We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Villa Etna”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Etna on top of its vineyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Etna on top of its vineyard
lovely shared pool with view of Mount Etna bedroom on upper floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Villa Etna on top of its vineyard
lovely shared pool with view of Mount Etna
bedroom on upper floor
marvellous views from main terrace
sunny balcony with stunning views of mount Etna
comfortable dining area with fireplace
open plan living-dining area with separate kitchen
bedroom 1 on ground floor
bedroom 2 on ground floor
main entrance hall
wonderful view from living room of medieval town of Castiglione di Sicilia
main terrace with great views
again...lovely views from the living room
hilltop entrance gate to Villa Etna
ancient well on main terrace
unspoiled views from entrance gate of the courtyard
Yes, Relax!!
sip a glass of wine or read a book under the palm trees
romantic pool area at night
Front view main terrace
location of Villa Etna, Mount Etna, Ocean/beaches
lush garden with plenty of different sitting areas to relax
lovely countryside from every angle of Villa Etna
view from the vineyard of Villa Etna
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Castiglione di Sicilia, Province of Catania, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Stephen H
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Villa Etna”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I cannot praise Villa Etna enough, it is in an ideal location, beautifully equipped and an incredibly well maintained building. It is everything you would expect from a Sicilian villa with tasteful and homely touches that make it the perfect place to stay. The pool is only a short walk away and is also in an excellent location.The owners are lovely people to deal with and we were greeted on arrival by Christian who was was extremely helpful and attentive throughout our whole stay.

The views of Mount Etna, Castiglione di Sicilia and the surrounding countryside are stunning and a real treat to wake up to each morning. We all enjoyed our stay thoroughly and would recommend Villa Etna to anyone who wants a relaxing holiday in a beautiful Sicilian location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Not a thing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday ”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Villa Etna is a superb and beautiful place. It was the perfect place to stay, a comfortable and stylish traditional Sicilian Villa with a lovely pool within walking distance. We were greeted by Cristian who couldn't have been more helpful in making our stay truly exceptional. I can't recommend the Villa Etna highly enough, you must go there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic villa in a lovely location”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our two week stay in Villa Etna was fabulous. The property was exactly as we expected from the description on its website. The decor and presentation of the property is lovely and even in the heat of August its design meant it was lovely and cool ( no need for air conditioning) The directions supplied by the owners were very clear - we would have struggled to find it without them. The property manager was great - he was able to answer any questions we had and was able to provide that useful local knowledge. The family run Antica Cavalleria ( where the pool is located) were very welcoming. The atmosphere at the pool was very relaxed & family friendly. We ate there in the evening three times - even taking part in a pasta making workshop. The food was lovely and the reception always warm.
Villa Etna provided us with a great base to explore the eastern parts of Sicily. Towns visited included Taormina, Noto & Syracuse. We had a 4x4 tour of Etna (organised for us by the property manager) and a fantastic day sailing from Catania. Our two visits two the Alcantara Gorge were great fun - in fact we chose to go there a second time rather than visiting a beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Phil...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had the time of our lives”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The villa is awesome. The view is spectacular, you see the Castiglione di Sicilia village, the Mount Etna, the little vineyard, you really can’t ask for more.

The villa is clean and well situated. You are 30 minutes away from Taormina and Mount Etna. If you want to experiment Sicilia, this is the spot. It has a nice balcony and an outdoor space where you can relax en enjoy the quietness of the region.

We were there with our extended family (5, 7, 36, 36, 60 and 80 years old) and it was great. We went to the lovely pool several times and we had dinner 4 times at the restaurant near the pool where the Sicilian food is exceptional. The service from the house manager was great and he speaks several languages.

I can’t say enough good words about the villa and the region. Enjoy your stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the rooms, the food.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinki
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Perfect house and location”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

About the house itself:
Villa Etna is a charming house, surrounded by wine ranks on all sides. The views from the sunny balcony and the rest of the house is beautiful. Even though it is not that far from its neighbours, it is really quiet and peaceful, especially in the evenings.
3 bedrooms, quite large, with double beds. No aircon, but even in early July, we found that it was not too hot at night. Kitchen with everything you need.
In addition to the balcony (from the living room), the house also have a nice outdoor space in the front of the building, with a sitting area and a barbeque. We spent a lot of time here in the evenings, and made dinner on the barbeque several times :)

The location and area:
The nearest town is Castiglione di Sicilia, 5-10 minutes drive from Villa Etna, with a few nice restaurants and a grocery store. Even closer is Antica Cavalleria, the small hotel where you recieve the keys for the house from Christian or some of the other helpful people there. We arrived late (a while after midnight) due to a plane delay, and it was no trouble, they even made some much needed and appreciated food for the six of us! We had both breakfast and dinner there a few times, and the food was always excellent. The pool is also here (very nice area!).
We went to Taormina to go to the beach, and the drive took about 40 minutes.

We had a very nice holiday at Villa Etna, and can absolutely recommend this property. (But one should bring a car, I imagine it would be very difficult to stay here otherwise).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself, very well maintained.
Liked least: Would have been great if the bathroom had a lock :)
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing