We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“spectacular setting and wonderful service”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa La Ruga

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
117 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Argegno, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 117 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
186siezah...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“spectacular setting and wonderful service”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
3
people found this review helpful

What a gorgeous treat this was when we arrived , not the easiest to find but well worth it when you do as the vista from the garden and terrace just takes your breath away . The gardens are perfectly manicured but it is the promenade and the un beatable view of the lake and vista over to Belagio that really makes its maark . The living room of the house with it h 4 sets of French windows allows the lake to touch you on those rare monments when you sit inside . Villa Ruga is all about the Al Fresco though and it features a dining table in the garden and a Webber BBQ . there is also a Speed boat in the boathouse which for a reasonable fee you can take out onto the lake .

The owner Francesco is very "hands on " friendly and helpful ....he speaks perfect English as well as I guess perfect Italian and is able to point you in the right directions for food , activities shops etc . We shall return for sure !!!!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Host at an Idealic Private Home”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Highly recommend!!

Francesco went above and beyond as the property manager and host. He is very responsive with an easy communication style, and lives close by if you should need anything.

Francesco helped make our stay feel both special and unique by leaving us a welcome gift (Goodies for Easter) and helping us arrange a personal chef, a shopping trip, a driver and a private boat tour.

His family home is equally impressive. The house is situation right on lake Como and a short walk to the village center. The kitchen is full stocked with tools needed to cook and eat meals at the home. The house is clean, beds are comfortable and linens are provided.

I can only imagine the beautiful weather in the summer. We lucked out with a couple of great days before a cold wind from the north start. The location is fantastic in a smaller town on the lake with ferry service. It is not as crowded as a Bellagio or Como, but still has several restaurants and a small grocery.

Villa La Ruga is great for families or a group of friends. I really can't say enough great things about Francesco or the property.

Thank you for hosting us and making us feel welcome at your family home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan D
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing, would highly recommend”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
7
people found this review helpful

Francesco was a fantastic host and the house is absolutely amazing

I would highly recommend the boat tour that Francesco kindly organised for us, as well as some of the wine...

Francesco was around for whatever we needed. The house was very clean and tidy and the terrace is incredible.

The only thing I would say is that car rental in the whole area of Argegno would be beneficial (this isn't a point about Francesco's house but the simply the area it is in)

We will definitely be coming back and thanks again for a wonderful trip

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leigheade
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than the pictures!!”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely amazing location and so refreshing to see accommodation represented so well. The view was the best you'll see in Como and Francesco was the BEST host - he was so friendly and helpful - he even bought my two nephews Easter gifts and an Easter cake for the adults! Nothing was too much trouble for him and he really made our stay - highly recommended, well equipped and had all that you could ask for! We didn't want to leave! I recommend taking the private boat trip if you can, the best way to see the Lake is from the water and this way you can choose where you want to go!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Frantastic spot and villa”
Reviewed 10 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
3
people found this review helpful

This was our first time on lake como
When we booked our trip all we knew is that we needed to stay on the west side of the lake and on the water
We were traveling with my family of 9, and being comfortable is very important and that everyone was happy
We booked the villa just for the accommodating bedrooms and water front
With many questions of staying and accomdations Francesco was extremely responsive
After we decided to book Francesco was asking us what he can do to help us
He offered a private chef for the villa and we decided to do it for one. Valentina our chef made an incredible meal and she was friendly and helpful
Francesco also set up a private boat tour of the lake the boat tour we choose was 6 hours with a wonderful guide, madellanna.
On our boat your model Lena guided us on and about the lake with stops in the major areas
Until after the boat tour we didn't realize our perfect location. We saw the sun rise, we had the preamps for our view, we were walking distance to argegno, 180 degree view of the lake
We had the perfect spot, with the perfect host
Please feel free with any questions of the villa
It was our best stay all week

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing