We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Find”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Strangford, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Lorna O
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic Find”
Reviewed 1 January 2019 for a stay in December 2018

This is our second time staying at the this fantastic house. We stayed in the summer and loved exploring the area so much we came back for New Year. The house is so well located and handy to fantastic restaurants, walks and park for the kids. Everything is very clean and the owners have thought of everything! Our son loves sleeping in the “up up” stairs and the enclosed garden is great for safe playtime too. I would recommend to anyone as we love it so much.

Date of stay: December 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
2 Jan 2019
Thanks for taking the trouble to leave a review - we really appreciate it! Glad to hear Strangford and The Red Door still impressing second time around. Welcome back anytime, just get in touch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne Q
1 review
“Fantastic home”
Reviewed 26 December 2018 for a stay in December 2018

This is the second Christmas we have stayed at the red door and I can’t recommend it enough. Marty is a fantastic host and the house has everything you could need. It really is a home from home. Love this place so much I’ve booked it again for family to stay in the summer after my wedding.

Date of stay: December 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
2 Jan 2019
We have a lot of return guests at The Red Door which is just how we like it! We are looking forward to hosting your family on your big day. Good luck with all the planning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colhooney
UK
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 9 December 2018 for a stay in December 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We don't live very far away from Strangford but needed a place to stay while we had work done to our own house. We have discovered Strangford is a fantastic village for a break and The Red Door has the best location. It is within walking distance of quality restaurants, cosy pubs and the harbour. The house itself is such a lovely surprise behind the quaint terrace frontage. The owners have thought of everything - down to the smallest detail (from chargers and kindling to children's playing cards and a welcome hamper). There is great space across three floors, including the lovely attic room with three single beds, which our children loved. From an upstairs window we managed to catch a glimpse of the ferry, lit with Christmas lights, crossing the lough. Gorgeous house in a special village.

Date of stay: December 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
2 Jan 2019
Thanks for taking the time to post such a lovely review. Not everyone finds the secret attic window with the view of the ferry! Strangford really is a genuine hidden gem, so glad you had a great stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dos12345
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic holidays!”
Reviewed 3 November 2018 for a stay in November 2018

We spent a week at the ‚Red Door’ during our holidays. It’s a lovely house perfect designed for families. Our kids loved the area around- there is Castleward (Winterfell Caste- Games of Thrones) and there are beautiful beaches.
In the house you have everything you need- it’s very clean and it was nice to sit at the fireplace in the evening. Thank you Marty and Melanie! We will come back for sure.

Date of stay: November 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
2 Jan 2019
So glad you enjoyed your stay at The Red Door! Its a perfect family house and as you day lots to do close by. Do come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTuamaFam...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Summer in Strangford”
Reviewed 28 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We had a fab time in the Red Door our third visit to there. Will go back next year if possible and hopefully get the Strangford Summer Festival. Kids had a great time playing football with the locals and ventured to Lets go Hydro. As per our previous experience of the Red Door so comfortable, clean and we had a great time there.Lots of info on the area in the house. Thanks very much

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
30 Aug 2018
We love when guests come back! The Strangford festival was fantastic this year, so much happening for all ages. We're still recovering! See you next time for visit no 4.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.