We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian understanding needed! ”
Review of El Mercante

El Mercante
Ranked #2 of 51 Restaurants in Colico
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Not a negative review, just one for those with no Italian language skills to note. Very complicated menu setup and without being able to understand Italian it may be difficult to understand. We had children with us and no real kid friendly options were obvious. To be fair the inside of the restaurant is beautiful, the people were really understanding and the food smelled amazing. Just not suitable for a family with no understanding of Italian language or menu options.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 1979PaulC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

Quite booked place but can see why. We had antipasto of the house as the starters and that alone could have made the whole dinner for us. And when the pastas arrived... tasteful, really honest Italian dishes and the size enough to feed a football team. Service was also really kind.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Lemmy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

This was the best meal I've had this year in Italy. The food is incredible and there is a nice outdoor terrace covered in vines. The locals laugh about not being able to get past the first dish because they are so enormous. It's the first time I've seen doggie bags in Italy. We had the pumpkin ravioli (alla zucca) and gnochetti con mirtilli e fragole (blueberries and strawberries) and then the tagliata (meat). There was a nice local atmostphere and the food was delicious. We will be back!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chabela94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Based on reviews on tripadvisor and cosy exterior we booked a table with our two children. Personnel is friendly and one girl knows more than one language to help you out. The (primi) tagliatelli wild boar is fresh and tasteful. However, the antipasti and the meat were below expectations. You can't go wrong with the cold meat selection at the antipasti, but the other elements (sundried tomatoes, potato salad in mayonese, sweet onions) didn't thrill us (neither did the warm white wine). We all had a different meat dish, and all were salty and overcooked. The milanese vitello was ultra thin, too salt, and overcooked in the deepfryer (?). We skipped desert and went home for an ice cream. A lot of Italian people come here and many people were sent away because they didn't have a reservation. It's relatively cheap, perhaps that's the reason?

Date of visit: July 2016
5  Thank Carolien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Revisited (9 years) this top Milan institution, but unfortunately picked the not-so-good dishes.
The Entrecote steam and Risoto were just OK, the antipasti and salad were ok minues..

Date of visit: May 2016
3  Thank Dov S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Mercante also viewed

 
Colico, Lake Como
Colico, Lake Como
 
Colico, Lake Como
 

Been to El Mercante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing