We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Mais - CLOSED

Mais
Price range: US$4 - US$23
Description: Dear friends, Restaurant is closed this season, but we still accept special requests for breakfast, lunch and dinners and also cooking courses.
Restaurant details
Description: Dear friends, Restaurant is closed this season, but we still accept special requests for breakfast, lunch and dinners and also cooking courses.
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We visited the place on our last evening in Kuressaare and we're so glad that we left it for the last evening since there's no way there could've been a better way to end our wonderful trip to Saaremaa.

The host/owner Adam was absolutely amazing - warm & friendly and knew his stuff (read: wine). That made the service like no other in Estonia. Great wine selection and amazing food - that panna cotta was to die for! We will definitely go back next summer and cannot wait to see what kind of an adventure this menu will take us to then!

Strongly recommend visiting when you have the chance! Beware of the opening hours, though - they are only open on the weekends in the summertime. But - if you plan on visiting Saaremaa Rally in October then I hear they should be open too this year.

Restaurant is not located in the city centre like most of the places in Kuressaare but it's totally worth that short walk from the centre. Thanks for making our stay so memorable - can't wait to come back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam T, other at Mais, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for you visit. It was truly delight!
Can't wait to welcome you again in next season :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2017

Adam was an amazing host, with a great deal of knowledge of wines, traditional food, and the modern twist of food presentation and tastes. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and the freshly baked cinnamon buns were a highlight. As was the burgers, fillet of beef and the very quirky salt shaver. Thank you so much... we will be spreading the word about your little piece of heaven in Kuressaare .... EGOISM!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam T, other at Mais, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear Chris,
Thank you so much for you visit. It was truly delight!
Can't wait to welcome you again in next season :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

It's pitty it is not on the main street, food is super nice, owner is super friendly! Had a pork ribs and my girlfriend had pulled duck burger. Once i've finished mine(2mins) i've attacked the burger, was not dissapointed! Compared to top rated place in sarema whixh i've visited, this gets more stars for sure!

Thank Tadas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam T, other at Mais, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear Tadas,
Thank you so much for you visit. It was truly delight!
Can't wait to welcome you again in next season :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We would not have found this had we not read the reviews on TripAdvisor.. Hidden round a corner, one block away from the main street. A shame that we were one of two couples there, as the food and service was excellent and the other restaurants in the main street looked uninspiring.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kumicoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam T, Owner at Mais, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Thank you for your review. We're happy to welcome you back !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

After we heard about this place from some of our friends we wanted to see ourselves whats the fuzz about. So during our last visit to Saaremaa we booked a table for 4 for dinner. Yes, we read about the interior from these pages but this really doesn't have any effect on the enjoyment of the great food they are serving. Food is exciting - curry and langustine soup was phenomenal. Beetroot entree was colorful and crunchy and tasted really good. They were also kind enough to change one of their main dishes slightly (instead of coat cheese they used Parmesan-type cheese) so that our children could share one for two. Our main courses were filling, full of flavour - rack of lamb was cooked to perfection and the burger with Wagyu meet was great - loved the bruchetta and earthy potatoes.

I would easily recommend this place for lovely dinner or lunch. Don't let yourself be fooled with the interior, just enjoy the food.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank kkirss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam T, Manager at Mais, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Thank you so much for you review ! Hope to see new season again :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mais also viewed

Kuressaare, Saaremaa
Kuressaare, Saaremaa
 
Kuressaare, Saaremaa
Kuressaare, Saaremaa
 
Kuressaare, Saaremaa
Kuressaare, Saaremaa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing