We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing getaway”
Review of Danforth Yachting

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Maclear
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Danforth Yachting
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Danforth Yachting is by far the best place I have visited in Malawi! Stayed here for a night with sisters and we had an amazing time. The service and passion of the owners and staff is impeccable - we had a warm welcome and felt like part of a family the whole time we were there. The food deserves a special mention! Every meal from tea to dinner was amazing. If you love activities then there's loads for you to do; if you want to just rest and relax the environment is perfect for that too. To top it all off, Howard went above and beyond to help us with the car trouble we had as we were leaving - our car battery died and he lent us one from one of the boats just so we could make it home safe! We will definitely be returning for another visit because one day was certainly not enough!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lesandra2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Danforth Yachting
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2016

What more can be said about this perfect place? Everything is taken care of even before you can start thinking about it, perfectly equipped for any watersports, perfectly organised from sunrise to well after Sunset (especially the Sunset cruise on the catamaran), the perfect "seaman's fare" poached egg, the succulent prime beef, the subtly scented variations on the thai coconut-curry theme, the chutneys and deserts. So we must talk about the heart, the passion, the total commitment of the entire team into making everyone, Young, old and anywhere in between feel at home, all the time. Diving in Lake Malawi can be just gazing at colourful fish but with the expert explanations from Howard it becomes a study in animal behaviour, understanding who is doing what to whom and why. An early morning low number of species birdwalk turns into a story-telling academy, every activity in fact turns into a story-telling academy. A wonderful place with formidable people running it. The kids felt like Kings.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivier H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Danforth Yachting is a wee touch of paradise within one of the best countries in Africa. The hosts, the staff, and the ambiance was warm, welcoming and delightful. The food was as good as you'd find in a 5* venue anywhere in the world, and the Chef and his staff provided special dietary catering that was outstanding. You couldn't ask for a better balance of intimate surroundings and outstanding activities, and you couldn't find nicer people as hosts and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Scotland_West_Coast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and I wish it had been longer. From the moment we arrived we were throughly looked after. After travelling a gin and tonic in the infinity pool was perfect. The food was excellent and loved the afternoon home made cake every day. Snorting, kayaking and scuba diving kept us occupied. Will definely return one day!!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank mdowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2015

Hosts Michelle and Howard are excellent. They couldn't be more helpful and accommodating. You can tell how much pride they take in their beautiful lodge and how they have worked so hard to achieve such a high standard. They have a wealth of knowledge of the area and various activities available and are wonderful people. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was also five-star. Altogether, superb. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dumelalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Maclear
7.1 km away
Gecko Lounge
Gecko Lounge
#1 of 1 in Cape Maclear
85 reviews
0.5 km away
Thumbi View Lodge
Thumbi View Lodge
#1 of 19 in Cape Maclear
150 reviews
1.2 km away
Mgoza Lodge
Mgoza Lodge
#2 of 19 in Cape Maclear
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Chembe Eagles Nest
Chembe Eagles Nest
#1 of 1 in Chembe
64 reviews
0.4 km away
The Funky Cichlid
The Funky Cichlid
#1 of 3 in Cape Maclear
86 reviews
0.2 km away
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
#11 of 19 in Cape Maclear
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danforth Yachting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danforth Yachting

Address: Cape Maclear Road | Stand CM10, Cape Maclear, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park > Cape Maclear
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Cape Maclear
Price Range: R1 978 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danforth Yachting, situated on the beach at Cape Maclear bordering the Lake Malawi National Park, offers superb lakeside accommodation. Danforth is both a luxury lodge and a Malawi yacht charter company. The Lodge has eight spacious, en-suite rooms, tastefully decorated in cool, nautical colours and all opening onto a large patio. All rooms have spectacular lake views. Swimming pool, watersports, scuba diving and sailing. Double, twin and family en-suite, air conditioned rooms. Great hosting. Excellent meals. Full board. Bar with DSTV. The live-aboard catamaran yacht Mufasa, a 10 berth luxury yacht, is available for crewed yacht charters to the far corners of Lake Malawi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing