We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Nearby Hotels
The Swallow's Nest Bed & Breakfast(Winterton)(Great Value!)
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage(Winterton)(Great Value!)
US$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ardmore Guest Farm(Winterton)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tugela River Lodge(Winterton)(Great Value!)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Lilac Lodge(Winterton)(Great Value!)
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cayley Lodge(Winterton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1 087)
Filter reviews
1 087 results
Traveller rating
562
326
135
36
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
562
326
135
36
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue grottotsogo suncanopy tourhorse ridingkids entertainmentheated pooldining areagreat holidaywhole familytrouthiking trailsdinner buffetthe ground floorall agesfamily holidayworld classself catering
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 1 087 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We arrived early and did the paper work and decide to wait until 14h00 when we should have had entrance to our unit. After asking quite a few times when our unit would be available we were only allowed in 45 min later. While we waited we told the staff that they could at least have offered us coffee. This was also promised but we later just stood up and went to our unit. The unit was beautiful and views magnificent. Beds and bedding very good. Unit well equipped. We went on the lake boat cruise. They have horse riding guided walks table tennis and a good games room. Very sorry there is not a putt putt course. Also a beautiful heated swimming pool. We enjoyed our stay and would like to go back again and also to do a bit of birding. We also had a breakfast one morning which was super. Richard who is in charge here runs a tight ship everything works 100%.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank heineraudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger P, General Manager at Drakensberg Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

It was a real pleasure having you on the Resort with us recently and I am very appreciative of the comments following your stay.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you back here again soon.

Until we meet again,

Best regards
Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

a lovely setting, friendly staff and wonderful accommodation and food. lots to do at the hotel and the surrounds. This is a wonderful get away for nature lovers, families, a romantic get away or friends. So wonderful to go for a few days or longer.

Room Tip: ground floor gives you access directly to the garden.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 307jellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger P, General Manager at Drakensberg Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

It was a real pleasure having you on the Resort with us recently and I am very appreciative of the comments following your stay.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you back here again soon.

Until we meet again,

Best regards
Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

This beautiful hotel is a real gem. Tucked at the foot of a mountain with beautiful views all round and lots of fun activities for the whole family. Food was okay but the restaurant staff needed a bit of a shove every now and then

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank gershonn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger P, General Manager at Drakensberg Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

It was a real pleasure having you on the Resort with us recently and I am very appreciative of the comments following your stay.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you back here again soon.

Until we meet again,

Best regards
Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay - our room was an ‘executive premium’ on the ground floor - it was spacious and comfortable. It was kept meticulously clean - although the corridor was slightly ‘musty’ and littered with room service trays which should have been cleared more promptly. However - the Resort staff more than made up for this minor shortcoming - in particular the very cheerful bell-hops manoeuvring the suitcase trolley up/down multiple flights of stairs (no lifts here).

The stand-out for us was the buffet (which we are generally not keen) but in the Drakensberg Sun the buffet was well managed and had sufficient chef-stations for prompt service of freshly cooked food - in particular for the evening dinner buffet was a’la carte standard. At our last breakfast the restaurant was fairly ‘jammed’ with conference attedees but the service and food was still excellent.

The grounds were extensive and well kept - except the pool area was a little ‘tired’. Overall a good base for a few days in The Drakensberg.

Room Tip: Ground floor opens directly to patio and grounds
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mwD3475UC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger P, General Manager at Drakensberg Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

It was a real pleasure having you on the Resort with us recently and I am very appreciative of the comments following your stay.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you back here again soon.

Until we meet again,

Best regards
Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Awesome grounds & facilities, lovely activities - we would love to have stayed longer but it was jam packed full of fun. The pool was lovely - Mandla was our poolside waiter - he was excellent and Robert Pringle the resort Front Office Manager is someone whois most helpful, hands on and an excellent representative of your resort!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Q8415JOamandab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger P, General Manager at Drakensberg Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

It was a real pleasure having you on the Resort with us recently and I am very appreciative of the comments following your stay. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you back here again soon. Until we meet again, Best regards Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews