We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful little barn conversion”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallow Barn

Lovely secluded sitting out areas
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely secluded sitting out areas
A beautiful stone barn newly refurbished in glorious countryside with large private garden Open plan kitchen, dining and lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Lovely secluded sitting out areas
A beautiful stone barn newly refurbished in glorious countryside with large private garden
Open plan kitchen, dining and lounge area
Character fireplace with reclaimed brick hearth and woodburner
Comfy leather soafa and footstool
Step outside and enjoy the patio
Plenty of garden furniture for summer alfresco dining
Spacious double bedroom with oak flooring
Large ensuite with bath and shower
Ensuite with bath and shower
View from the garden over fields
Welcome to Swallow Barn
Church in the field - Low Ham
View to Glastonbury Tor from Low Ham
The stunning countryside round Low Ham
Somebody may keep an eye on you
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Langport, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Finty7
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful little barn conversion”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just spent a few days at Swallow Barn which is a beautiful little barn conversion. Spotlessly clean & tastefully furnished! Thank you to Ali, the owner, for selection of goodies on our arrival (including chocolates!) which we really appreciated. We hope to return for sure!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2016
Thank you Jacqueline for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Swallow Barn and look forward to welcoming back in the future.
Ali and Gary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maureen c
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Barn”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our fourth time staying at Swallow Barn, this time we spent a week including Christmas Day and Boxing Day. We cannot recommend swallow barn highly enough, it is a very special place to stay, especially to get away from it all. Ali Gary Matt and Niamh always make us so welcome and supply lovely little extras. The wood burner makes it very warm and cosy, although it is very warm without it. The furnishings, kitchen, bathroom and bedroom are top quality. The surrounding area is very tranquil and lovely with plenty of places to visit. Thank you again for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about this property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise W
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A perfect break in the country!”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A really clean, well appointed and cosy barn. Attention to our comfort showed in the generous hamper of food and essentials provided. Excellent value and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would love to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Such a user friendly barn conversion. We wanted for nothing.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRP161
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Possibly the nicest self-catering accommodation we've ever stayed in”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Swallow Barn is a truly lovely little barn conversion in a truly lovely rural location. It has been beautifully designed and decorated, and very thoughtfully equipped. The owners, who had left out a range of little luxuries and useful staples for us, gave us and our dog a very warm welcome when we arrived - even though we were unavoidably four hours late on a Friday evening! The peaceful courtyard and garden are properly fenced for dogs, but nonetheless offer unobstructed views over the paddock and across to the hills beyond, making simply lounging outside with a book (in the all-weather loungers provided) a very pleasant experience. The interior is very comfortable indeed, with everything geared towards a restful break. There is plenty of very pleasant walking right from the door. We are looking forward to returning very soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lengths to which the owners had gone to add thoughtful little extra touches
Liked least: There really was nothing that we didn't like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin G
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable Cottage”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Swallow Barn is a very clean and comfortable cottage, and very spacious for two people. It is well equipped with everything you need for a relaxing stay, plus a comprehensive list of basic groceries supplied, and some extra treats! The owner is very friendly and welcoming.

We also found the location excellent for visiting some of the many local gardens and historic sites.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing