We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
28 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$378
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/03/06
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
US$378
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/03/06
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
US$412
US$356
View Deal
SAVE US$56
Orbitz.comUS$381
CheapTicketsUS$381
Trip.comUS$412
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14 735)
Filter reviews
14 735 results
Traveller rating
10 631
2 460
889
474
281
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
10 631
2 460
889
474
281
Show reviews that mention
All reviews martini bar health bar santa fe swim up room k team sand bags fuentes pool greenhouse tour la isla pool casitas section wine pairing swing bar outdoor shower culinary theatre jo jos spot restaurant personal concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 14 735 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to my cousin's wedding for a long weekend and it was so much fun!

Such a great get away! VERY CLEAN! Everyone is super nice!

If you go, make sure you go to the Casita's pool and swim up to a bar. My favorite bartender was Julio. We spent almost all our trip there with our group and felt like it was our private pool!

Room tip: The casitas were super nice, but we stayed in the El Dorado Royal rooms, but next time, sign me up for a casita!
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaitlynb525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisma Hotels, General Manager at El Dorado Royale by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hola!

It has been a pleasure to read your recent review.

I am sure your comments will be a very nice motivation for our staff to keep working for all future travelers when trying our destination.

Hoping to welcome you once again at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.
Best regards,


Management response

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent a week with friends this month at El Dorado Royale. It was our 16th trip to a Karisma property and we are never disappointed. The property is beautiful and the food is amazing. This resort was hit by a tropical storm and two hurricanes in 2020, and they have worked diligently to bring it back to its original beauty. If you were a first-time traveler here you would hardly notice what it has been through. We love our trips here.

True the facilities are well maintained and the food is great, but the staff is the highlight! They work so hard to please their guests and the hospitality and desire to make your vacation wonderful, is unmatched. We stayed with member benefits this trip. Our butler team was the best we have ever had! Between Edgar and Candido, we were more spoiled than in any other trip. Honestly, what a fabulous team! They went above and beyond, providing service we didn't even know we wanted, needed or requested. They were amazing! There were our usual standouts that we seek out every time we visit: Amairani, for great beach drink service, Jovany for great drinks and a laugh and Tony who is the best beach butler! The waiters are great too, but honestly, we seek out Jose (Santa Fe and Kampai) every chance we get, he gives the best service and has an amazing memory. He always remembers us, and what we like and goes the extra mile. There are many travelers here; I am certain we are not the only ones he remembers, so clearly he is invested in giving great service to the guests. As I mentioned, we traveled as a member of ABEO travelers club and some of their staff also did everything they could to make this a fabulous trip: Angelita took care of our prearrival details, so that everything was in order when we got to our rooms, Marlene, did a midweek check to make sure things were going as planned, and as always, Frank Torres is there when we have any questions, no matter which office he is assigned to during our stay, he is fantastic! Thank you!

Traveling during COVID is a hard decision to make, especially when it is for pleasure. We all have our reasons why or why we won't travel and we need to make those decisions based on the information we are given at the time. At the resort, they take COVID seriously and have taken steps to minimize guest's exposure. The resort is allowed 50% occupancy right now. All staff wear masks, all of the time, down to a worker cleaning up the beach and nowhere near other people. They will limit room exposure and only come in as often or as little as you would like. They do ask (and is required, but not always adhered to) that guests wear masks in and out of restaurants, or while up walking to the restroom at the restaurants, riding in the shuttles and with bellmen, or in public spaces where you cannot distance. Obviously, you don't need it in your room, in the pools and on the beach where you can easily practice social distancing. We wore our masks as required and any time we interacted directly with staff, as a courtesy to them...it really was not a big deal at all. As of January 26th, COVID testing is required by the US to board the flight home. This could have been a deal breaker for many to travel, but Karisma stepped up and is offering free on-site COVID testing for guests traveling back to the US. you can visit their web-site for details. Before this requirement, we tested prior to going to Mexico and upon return, just for our own peace of mind.

We will definitely be back, we have several trips already scheduled!

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lilli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisma Hotels, General Manager at El Dorado Royale by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Lilli T

Thank you for your wonderful review of your experiences at El Dorado Royale Riviera Maya, a SPA resort by Karisma , it was a pleasure to host your vacation and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your Karisma experience.

There is nothing more rewarding than to receive the praise from our valued guests and we will certainly share your experiences with our employees. We are very happy to hear that the staff mentioned had such a positive effect on your visit and they will be rewarded for their efforts.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to the El Dorado Royale Riviera Maya, a SPA resort by Karisma


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We love El Dorado - I have been going every year (sometimes twice a year!) for the past 6-7 years! It is the ultimate vacation. Not only is it a beautiful cared for resort, the food is amazing and the staff makes our time great! Notably, Jossie, Hugo, Haxby, Jose, and Mago feel like friends and make our time feel so fun! The butlers there are also amazing! Go to El Dorado, you won't regret it!

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandazimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisma Hotels, General Manager at El Dorado Royale by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear amandazimmer
Thank you for your wonderful review of your experiences at El Dorado Royale Riviera Maya, a SPA resort by Karisma , it was a pleasure to host your vacation and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your Karisma experience.

There is nothing more rewarding than to receive the praise from our valued guests and we will certainly share your experiences with our employees. We are very happy to hear that the staff mentioned had such a positive effect on your visit and they will be rewarded for their efforts.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to the El Dorado Royale Riviera Maya, a SPA resort by Karisma


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in the presidential villa and had the wonderful Gaby and Alrondra for butlers! They made the week wonderful! Alrondra made sure coffee, tea and pastries were delivered every morning and Gaby had lovely treats for us at night when we returned after dinner. They offered to drive us anywhere and made sure we made it dinner and spa reservations on time. When our friends had to change their travel plans and we wanted to extend a day, they helped us arrange new rooms for the last night, since the villa was already booked. We had wonderful massages at the spa with Irene and Miriame. We were hesitant about traveling with the current health situation but the resort is going to great means to sanitize distance inside.

The one downside was the villa had a sewer smell in the master bath that at times was nauseating and woke us up. Apparently we weren't the first to complain but the resort has not fixed it and still places people in the rooms. For the money the villa costs, we would have thought Karisma would fix this and not place guests in it. Our butlers went above and beyond trying to resolve the situation but beyond continuing to call maintenance, it was out of their control.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank omahatravels49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisma Hotels, General Manager at El Dorado Royale by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear omahatravels49
Thank you for your wonderful review of your experiences at El Dorado Royale Riviera Maya, a SPA resort by Karisma , it was a pleasure to host your vacation and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your Karisma experience.

There is nothing more rewarding than to receive the praise from our valued guests and we will certainly share your experiences with our employees. We are very happy to hear that the staff mentioned had such a positive effect on your visit and they will be rewarded for their efforts.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to the El Dorado Royale Riviera Maya, a SPA resort by Karisma


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent a week in January and had a wonderful relaxing time in spite of a few days of rain and relatively chilly weather. We stayed in a swim up and it was a challenge to get in the water the first few days. The ocean was a little warmer but several days of rough waves. We spent time on our patio area relaxing and enjoying drinks brought by the pool waiter from the Spot. Our neighbors were really nice and we enjoyed our time visiting with them. The lawn across the pool was covered in iguanas and it was fun to watch their antics.

The complex is three resorts in one and carts come around frequently or you can call for one. The grounds are very pretty with lots of lawn, flowers, and trees.

Our room was nice. One of the best beds (soft mattress) we have had in Mexico. Very nice bathroom with a big 2 person hot tub. As noted on some other reviews, the toilet doesn't always flush right. We ended up calling for help once. Maintenance responded very quickly. The minibar fridge was filled daily. Housekeeping kept us in fresh towels including wash clothes (a rarity in many resorts) .

Service was wonderful. Shout outs to Gregorio at La Isla, Silverio at Kampai, and Oscar at Fuentes.

If you get a chance, go to Fuentes. There is a small up charge to attend and an additional charge for wine pairing (if interested). Food was the best for the week. Entertainment was fabulous with Pablo on guitar.

The biggest complaint for the week is around some of the food we tried. At D 'Italia de Casitas, we had a main dish of Portobello mushroom that was served cold. When we pointed it out they threw it in the microwave and brought it back ( I could tell it was the one we sent back because it still had a bite out of it). At Wine Kitchen in Generations we were served raw ceviche (yes I know how it is prepared). The inside was still gray. This was taken away without comment. Our main dishes had a vegetable mix on the side. The mushrooms had warmed caps and raw stems, the veggies were cold and barely cooked (not even close to al dente). Otherwise the entrees were good.

We caught the tequila tasting the 1st day we were there. Seating is limited but it is well worth attending. The higher end tequilas are amazing.

Tuesday was the Mexican Fiesta. This was served buffet style and while a huge variety, buffet food does not compare to the individually cooked meals in the other restaurants. The dance show was very good. A mix reflecting Mexican heritage from different time periods.

Our two favorite bars were the Spot which was near our room and the Kick which was down at the ocean. Try a toasted almond! Call your liquors when requesting a drink and you will be pleased with the results.

Only other watch out is the pressure from the vacation package sales group. We were pestered repeatedly until we bluntly said no.

Low occupancy and repairs from the hurricane had a few places closed. Check your schedule and visit with your concierge to make sure when things are open. We made reservations for dinner through our concierge and recommend doing this early to avoid any hassles with seating.

Overall wonderful stay and would like to go again. Looking at Casitas for next time.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thetravelingtoads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisma Hotels, General Manager at El Dorado Royale by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Thetravelingtoads,

Thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent visit and for taking the time to share your words of appreciation.

We are thrilled to know you had such a wonderful stay at El Dorado Royale Riviera Maya, a SPA resort by Karisma and cannot wait for you to experience another Karisma experience with us.

We all look forward to the privilege of serving you on a return trip to Mexico and the Mayan Riviera!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews