We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
R 3 240
Go to your Happy Price
Booking.com
R 3 240
No prepayment needed
Agoda.com
R 3 240
Breakfast included
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 770)
Filter reviews
1 770 results
Traveller rating
1 122
487
119
26
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 122
487
119
26
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe mountain view scones lunch and dinner dining room self catering drakensberg mountains horse riding deluxe room underfloor heating guided walk stunning views morning and afternoon tea wonderful stay walking trails drakensberg boys choir food was amazing monks cowl
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1 770 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2024 via mobile

A stunning location with views of Cathkin Peak and the surrounding Berg - our family has long-enjoyed the walks, horse-riding, tennis and other activities - and it is great to see these still well-catered for. Various areas were being renovated and upgraded, which is always good to see in a hotel. A wonderful place to stay.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JaredD161
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Georges Romarin, General Manager at Champagne Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2024

Thank you for sharing your experiences at Champagne Castle Hotel, Jared.


I'm thrilled to hear that your family continues to enjoy the variety of activities we offer, including the walks, horse-riding, and tennis.

I appreciate your positive feedback on our ongoing renovations and upgrades, as we strive to enhance our facilities for our guests.

Thank you for staying with us once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to this part of the Central-Drakensberg

Until then, safe travesl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2024

We had na wonderful stay!The atmosphere is so seren and tranqual, it is very inviting.
On arrival you are greeted with warmth and geniunity. Very professional staff, willing to help and go beyond.
The room was spacious and quiet like the decor, it gives you the comfort of a home away from home.the views are spectacular,
Food was ok, could be elevated a bit.
This hotel is a hidden gem, great getaway place from a busy city life, to relax and recooperate.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FarAway20735519549
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Georges Romarin, General Manager at Champagne Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2024

I'm delighted that you found your stay with us to be serene and tranquil, FarAway20735519549.

Our team prides itself on offering a warm welcome and professional service, and it's wonderful to hear that your room provided the quiet comfort of a home away from home.

We take your feedback on the food seriously and are always looking for ways to elevate our dining experience.

Thank you for recognising us as a hidden gem; we look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing getaway.

Safe travels until then

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2024

It was a fabulous time in the berg, with delicious meals and good service. Such a treat not to have to cook! Rooms have a wonderful view of the mountains, and it is lovely sitting by the pool having a drink and watching the clouds go by. Hiking trails that start from the hotel is great.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Georges Romarin, General Manager at Champagne Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2024

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay, Carol

It sounds like you had a fabulous time enjoying the beautiful scenery, delicious meals, and our poolside views.

Not having to cook is always a win :-) We are fortunate to be located inside the World Heritage Site, with trails leading onto the mountains, directly from the Hotel property. Your enjoyment is our greatest reward.

We're looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to this part of the Central Drakensberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2024

A hotel with excellent staff, delicious food and stunning views. All the staff were so efficient and friendly. Our rooms were so comfortable, clean and so spacious.There was such a wide variety of dishes to choose from at every meal time. The gardens and the surroundings are very well kept. We all had a very relaxing and peaceful holiday.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Guilene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Georges Romarin, General Manager at Champagne Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2024

I'm so pleased to hear that you had a relaxing and peaceful holiday with us, Guilene

I've passed your feedback on to the Chef and his team. They're always happy to receive feedback from guests.

Ensuring our rooms are comfortable, clean, and spacious is a priority, and we're glad this contributed to your stay.

Thank you for your kind words about our gardens and surroundings; we look forward to hosting you again for another serene escape.

Until then, safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2024

My wife and I initially booked in for two days but loved it so much we extended our stay. The setting is beautiful and we were able to do a number of walks/hikes. The hotel provide all information including routes et cetera. The room we had had spectacular views to the mountains and the fact that all food was provided, breakfast, lunch, evening meal worked very well and especially as we are both vegetarian we were delighted with the choice available. I can't recommend this place highly enough

Room tip: Ask for one of the rooms facing the mountains
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gerard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Georges Romarin, General Manager at Champagne Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2024

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, Gerard

Hearing that you and your wife decided to extend your stay is the highest compliment we could receive.

I'm delighted that the beauty of the setting and the variety of walks / hikes met your expectations.

I've passed your review on to the Chef and his team. I know how hard they work to ensure our guests enjoy a wonderful dining experience.

Thank you for your high recommendation, and we eagerly anticipate your next visit.

Until then, safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews