We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
60
82
19
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
82
19
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junior suite alcantara gorge delicious pasta every evening enjoyed our stay a great place to stay farmhouse character mattresses balcony middle km taormina car drive wine
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

So this is supposed to be a”luxury” resort but seems to be luxury on a tight budget. The outdoor pool is the highlight but that’s not really enough. Yes the room came with robes and slippers but the service was aloof, unfriendly and sometimes plain rude (the only place we were ignored when standing at the front desk with an employee behind said desk). Dinner was completely hit and miss - the fried cheese appetizer was far too large and rather bland (not enough sauce for the huge portion either), one of the pasta dishes was flavourful and tasty but the macaroni with pistachio came to the table cold and chewy), the pork was said to be great but the lamb was over breaded (who needs to bread lamb) and totally under-whelming. The fixed menu was 30 Euro (which given a prix fixe in Taormina was 28 Euro and that included water and wine) which seems to demonstrate a certain (we know you have no where else to eat so we’ll charge you a lot of money for your “luxury meal”. Possibly the worst meal of our three weeks in Napoli/Sicily. Also the wifi was terrible and one of the rooms was not properly cleaned before check in .

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank westind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We had an excellent room, junior suite.
Dinner and service were impeccable, delicious pasta! Magnificent views over the gorge, rich breakfast.
The restaurant is an old barn, I think, huge and airy, you could forget about the heat here. The gorge brings cool air in the morning and at night.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creamy7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely location and good, well maintained facility. Food is fresh, personnel nice and friendly. Unfortunately it is lacking at infrastructures like wifi, which is not working at all in the rooms, at least those we heard of from other guests and for sure not in the suite we lodged in. TV reception was also sub-standard. Most of the channels were not properly visible as reception was massively disturbed. Too bad that being our room located above the restaurant area, the smell of fried oil flew in copiously. The bathroom was clean but the shower was not in good shape, the tiles fugues were mouldy. The shower head was almost falling down.

It is a nice place, but it is not a 4 star standard and rating it as luxury is rather overestimation. It is a good 3 star resort.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marcello H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Although the hotel was a little difficult to find, I understand that the address has now been changed to simplify things. Il Borgois absolutely beautiful, in a quiet, secluded area with a magnificent view. Great pool, with very few people using it. Dinner in the restaurant is also worth a try.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the old farmhouse, as it is far more charming than the new building.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Montrealer555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

stayed one night with my fiancé, the receptionist was a bit grumpy at check in but no big deal, we had also dinner at their restaurant which was disappointment although we both got some infection next morning had the same problems at the toilet. However overall it is a nice place, quiet good to relax but not to stay more then a night my personal opinion.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews