We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
173
137
47
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
137
47
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi bath honesty bar champagne valley cooked meals monk's cowl log fire central drakensberg mountain view dining room thatched roof breakfast and dinner boys choir we loved our stay two nights cathkin peak comfortable stay easy access
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 387 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great time. We were very well looked after and there was something for everyone. Our doggies had the best fun, though! We swam, jumped on the trampoline, went for walks. We couldn't ask for a better family location.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GoPlaces65118764350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a lovely place to stay at this is! The staff is great and always willing for a chat. The whole farm just makes you feel right at home.

You're also nicely located to go explore the Drakensberg area. Monk's Cowl is just around the corner with a few hiking trails. Also worth a visit is the Drakensberg Brewery after the walk.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Flyer66281825313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2019

I stayed at Ardmore Guest farm for one night on two accounts as I was travelling to and from Durban.

On both accounts I was welcomed and assisted by very friendly staff.I have to rate the dinner as 5 star as the streak was succulent and prepared to my liking and the salad wash fresh and crisp.

The room and linen was clean and tidy. I can not complaint and will recommend this little hidden gem to anyone whom would like to take a break from the hustle and bustle of city life and enjoy country living with an spectacular view.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nishkaclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreGuestFarm, Owner at Ardmore Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Nishka, thank you for such a wonderful review. So glad you found the meals to be of such a high standard. You are welcome to pop in again!
All the best
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2019

The Guest House is located some km off the main road to Monks Cowl – which is the starting point for hiking in Middle Drakensberge. Since it seemed to be a farm before, you still find a lot of different buildings, waggons, dirt roads and other items on the area and it is not like holiday resort. Our Zulu room was a standalone small villa with a beautiful deck facing the mountains. We found everything clean in the public areas as well as in our room. Sleeping room and bath room were very spacious and nicely furnished. Since the curtains are not very good you better bring a sleeping mask if you’re light sensitive. The breakfast and dinner are rather simple but tasty. If you want to spend some days enjoying the Drakensberge and do not have too high expectations we can definitely recommend the Ardmore Guest House.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lubriport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreGuestFarm, Owner at Ardmore Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive comments on Ardmore. We are in the process of putting thicker backing lining on the curtains. We are glad you enjoyed the Zulu cottage.You are right, we are not a holiday resort, we try to give our guests an experience that will leave them feeling relaxed and refreshed. We pusue a sustainable farming operation and work hard at this.
All the best
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2019

Ardmore farm is a great place to stay to explore the Champagne Valley area and more of the Drakensburgs . Easy access to marked walks straight from the farm, and travel by road is easy too. Within easy reach of Spionkop and other Boer War sites and the excellent museum in Ladysmith. Accommodation is comfortable and very private we stayed in Zulu which is spacious and well equipped.Food and catering is homely farm style, with generous portions and all prepared on the premises.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pgcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreGuestFarm, Owner at Ardmore Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for such a good review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your cottage so much. We are indeed in the middle of such a variety of things to do and places to explore.
All the best
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews