perfect destination if you want to experience Lake Malawi for a short period! Stunning service, accommodation, activities and food! Michelle and Howard have a stunning spot!!! Worth every minute!

Stayed: October 2016
Thank jasonstander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We only spent 4 days here, but the experience was so great! The location is superb and you have access to the lake from any of the rooms you are given. They have plenty of activities for you to choose from and the staff is so polite and ready to help you if you need assistance. The rooms are spacious, cleaned every day and offer everything you need: hot showers, running water, electricity, fans and air-conditioning. Given all the things you can do at Danforth, you wouldn't want to spend time in the room during the day anyways.

Everyone was friendly and Mr. Howard and Mrs. Michelle made us feel like part of the family. Oh, and Barbara and Justin were so cool! Our kids loved them!

Activities done: kayaking, snorkeling, tubing, eagle feeing, a bit of fishing and we watched the sunset from one of their boats. There are even more things one can do, but we were limited by our short stay.

All in all, I would definitely recommend Danforth for you next Lake Malawi holiday. We will for sure go back!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ovi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We have just spent our second weekend at Danforth. It is a beautiful location on Lake Malawi. You could easily just sit with a book and look at the view all day. The hotel is small and intimate, and the hosts take a very hands on role in making guests feel welcome. The food is great, fresh and plentiful. Rooms are very comfortable, great beds and bathrooms. The highlight though, and the reason to stay here, is the water activities - sailing, kayaking, snorkelling. There is plenty of equipment available, and all of a high quality with people ready to take you out on the lake whenever you like and at a moment's notice. We travelled as a family with 3 children, and the reason we came back was because our children loved it so much. Despite being (for Malawi) an upmarket resort, the atmosphere is relaxed and very welcoming.

Room Tip: All rooms are probably much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Maclear
7,1 km away
Gecko Lounge
Gecko Lounge
#1 of 1 in Cape Maclear
87 reviews
1,2 km away
Mgoza Lodge
Mgoza Lodge
#2 of 19 in Cape Maclear
138 reviews
0,5 km away
Thumbi View Lodge
Thumbi View Lodge
#1 of 19 in Cape Maclear
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,2 km away
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
#11 of 19 in Cape Maclear
26 reviews
3,2 km away
Chembe Eagles Nest
Chembe Eagles Nest
#1 of 1 in Chembe
65 reviews
0,1 km away
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
#6 of 19 in Cape Maclear
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danforth Yachting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danforth Yachting

Address: Cape Maclear Road | Stand CM10, Cape Maclear, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park > Cape Maclear
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Cape Maclear
Price Range: R2 039 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danforth Yachting, situated on the beach at Cape Maclear bordering the Lake Malawi National Park, offers superb lakeside accommodation. Danforth is both a luxury lodge and a Malawi yacht charter company. The Lodge has eight spacious, en-suite rooms, tastefully decorated in cool, nautical colours and all opening onto a large patio. All rooms have spectacular lake views. Swimming pool, watersports, scuba diving and sailing. Double, twin and family en-suite, air conditioned rooms. Great hosting. Excellent meals. Full board. Bar with DSTV. The live-aboard catamaran yacht Mufasa, a 10 berth luxury yacht, is available for crewed yacht charters to the far corners of Lake Malawi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing