We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What an amazing place!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Step off the world for a few days
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Step off the world for a few days
Bedroom one with double bed and antique bedspread Bedroom One
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Step off the world for a few days
Bedroom one with double bed and antique bedspread
Bedroom One
Bedroom 2 with seating
Bedroom 2 with screen
Bedroom 2
Bathroom with big roll top bath and water heated by woodburner
Our new lovely cooking/firepit
Relax in a hammock
Woodland Ping pong
Lakes to walk around or fish
Blue bell woods
Make some art with nature
Create
Whitewell church walk
Tucked away in a woodland setting
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitchurch, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kasbahhot...
Nkob, Morocco
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an amazing place!!”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Such a lovely place who owned by Dan and Angie. They are so friendly and welcoming as the village. Iam lucky I met this people who maked my stay so wonderful. I recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triptrave...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing stay. Definatly fun being off grid for a few days”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The engine house is situated in quiet surroundings with plenty of privacy with its own space and history. The owners, Dan and Angie, are very friendly and helpful indeed and have paid much attention to making the cottage as welcoming as possible with all sorts of unexpected nice touches to make a stay enjoyable. The kitchen in particular was well equipped even down to the ground coffee provided in the coffee tin. There's a small gas fridge for fresh food etc. The place has a magical feeling in the evening lit throughout by candlelight and even our teenage daughters survived with no facebook and no power. Heating and hot water is provided by a wood burner - just keep it going well as it naturally takes time to warm. The grounds are mostly free to wander and there is plenty to do nearby in Shropshire and North Wales. We would most definitely recommend for a short getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The magical feel of the candlelight in the evenings
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2016
Thank you, we enjoyed meeting you and testing the zip wire together.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Recharged our batteries!”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The Engine House is a great place to unwind, with or without the kids. The setting is lovely: in its own bit of woodland, complete with awesome (according to our teenage experts) swings, lakes and a badger sett, plus a piece of grass to mess about on by the house.

Inside, the furniture and accessories give a feeling of a much loved holiday home that has been in the family for generations, each adding their own bits and pieces over the years.

If you're looking for luxury or effortless comfort, this is not the place for you. You need to add logs to the wood burner if you want a hot (nice and deep) bath, and cooking by candle light takes getting used to.

If you are more adventurous and would like to see what it's like to live without mains electricity, you have to book a stay! The owners, Angie and Dan, are friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome.

On the practical side, there are battery and wind-up lanterns, as well as a wind-up radio, books, maps, board games and extra blankets (we didn't need any) and a gas heater in the large bed/sitting room upstairs.

We had a great time and will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Thank you, we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing