We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Far beyond our expectations”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Vieille Grange

Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Terrace Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Pool
Terrace
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Upstairs Showeroom
Bedroom 2
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Bedroom 3
Bedrooom 3
Kithchen
Study
Mezzanine two Double Beds
Dining Room
Terrace
La Vieille Grange
Eymet  market
Sigoules Foire de Vin
Sunflower
Pool
A walk by the Sunflowers
The Lake at St. Sulpice
Le Dropt in Eymet
Fireworks in Bergerac
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Eymet, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gerry M
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Far beyond our expectations”
Reviewed 1 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

A superb house in a lovely quiet location yet close to shops, restaurants etc. The house has been restored beautifully and has all mod-cons. The lovely swimming pool and sun deck was a big hit with our children and grand-children - all surrounded by nice gardens. We would highly recomment it for a great holiday.

Teresa & Gerry Martin

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being there!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew m
London
1 review
“EVERYTHING was Perfect.. A truly beautiful house, When can I go back!!”
Reviewed 30 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We were recommended this holiday rental from a friend who told us how wonderful it was. How right she was.. What a beautiful place La Vieille Grange is!

My partner and I stayed here for a week with our family in the large gite for one wonderful week in July. The house is absolutely beautiful, with wonderful furniture, beautiful paintings, fully stocked book case & large airy rooms with wonderful views of sunflowers. We enjoyed early morning swims before the heat of the day, breakfast on the terrace, aperitifs on the swing seat, salad lunches under the giant pergola, an afternoon snooze in the hammock and candlelit dinners beneath the stars! This is the most beautiful holiday rental I have ever stayed in - and i've stayed in many!!

Susie and John are both very kind, welcoming, wonderful hosts and I thank them so much for running such a wonderful retreat. They were always on hand if we needed anything,
from recommending which restaurants to visit, where the best markets were and Susie even made our daughter a birthday cake on her birthday! As well as meeting our every need, they also left us alone to relax and enjoy our holiday. We felt almost as sad to leave them as we did their wonderful home.

You can do so much in this beautiful part of France, or you can do nothing but relax. We had huge plans to do everything but relaxation got the better of us, we struck a perfect balance of a few activities and day trips, and sleeping in the warm sun and dipping into the pool!

The house is a beautifully converted barn and the rooms are large and cool, a perfect escape from the heat of the day. The swimming pool is saltwater, which basically feels like your swimming in a fresh water pool, no harsh chemicals and my wife's hair didn't turn green as is has in so many chlorine pools!

This is my first review on trip advisor. I use it all the time as it's so helpful to find rentals but this is the first time i've bothered to write a review.. (bad man) But they truly deserve it, I hope it's been helpful. We will be back, as i'm sure many of it's previous guests will be too!

Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, setting and pool were all perfect
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best Gite we have stayed in, Would Recommend to everyone.”
Reviewed 28 August 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We stayed at this lovely property with our three children, and would highly recommend it to everyone. The Gite is the best we have stayed in, it has every amenity you could wish for and is clean and airy. The garden is delightful to either play in or just sit and watch the world go by and relax - the pool is a dream. The local area has plently to explore and the town of emeyt is nearby providing everything you need, and a visit to the market is a must to buy all the local produce that is on offer. The owners provide a very warm welcome are there if you need them but alow you your privacy to enjoy your holiday. What more can I say we will be back to enjoy this wonderful home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm Welcome, amenities and cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonRed...
London
1 review
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 27 August 2012 for a stay in June 2012

This is the second time I have taken a holiday at La Vieille Grange and it gets better and better. This is just the kind of place I need to unwind from a busy city life. An early morning swim, breakfast on the terrace, a trip to one of the many local markets, back for lunch and a siesta, before an evening trip to pretty little Eymet or more cosmopolitan Bergerac.
Staying here with a group of friends works really well; there are plenty of places for conviviality as well as quiet corners to chill out with a glass of the excellent loca wine and a good book.
The decor of the house is straight out of Country Living and anyone who loves the French country house style will appreciate the effort and the thought that has gone into the restoration of this beautiful old barn.
The hosts John and Susie Rivers are on hand - but never in your face - with advice and help when needed; we are great foodies and they pointed us in all the right directions. I really love this place and can't recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to relax
Liked least: What's not to like
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen p
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“beautiful house with everything you could need”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We had an amazing week with our two kids (5 and 3) who loved the non chlorine pool which didn't sting their eyes, the large garden and the swings and slide. The house had everything we needed and was beautiful. Plenty of space for extended families (we were also with my mum and husband's parents). Lovely setting for eating outside and lazing over meals. Ideal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: swimming pool
Liked least: a little far from major towns
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;