We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
35
7
1
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
7
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing machinetrain stationroadwayhiketaxibedroomvarenna
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Our family of four stayed at Casa Cristina for four nights as part of our summer holiday. The apartment is ideal for a family. The children shared the room upstairs on excellent foldaway beds and we had the large bedroom downstairs. Although it was August it was still nice and cool at night even without air con. The owner Rita was lovely and although she only speaks a little bit of English and we had no Italian we still communicated well. Her restaurant is superb and was the best food we had in the area. It's not on the lake so quite a steep walk back but well worth it and away from all the tourists. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rita b, Proprietario at Hotel Il Portichetto, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016
Google Translation

buongiorno grazie della bella recensione
vi aspetto ancora come mi avete promesso
e la prossima volta abbiamo anche in tutte le stanze l'aria condizionata
un abbraccio a tutta la famiglia
saluti Fam. Greppi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

The space was very good. Unfortunately it was pouring rain when we were visiting, but you do get a free voucher to use for the castle nearby (it was closed due to rain). Rita was very nice and the breakfast was good. We highly recommend the pizza and bruschetta in the restaurant, by far one of the best meals we had in Italy. Finding the place was a bit challenging as there are no signs but look for the sign to her restaurant Portichetto. If you are driving there, there is parking near the place but still a 5 min walk. You have to park, and walk there to get a free parking pass. All in all, we had a pleasant stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank anav e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rita b, Proprietario at Hotel Il Portichetto, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016
Google Translation

buongiorno grazie della bella recensione
spero di rivedervi presto
cordiali saluti Fa. Greppi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Review from 5lala says it all. If you realy want to experience living like an Italian, than this is the perfect place. If you are spoiled and need a mint on your pillow, than thisnis not your place. While staying here we never saw another tourist until we went down to Varenna. Castle is meteres away and you can get a pass from owner Rita for free entry.

A big plus was the free use of washer which came in handy. No dryer, but that was no big deal.....

The bruschetta at restaurant was VERY good too

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rita b, Proprietario at Hotel Il Portichetto, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2016
Google Translation

buongiorno mi fa piacere che vi siate trovati bene spero di rivedervi ancora
il phone in bagno c'è è appeso al muro vicino allo specchio
cordiali saluti Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016

We were looking for a place located above the lake with a potential view, reasonable price, free breakfast, free WiFi, and free parking.
We received a complete apartment, very well furnished. Most of all we received Rita, the house owner and also the owner of the local restaurant. A lovely woman who made everything to make our stay more than an experience. Once we arrived she made us a tasty coffee, she gave us free parking car voucher for the local parking area that is good also for free parking in Varenna (at the train station). By this we could take a ferry to the nearby villages (e.g. Belaggio, Menaggio) by leaving the car parking for free and save extra cost parking at the other villages, as well as the higher car ferry. Rita gave us a voucher for free entrance to the nearby Castello di Vezio.
The breakfast is good. We also spend a dinner in her restaurant - very good!
Rita was willing to help with every question and issue, despite her limited English. Sometimes we were using Google Translate :)
In cold evenings, she lighted in advance the fireplace in the apartment.
There was no direct view to the lake from our apartment; however, the view nearby is breathtaking.
Notes: We reached the place using Waze and then Google Maps since once we reached the parking place, we could not find the B&B that easily. If you get there, you should follow the sign to "Il Portichetto", the local restaurant.
The place is good for couples and maybe for families. I less recommend to elderly who is having issues to carry the luggage to/from the car which is not nearby. Also, since the apartment is 2-floor and the bedroom is down the 1st floor (entrance from the 2nd floor) it may not be straightforward for some people.
For us, next time in Como lake - we will come back there!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zvi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rita b, Proprietario at Hotel Il Portichetto, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2016
Google Translation

buongiorno grazie della bellissima recensione spero di rivedervi presto
saluti Fam. Greppi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015

This experience was the best that we had in all of Italy. Rita made the stay memorable with her attention to our every need. The location was exactly what I had expected Italy to be - rural, spectacular views and a short walk to Varenna. The best part of her B+ B is that it is part of the community from the greeting each day from the her elderly neighbor to the many visitors who come by her restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portichetto, Proprietario at Hotel Il Portichetto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2015
Google Translation

buongiorno grazie della bella recensione spero ritorniate ancora
saluti fam Greppi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews