We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a romantic getaway”
Review of Johan Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Johan Spa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Kuressaare
Reviewed 22 July 2016

First of all the staff is excellent. We felt that we were wanted there and they did everything to let us know that we are welcomed back. Rooms had unique interior design, it was modern and simple, had this urban vibe. Breakfast was delicious and with very many options. In the spa part there was an outside pool with a sun terrace, we spent the whole day sunbathing there. I definately recommend this place to couples who are looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janfreilung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2016

Very cozy, comfortable, clean and quiet room. Pleasant service, spa was relaxing (especially the private sauna and jacuzzi on the roof/sun deck). Good location (near restaurants, shops and castle),breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kadri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Great location- in downtown and quiet at the same time. Interior decor is tasty. Limestone walls mixed with modern materials. Good place for different types of people, can relax in the different saunas and pools, or visit the cocktail Lounge. Favorite spot- sauna with outdoor bathtub on top of the hotel. Had an awesome weekend there!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank martinvm100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

The room was too small for two persons and double bed. To get to the other side of the bed, you had to squeeze between the bed and the wall.

There was practicly no room for clothes. Cleaning was so and so. The room was tidy when se arrived, but cleaning during our three night stay was not very good.

We got only one key to the room for two persons.

Breakfast was very averigde. The coffee thermos was constantly empty and it took time to refill it.

Very disappointed. The hotel did not fill our expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank napsu2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Location is amazing, just in the middle of the little centre of Kuressaare, where you can find plenty of restaurants and shops.
Room was pretty spacious - it was a standard room but I really liked the design - bathroom was also pretty big with a walk-in shower; on the other hand the sink was pretty small.
Breakfast was awesome! Imagine a full English breakfast, but with Estonian/northern European touch - much much better! Plenty of savoury options: breads, cold meats, cheeses, sausages and bacon; sweet options were good as well: pancakes with jam, cake and fruits.
Spa was also really nice, very cozy: it had all you needed and it wasn't crowded the times we went.
Price was also excellent considering the level of the hotel.
Here below are instead the few things we didn't like.
WiFi connection was really bad. We need internet for work, and one of the things we look for in a hotel when travelling is free WiFi, but unfortunately our room had a very poor signal: luckily we could manage to have internet in our laptops through our phones.
We stayed 2 nights, but I am not sure they came to make our room: they probably made the bed and washed the bathroom floor, but they even didn't change the hand soap bar (which was really tiny).
On our arrival I found in the room a welcoming letter about discounts on Spa treatments: I would have appreciated (and maybe even booked one) if the letter was written in English as well, instead it was in Estonian only - it would have been a nice touch from a 4* hotel with international guests.
These last 3 points were not big deals and definitely didn't affect the quality of our stay, just our opinion on how to improve the service through the little things. We really enjoyed our stay here and we would definitely consider to stay at Johan Spa Hotel on next trip to Kuressaare. Also, the price we got was a real deal, another reason to stay here!

Room Tip: Quiet room, we had very noisy neighbours, and room with a good wifi reception, as we had really poor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraSmarTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuressaare
1,1 km away
Georg Ots Spa Hotel
Georg Ots Spa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kuressaare
487 reviews
0,3 km away
Grand Rose SPA Hotel
Grand Rose SPA Hotel
#3 of 15 in Kuressaare
327 reviews
0,4 km away
Arensburg Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,9 km away
Spa Hotel Meri
Spa Hotel Meri
#6 of 15 in Kuressaare
107 reviews
0,6 km away
Ekesparre Boutique Hotel
Ekesparre Boutique Hotel
#2 of 15 in Kuressaare
113 reviews
28,4 km away
LoonaManor Guesthouse, Vilsandi NP
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johan Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johan Spa Hotel

Address: Kauba 13, Kuressaare, Saaremaa 93813, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Saare County > Saaremaa > Kuressaare
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Kuressaare
Price Range: R 660 - R 1 494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Johan Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Johan Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing