We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lake Malawi Gem, very special.”
Review of Danforth Yachting

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Maclear
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Danforth Yachting
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Lake Malawi Gem, very special.”
Reviewed 7 September 2015

We just spent a few days here, such a lovely surprise and so glad they found room for us. Friends had told us how amazing it is, it was lovely to find out for ourselves.
Our room was clean and comfortable with en-suite shower room, air con, fan and mossie nets, all opening out onto an amazing view of the lake.
The garden, pool, bar, beach and eating area, under the most amazing thatch, is immaculate, with plenty of places to sit or lie and enjoy the view.
There are lots of options for, kayaking, sailing, snorkelling etc...we paddled to otter point, took a boat ride round Thumbi island to swim, while watching the fish in the clear water, there are fish eagles too.
The food was all delicious and very generous portions, with any special needs (vegetarian) catered for, the muesli at breakfast was very good! early morning coffee and afternoon tea are served too.
A trip on the famous "mufasa" is fabulous, watching the sun go down, champagne in hand , perfect...I had to do it twice!
Howard and Michelle are very experienced hosts, always ready to chat and very knowledgeable, nothing is too much trouble.
We loved our time here and will definitely be back on our next trip to Malawi.

Room Tip: All the rooms open onto a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
55
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2015

I was travelling on my own and couldn’t have been made more welcome. Everyone went out of their way (without being too obtrusive) to make sure that I had everything I wanted, could participate in all the water sports or laze in my chair with a cocktail. The snorkelling was great, the round the island sailing exhilarating, if wet, and the sunset cruise sublime – though the bubbly on offer might have contributed to that. Drinking bushman’s balls in the bar –excellent fun (check them out – you have to watch Wazzer pour them!) It was a great way to finish my travels in Africa.

Stayed August 2015, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

what a surprise!
Me, my wife and daughter had just a recomendation from friends not knowing what to expect.
Simply Fantastic!!!!!
From our lovely hosts, the couple Howard and Michelle, to the magnificent site and landscapes, everything went far beyond our expectations: staff, beach, activities, restaurant, bedrooms...
Will come back soon!

Stayed July 2015, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2015

I travel to Malawi every 5-weeks and always find an excuse to leave Lilongwe to stay at Danforth Yachting on Cape Maclear. Howard and Michelle treat everyone like VIPs, but with a laid-back, family feel. Danforth offers everything anyone would want to do on Lake Malawi, including simply relaxing and reading a book while sitting in a lawn chair overlooking the beach and water. On the other hand, if you enjoy action, you can snorkel, ski (or wakeboard), sail, and of course scuba dive at the number one fresh water dive spot in the world. The sunset cruise on Howard's catamaran is not to be missed (sleeps ten!) The meals are wonderful and if you need to depart before breakfast, you'll depart with a takeaway meal. Bottom line, I can't say enough good things about Danforth, my wife and I look forward to returning again and again.

  • Stayed August 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2015

My twin boys (of 16) and I enoyed a far-too-short 4 day stay at Danforth Yaughting in July, after a busy 6 days on safari in Zambia. Although a bit of a yomp from the nearest airports (3.5 hours by car from both Lilangwe and Ballantyne) the journey, in a comfortable Merc people carrier driven by the resort driver, went quickly enough, and gave a welcome opportunity to see what most of Malawi is like (you won't rush to leave the resort when you get there - it's far too nice!)
Michelle and Howard are great hosts and we very quickly felt like we were staying with discrete friends, and this vibe extended to the whole place. It's not a huge 'hotel resort' but it's more than spacious enough (there's only 6 spotless rooms I believe), imaculately groomed and the separate eating and bar/water sports area mean you have plenty of space to be by yourself or with new friends as you wish without feeling in any way uncomfortable.
There are some great sports available and the tuition is relaxed and encouraging but professional. And we only managed to do the water-based ones! A pre-breakfast swim in the lake each morning was a real joy, and Howard was even kind enough to give me some pointers on my back-stroke!
Malawi is a poor country and it's a pretty tough life for most of the locals, but they are all very friendly and relaxed. It's enough to put us spolit westeners to shame. Do take the chance to walk into the small town on the doorstep, and perhaps have a drink at the chilled-out backpacker bars, if you can. You don't need to be the adventurous type at all.
The food here is all excellent, with a couple of choices at least for meals.
Well worth visiting. Or returning.....

Room Tip: All good from what I saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Maclear hotels
7.1 km away
Gecko Lounge
Gecko Lounge
#1 of 1 in Cape Maclear
83 reviews
0.5 km away
Thumbi View Lodge
Thumbi View Lodge
#1 of 19 in Cape Maclear
142 reviews
0.4 km away
The Funky Cichlid
The Funky Cichlid
#1 of 3 in Cape Maclear
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Mgoza Lodge
Mgoza Lodge
#2 of 19 in Cape Maclear
129 reviews
0.2 km away
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
#12 of 19 in Cape Maclear
24 reviews
0.1 km away
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
#6 of 19 in Cape Maclear
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Danforth Yachting

Property: Danforth Yachting
Address: Cape Maclear Road | Stand CM10, Cape Maclear, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park > Cape Maclear
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Cape Maclear
Price range (per night): R1 940
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danforth Yachting, situated on the beach at Cape Maclear bordering the Lake Malawi National Park, offers superb lakeside accommodation. Danforth is both a luxury lodge and a Malawi yacht charter company. The Lodge has eight spacious, en-suite rooms, tastefully decorated in cool, nautical colours and all opening onto a large patio. All rooms have spectacular lake views. Swimming pool, watersports, scuba diving and sailing. Double, twin and family en-suite, air conditioned rooms. Great hosting. Excellent meals. Full board. Bar with DSTV. The live-aboard catamaran yacht Mufasa, a 10 berth luxury yacht, is available for crewed yacht charters to the far corners of Lake Malawi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing