We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Closest To Heaven...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa La Ruga

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
99 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Argegno, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 99 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
TrpsterA
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Closest To Heaven...”
Reviewed 11 June 2017 for a stay in March 2017
19
people found this review helpful

May – June 12, 2017 We spent the vacation of a Lifetime at Villa La Ruga for three weeks with cousins and family arriving and departing at different times throughout our stay. The pictures of the breathtaking views on this portion of the lake do not do it justice. We were greeted every morning to spectacular sunrises and daylight well past 9pm. The villa had all the necessary amenities, rooms were spacious and immaculate and the grounds were meticulously kept. Francesco couldn’t have been more accommodating from booking to departing he helped us in every way. My husband who was on crutches just prior to our trip had some mobility challenges, but Francesco arranged for transportation into town and boat trips on several occasions. There were no issues that he couldn’t handle and he did so willingly – he was a pleasure to know and would check in periodically. The walk into town is a little hike some of which is uphill to avoid the narrow streets without sidewalks. For a small town, Argegno has a lot of restaurants and we tried them all. Our favorite was Barchetta – the food was delicious and the owner, Antonio was very nice. Argegno is perfectly situated on the lake to get to other areas like Belliagio, Menaggio, Verenna, the city of Como, etc. by ferry (Argegno has it’s own stop) The ferries run more often after May 27th to accommodate the increasing tourist crowd. Francesco arranged for Umberto, a personal chef, to prepare extraordinary, gourmet meals for us on three occasions during our stay. Although we did not take advantage of the boat that Francesco had available (it held 6 or 7 people and we were 8) it was available- he hired a larger boat with a skipper for us. This vacation will forever be imbedded in our hearts as being the best ever. Thank you Francesco for all you did to make it perfect. Mike & Janet

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
725Alex
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stunning scenery, amazing villa and the very best host imaginable!”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
13
people found this review helpful

The very first thing we all did when we arrived at the villa, was wander around open-mouthed in awe of just how spectacularly beautiful it is there.

It is an absolutely amazing villa, wonderfully designed so that every room has a breath-taking views of Lake Como and the mountains. It is decorated and furnished to a very high standard with top-end equipment like an integrated Bose music system, there are plenty of lights to illuminate the house and gardens beautifully at night, while the gardens are immaculately tended.

But the thing that really sets the standard of Villa La Ruga above any other property on the lake, or anywhere else for that matter, is the host Francesco. You will not meet a host on any holiday rental site that is as kind and helpful, or as much fun.

We rented the villa for my wife’s 30th birthday and throughout our time there, he made so much effort to ensure we had the best time possible and was so considerate in his attention to tiny details.

An example was on the boat tour that we took, we realised towards the end that there would be no taxi driver to drive us back to the villa from where we disembarked in Argegno. Francesco learned this through speaking to the boat captain by phone and so he left work to drive back to the villa to move his own boat out of the villa’s boathouse so we could disembark there instead! As a result we weren’t left waiting for a taxi on my wife’s birthday. He spoke to florists to order flowers for me, organised a caterer and a DJ for the evening after the restaurant, all of which were really great. Every time he answered the phone (which was dozens of times), he greeted us with a super- enthusiastic “Hi!”. He is super cheerful, energetic and polite and is just a naturally excellent host. The story about why he rents the villa is incredibly sweet as well.

In conclusion you will not find a better place to stay or a better host, our whole experience was nothing short of amazing. We will definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186siezah...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“spectacular setting and wonderful service”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
3
people found this review helpful

What a gorgeous treat this was when we arrived , not the easiest to find but well worth it when you do as the vista from the garden and terrace just takes your breath away . The gardens are perfectly manicured but it is the promenade and the un beatable view of the lake and vista over to Belagio that really makes its maark . The living room of the house with it h 4 sets of French windows allows the lake to touch you on those rare monments when you sit inside . Villa Ruga is all about the Al Fresco though and it features a dining table in the garden and a Webber BBQ . there is also a Speed boat in the boathouse which for a reasonable fee you can take out onto the lake .

The owner Francesco is very "hands on " friendly and helpful ....he speaks perfect English as well as I guess perfect Italian and is able to point you in the right directions for food , activities shops etc . We shall return for sure !!!!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Host at an Idealic Private Home”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Highly recommend!!

Francesco went above and beyond as the property manager and host. He is very responsive with an easy communication style, and lives close by if you should need anything.

Francesco helped make our stay feel both special and unique by leaving us a welcome gift (Goodies for Easter) and helping us arrange a personal chef, a shopping trip, a driver and a private boat tour.

His family home is equally impressive. The house is situation right on lake Como and a short walk to the village center. The kitchen is full stocked with tools needed to cook and eat meals at the home. The house is clean, beds are comfortable and linens are provided.

I can only imagine the beautiful weather in the summer. We lucked out with a couple of great days before a cold wind from the north start. The location is fantastic in a smaller town on the lake with ferry service. It is not as crowded as a Bellagio or Como, but still has several restaurants and a small grocery.

Villa La Ruga is great for families or a group of friends. I really can't say enough great things about Francesco or the property.

Thank you for hosting us and making us feel welcome at your family home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan D
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing, would highly recommend”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
6
people found this review helpful

Francesco was a fantastic host and the house is absolutely amazing

I would highly recommend the boat tour that Francesco kindly organised for us, as well as some of the wine...

Francesco was around for whatever we needed. The house was very clean and tidy and the terrace is incredible.

The only thing I would say is that car rental in the whole area of Argegno would be beneficial (this isn't a point about Francesco's house but the simply the area it is in)

We will definitely be coming back and thanks again for a wonderful trip

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing