We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We'll be back”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of gite,
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of gite,
Living Room Window of Gite View from Lane
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Front of gite,
Living Room Window of Gite
View from Lane
Blue Room in Gite
Rose Room in Gite with En-Suite and Day Bed
Pool with Steps
Al Fresco Dining and Table tennis under theTerrace
View of House from top meadow
Abundance of Fruit in the Orchards . Help yourself to peaches, apples and variety of plums
Sunflowers in field next to Le Grand Bois
Enjoying Glass of Wine on Terrace as Sun goes Down
Spices at local Eymet Market
Apples at Bergerac Market
Fruit Picking in the orchard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Eymet, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lorraine...
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Great location and great accommodation. Le Grand Bois is in a quiet rural location with no neighbours and no traffic. Bags of space outside and bags of space inside. Outside there are extensive grounds and loads of wildlife. Inside there is everything you could wish for in this well equipped cottage. (Except a dishwasher and I have decided you can't have everything).
The owners were very friendly and easy to deal with and just a phone call away if you have any queries. Handy for Eymet, Issigeac, Bergerac and all the usual haunts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Spiders
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan C
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An unbelievable escape”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We recently returned from a truly fantastic stay at the Le Grand Bois with our friends and can honestly say the whole group have struggled to return to the stresses of our daily lives.

Our group consisted of 4 families with children ranging in age from 2 - 16 years and all had an absolute blast. The gite's grounds are brilliant, from the spotless pool to the huge lawn area and abundance of trees over-flowing with fruit, which were a particular favourite with the kids who loved picking the apples, peaches and plums to make crumbles and jam and generally eating it whilst exploring .

It is the first time that I myself have stayed at a property with such a large group and I would be lying if I said prior to leaving to go on the holiday I wasn't concerned about how we were all going to deal with the logistics of comfortably living together for a week and feeding all the hungry mouths at meal times! However pretty much immediately on our arrival at the Le Grand Bois my concerns disappeared. There is plenty of space to lose yourself in at the property, with the rooms being comfortable and spacious , the 2 large kitchen diners and the large main patio area over looking the pool and garden which became the groups favourite haunt and the best place to feed the zoo at meal times!!!!

The property is a complete escape, the area is stunning with views to take in everywhere. The sensible adults chose to enjoy these relaxing at the gite and tasting wines produced in the local area whilst the more adventurous (I call them mad individuals!) chose to hop on bicycles or go for a run to explore the local area.

My only complaint about the holiday was it was't long enough and the week went far too quickly. We will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden & pool
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winston47
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exceeded Our Expectations!”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent six weeks at Le Grand Bois with a series of friends and relatives (including ten month old twins!) and had a fabulous holiday.
The location in the French countryside was superb providing plenty of space for games of boules and walking/jogging etc. The covered patio offered views of spectacular sunsets and a perfect place for eating and drinking.
The accommodation was spacious, comfortable and ideal for our purposes.
The pool was excellent and many happy hours were spent in or around it.
There are some lovely restaurants and markets not too far away, the details of which can be found in a file onsite.
The owners of the property were extremely helpful and very friendly.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning location, beautiful gite with great views and wildlife”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had an absolutely wonderful stay of two weeks with our dog. The location is ideal, peaceful and quiet but very easy to access vineyards, markets, Bergerac and hypermarkets. Lots of lovely wildlife around, and beautiful countryside views.

The gite itself is very quaint - lovely on the inside and out, nice and cool too on hot days. The swimming pool was lovely catching the sun all day - with a gazebo for some shade if it gets too hot. Also loved the grounds with lots of space, lovely plants and trees and a hammock for relaxing whilst reading a book.

Would certainly go back tomorrow - a perfect gite in a perfect location if you want to see/taste the delights on offer around Bergerac. Can also recommend the lovely Sunday market in Issigneac and Eymet and surrounding chateaus are a must too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - perfect for vineyards and Bergerac but also in a nice quiet location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning rural setting”
Reviewed 10 December 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had an amazing stay at Le Grand Bois and everything was easy and very welcoming from the moment we arrived. It was such a short transfer from Bergerac airport that the kids were in the pool within an hour of us landing. The gite was well equipped and had everything that we needed, the WIFI was particularly handy.
Nearby is the beautiful town of Eymet with a fantastic food market and some lovely cafes and makes a great excursion. We also enjoyed a couple of great meals out locally which were extremely good value.
The setting is beautiful with fantastic views and it was lovely to take an evening stroll around the fields at sunset. It’s also a good area for cycling and as the roads are very quiet we felt it was really safe for the children.
We are definitely coming back next year and hope to rent out the gite and adjoining farm house together so that we can bring another family with us. We are so glad we discovered this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool was fantastic and views were stunning.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing