We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
31 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$549
View deal
Hotels.com
US$549
View deal
Traveluro
US$485
View deal
PricelineUS$518
Booking.comUS$550
HurbUS$578
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8 659)
Filter reviews
8 662 results
Traveller rating
7 296
938
279
89
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
7 296
938
279
89
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tranquility pool surf and turf ocean front lobster la brisa star friends indoor pool lobby bar butler service pillow menu other resorts oceanfront room japanese restaurant welcome home pool concierge lunch buffet rose petals
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 8 662 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2021

I had written this review earlier and felt that I was a bit harsher than was appropriate. prior the rating a 1 star. I would like to not that this review is more of a reflection of my stay as a member than a reflection of all of the staff. Some of the staff were very kind and provided a great service.
I had a disappointing stay. I have been a member for about 4 years. Started off as a blue member upgrade to black then rose gold. For anyone thinking of signing up for a membership I would be aware that if you think becoming a member will provide you any special treatment you will be disappointed. For those of you thinking of upgrading. Do not do it. They care nothing about the level of membership. A non member with a paid upgrade its treated the same as a rose gold members . I can not tell you how disappointed I am. I hope that this is not how the owners of the chain are wanting their members to feel. As a business owner myself I would want to hear from my customer if they had a less than expected experience.
The day prior to checking out I was told that I would need to vacate the room earlier to make room for another incoming guest. Wow; if I was trying to sign up new members I would think at least twice about asking a rose good member to check out early to make room for another member or non member. That may sound petty however prior to paying for the membership they told us how the great members are treated compared to non members. And as a non member the service was great. The service was top notch. After becoming a member I will tell you that there are some Iberostar employees that are absolutely Fantastic. But I must assume that based on my current experience as a current member the current management is not focused on existing members . I will not be back to the Grand Paraiso. I would recommend to anyone considering signing up for a membership do not do it. And if you are thinking upgrading please do not. It is not worth your time or money. Again I can not tell you how disappointed I am in the level of service. I am hoping this post will help at least make potential future members aware what they can expect once becoming a member and/or improve the stay of other members in the future.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank D6679QBjefft
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager Iberostar Mexico, Propietario at Iberostar Grand Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2021

Dear guest,

Thank you for your loyalty towards our brand and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

As we aim to provide our guests with a memorable experience, we are really saddened to know that on this occasion, we did not live up to your expectations.

Furthermore, we offer you a sincere apology if we did not make you feel like the important guest you truly are for all of us, please know that your feedback will help us to keep this situation from happening again as it will be reviewed by our Management.

We hope to recover your trust through the excellent service that once made you our loyal guest.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Grand Paraiso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

Comparable to this particular adults only five star resort, my friend and I have stayed at Excellence Playa Mujeres, Excellence Riviera Maya, Secrets Akumal, Secrets Maroma and the Hilton Playa Del Carmen so we’ve seen our share of 5 star adult only in Mexico. But this was our virgin voyage at Iberostar Grand Paraiso. We understand you are reading this review as you are considering spending your hard earned project to project pulling your hair out and waking up at 3am stressed about work money on a single week of make or break vacation and you need to know what choice to safely make without regret. To sum up: this one is a BIG YES. Now for all the deets my dears.

BUTLER: Every room category here comes with a butler. Ours was the LEGENDARY Irmin who made a point to find us daily and chat with us so much we felt like we were his only guests. He really made us feel special! Know this though or you might be disappointed: Your butler is only as good as YOUR asks and needs so come prepared! We asked for: a bath one night with rose petals and champagne (free), scheduled Covid test, (unable to unpack and pack us due to Covid but stay tuned when that is lifted cause they do that!), reservations at the only restaurant that needs them which is the Japanese hibachi, two scheduled spa massages, mimosas delivered daily with entire bottle of champagne and coffee (free), chocolate covered strawberries (about 25USD) and a bottle of Bailys for our coffee (about 30USD as well but call that the money you earned when you were in between projects and surfing this tripadvisor review when your boss wasn’t looking). We were surprised to see no snacks for the mini fridge so we asked for that too and got white and dark chocolate, potato chips and cute jars of nut trail mix which was fantastico. They also have two giant 32oz hard plastic enviro friendly screw cap top water bottles but we asked for something more manageable as well to carry around and got two 16oz reusable super adorbs screw cap jars of water. We legit also asked our butler for two semi outrageous requests which, for the sake of our dear Irmin, we will not divulge preventing anyone else from inadvertently sending him on another wild scavenger hunt but know that he was able to achieve both requests and was the highlight of our vacation.

ROOMS: There are two closets each with ten hangers a piece so you can finally hang each garment on one hanger instead of doubling them all up cause you overpacked cause you’re not sure which dresses will still fit you after all the buffet breakfasts. The bed is officially the MOST comfortable of all beds at any all inclusive ever; a tittle previously held by Excellence Playa Mujeres. The bathroom has two glorious sinks that oppose each other instead of side by side, a wonderous design that gets 5 big stars so no one is bumping elbows while brushing teeth. Each sink has an outlet but only ONE sink offers the coveted make up mirror, which is fine if you’re the classic boy/girl couple but sad if you’re two super cute lady friends. The glass door toilet, while certainly attractive, left us with the delicate task of negotiating a work around of closing the heavy wooden door that separates the bedroom from the entire bathroom area. Of special notation are the candle glow night lights embedded in the bathroom shelves that prevent you from tripping over the heels you drunkenly kicked off or being blinded during a 2am potty break. The balcony was incredible though Fun Girl J (yours truly) really loves her swim ups, Fun Girl C said it was her favorite ever with a large wooden floor balcony, like large enough to park a showroom Ford F250 with all four doors open. A couch swing big enough for two girls fighting over a vanity mirror to comfortably sit in. A large overhead fan. A day bed/couch for two and heavy marble topped furniture. The Fun Girls also appreciated the swimsuit drying rack so the balconies you’re staring at from the pool below are not swaying with towels and pink flamingo bathing suits.

BOOZE: Fabulous and HIGH END! Imaginative combinations of muddled strawberries and blackberries, fresh basil or rosemary and unexpected undertones of ginger or elderflower combined with top shelf Grey Goose and adorned with attractively sliced garnishes in tall icy glasses that makes even the pool bar level up to a posh martini establishment. A little known juicy fact: The dedicated and lively evening martini bar, Rhapsody, features Alejandro, who was Tom Cruises’s double in the movie Cocktail. Be sure to ask for his signature drink the “Tom Cruise”, offer a devilish wink and tip well.

FOOD: Next gold medal goes to best breakfast buffet! In addition to the stations you’re accustomed to there is also a well appointed avocado toast station with fresh mozzarella and baby tomatoes and a hash brown station where you can get ham and cheese (or veggies I guess if you’re a healthy person) or add a fried egg over a fresh shredded hash brown cake hot off the grill. Our new and preferred vehicle for all future carbs. Lunch buffet rotates and is comparable quality highlighting the daily arrangement of huge crab claws, gigantic prawns and shrimps of unusually large size. They also have an a la carte menu at the buffet so you can get your fresh guacamole fix or have anything on that menu delivered poolside in your wet suit. Bronze Medal goes to the a la carte dinners, however. While they are still high end with delicious steaks, we felt the a la cartes had more choices and better food at both Excellence resorts. Additionally the room service menu is really sparse and doesn’t live up to other comparable resorts.

POOLS: There are essentially two huge pools here. One activities pool with a swim up bar and one quiet pool flanked by two bubble tubs, one HOT (yay!) and one warm (also yay on super hot days). This quiet area is exclusively lined with cabanas with either beds or lounge chairs and where we spent our time. One thing to note is that although there is no dedicated bar on the quiet side, there are plenty of waitstaff to bring you anything you like poolside all day. We were also impressed with Jorge, by the quiet pool who took the time to learn that we want to be in the sun and moved our padded lounge chairs out of the cabana and into the sun. He pampered us daily, layering our cushioned chairs with a luxurious towel Mecca compete with rolled pillows. He even replaced them if it rained and moved our chairs like a sundial as the day went on. Loved the this service comparable to a club level upgrade elsewhere without the additional price tag.

PLAZA: I have been to the mall PRE Covid on a trip with my daughter to the other 2 resorts here, so my post Covid review of the plaza is mixed. It used to be like going to a mall with a free food court so it was super cool but so much is closed cause of covid. CLOSED: The candy store with cotton candy, gummy bears and popcorn, casino (a rare thing in Mexico), hamburger joint, Disco, pottery painting place. Crepe and ice cream shop. OPEN: coffee shop, some shopping stores, taco place, and fully appointed spa.

SISTER RESORTS: As a member of the highest resort category in a triad of resorts, you are encouraged to explore the two neighboring resorts but know there are kids there. These two sister resorts have authentically Mayan inspired decor with lush outdoor plants, lanterns, coati (the cute raccoons), agouti (the cute earless rabbits), iguana (AKA “biguana”), peacocks, flamingos, and black swans. Check out “mermaid cove” at the start of the gorgeous long and winding Del Mar/Beach pool. It’s got a hot tub nestled inside a two story cave surrounded by waterfalls. At the Mayan, check out the wave pool, lazy River and water slides all included with your stay at the Grand!!!

THE HOTEL: The grand has a gold “El Dorado” inspired and opulent feel and is entirely indoors so it’s an odd feeling to be in a dripping bathing suit in the middle of Liberace’s Living room while you squishy flip flop over a carpeted path back to your room. However, in the evenings, we enjoyed being in full air conditioning and arriving at our dinner destination fresh with cute heels and not overheated with sticky skin and frizzy hair.

SPA: There are two spas and we get full access to both. One is located right outside your main hotel building in the courtyard. Hours till late into the night with indoor pool, swan neck hydro massagers, a HOT hot tub and dry sauna all for free all day access every day. The other spa at the marketplace is the most well equipped with bubble beds inside a very large hot tub, large dark steam room with cute “stars” above which rotate colors and a supremely hot dry sauna. Spas are gorgeous and comparable to other resorts but the Gold star spa winner for Fun Girl J will always be the Excellence Playa Del Carmen.

COVID TEST: This one is the five minute rapid result so plan accordingly and use your butler to schedule this hassle free.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
6  Thank TokiRooK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager Iberostar Mexico, Owner at Iberostar Grand Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2021

Dear guest,

We want you to know that we are really pleased that you had such a fabulous holiday with us at Iberostar Grand Paraiso and we want to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with others.

As we work hard on a daily basis to exceed the needs and goals of our valued guests and provide them with a feeling of joy and total comfort, we are obviously flattered by your kind words.

Again, we want to express our gratitude for this wonderful feedback and hope to have the honor of serving you and your friend again soon.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Grand Paraiso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2021

My honey and I had the most wonderful stay here. Victor and Mauro were such amazing butlers - we would honestly come back just because of the service and care they provided. Charly, Mari, and Gus were great entertainers and such sweet people. We left this resort making friends for sure! We look forward to coming back sometime soon.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank G9131KWgabrieleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager Iberostar Mexico, Owner at Iberostar Grand Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2021

Dear guest,

We are grateful to you for choosing us for your recent holiday and for sharing the experience you had with us at Iberostar Grand Paraiso.

Your enthusiastic comments about many of the prime pillars that we set in place many years ago to guarantee fabulous holidays for our guests are great to receive. It is amazing to read that you have returned home with a sense of satisfaction and we look forward to doing the same for you again in the future.

Once again, we are truly grateful for this complimentary review of your time in our hospitality.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Grand Paraiso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2021

We were new to the Iberostar Resort family, and plan on staying at their other locations from now on! The ambience was excellent, food was great, and the butler service was beyond what we expected. The ability to also have a resort app to help get information, a golf cart ride, or order drinks and food was even better. Antonia and Manuelo went above and beyond every day! Humberto was the best concierge I've met before, telling us his recommendations on restaurants. We did venture to the waterslides and lazy river in the adjoining hotel on the property, and it wasn't as loud as you would expect a children's area to be. The A'telier restaurant was our favorite, followed b the lunch seafood buffet at La Brisa. Can't wait to try other locations out!

Date of stay: September 2021
Thank angelofsin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager Iberostar Mexico, Owner at Iberostar Grand Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2021

Dear guest,

We want you to know how happy we are that you had such an excellent holiday with us at Iberostar Grand Paraiso and we thank you for sharing it with others.

Our team will be pleased by your praise, our staff is not only particularly hospitable but are also provided continuous training in terms of service and general working practice. Therefore we are very pleased that both the efforts of our employees and our passionately prepared gastronomy have left a good impression on you.

Thank you again for sharing your motivating comments and we look forward to serving you again at our hotel.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Grand Paraiso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2021 via mobile

Overall we had a fabulous time. The staff is top notch and truly cares about making your trip the best one . The staff works so hard .

Rooms: clean and spacious. It has everything you need

Food: overall disappointing. Breakfast was the best meal. Lunch was awful the whole time we where there. The buffet was bland and the menu if you order for lunch took at least an hour or more to come . When you did get your food it was cold . Honestly it seemed to be more of a staffing issue . Dinner was a hit or miss .

Beach: yes there is seaweed but let me tell you … they worked so hard to clear it daily . They can’t help the seaweed. There are plenty of beach huts so no need to save or do the towel game. Beach service was always great!!

Overall great resort .

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ashocks06
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager Iberostar Mexico, Owner at Iberostar Grand Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2021

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind review of your recent holiday with us at Iberostar Grand Paraiso.

Such a friendly review of our hotel is, of course, a great pleasure to read and confirms for us that our daily actions are worthwhile and that we are on the right path with our numerous efforts.

Likewise, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your feedback with us, as being our gastronomy is one of our most important pillars, we are sure that your comments will be of great help to enhance our guests’ experiences.

Again, we thank you for your pleasant review of our hotel and hope that Iberostar will continue to provide you with excellent holiday experiences in the future.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Grand Paraiso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews