We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful holiday cottage that's ideally placed...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Peterchurch, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rachel C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We chose this cottage as a base to visit the Hay Festival. The cottage was a little dissapointing. The cottage was clean enough on the surface but if you looked closer it needed a good spring clean. I am aware it is a cottage in the middle of the countryside, so expect some spiders/insects etc but there were so many spiderswebs on the ceiling and walls. A hoover or long handled duster would have sorted them out! These are complaints that have been left in other reviews (which sadly we didn't read before booking!) so not sure if the owners have taken this on board.

The attention to detail is lacking. There is no hanging rail/wardrobe in the bedroom, no bin in the bathroom (there is one in the bedroom). Considering the cottage faces a holiday let for 10, a blind at the fairly large kitchen window and at the bathroom window (both face the other holiday let), the bathroom window is frosted but a blind would be good for people who want more privacy.

The toilet handle was dodgy from the start of our holiday and then broke. We decided not to tell the owner a) because we were on holiday and didn't want to be bothered with plumbing issues, and b) because these kind of things should be checked and kept on top if by the owners. It was simpler just to flush the toilet using the flush mechanism inside the cistern.

The cottage was fine as a base for Hay Festival as we were out early ish and back late ish. It was not a cottage that personally we felt we could spend time relaxing.

There are good points! The cottage is in a beautiful setting with gorgeous views. It was quiet ( the family in the 10 person holiday let were quiet and kept themselves to themselves) and we slept very well. The bedroom is the best bit of the cottage and the bed very comfortable! There were House martins nesting, and it was lovely to watch them going about their business finding food and sorting their nests out. The shower was excellent and very powerful.

We would probably not choose this cottage again personally but I am aware that lots of people have found it to be a lovely cottage and have provided good reviews. We still enjoyed our holiday and our first visit to the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Surrey
Reviewed 2 November 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
undertone...
Kent, England
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well-equipped cottage in peaceful, unpopulated, verdant & beautiful Herefordshire. Great local walks.”
Reviewed 26 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Booked with a last minute discount so only briefly read a few reviews beforehand. Well, there are some moaning Minnie’s out there. Negative points – no mobile signal or (apparently) internet. PLUS POINTS – no mobile or internet signal! My mistake was to keep my mobile with me & to find out it worked at Arthur’s Stone with incoming griefy calls from work & home. Tip – leave your mobile in the cottage.
Cottage itself is cosy, clean with all the facilities you need. Bed large & comfortable & an excellent shower. Owners’ friendly & unobtrusive. Yes’m, there is another holiday barn directly opposite for 10 people. We stayed a week & most of that time the barn was unoccupied. When it was occupied we hardly noticed. (However, do agree with one comment I observed that curtains/blinds are needed in the kitchen window facing the barn for cottage privacy. Also, needed is a pint glass for proper sampling of the local beverages – a half-pint glass just doesn’t do. That‘s my moan over).
The nearby Farm Shop with easy walking distance sells cider and…..more cider. All excellent but not enough for you to get essential provisions. We had pre-ordered an internet Tesco grocery delivery for our arrival. That worked a treat.
There are lovely walks directly on the doorstep of the cottage so you don’t have to use your car. Climbing out of the beautiful Golden Valley does take time as you have to keep stopping to admire the discerning views. Didn’t meet any other walkers so that might explain why the public footpaths, signs & styles are not well maintained & do become, in parts, an obstacle course. (What is with the “Bull in Field” sign climbing into Maerdy Wood? Gets the adrenalin going but is someone trying to put off walkers?). Get a good map – we used OL13 for local walks. Apparently, walks not good for dog walkers due to livestock. The latter you meet lots of & even asked to help a farmer get his sheep in a barn – unsuccessfully. Shepherds we are not. Bacton & St Margaret’s Church are very much worth walking to from the cottage.
Lots of other local churches to visit with interesting histories. Peterchurch has the grave of Pte. Robert Jones VC - from Rorke’s Drift. I noted that he died young so I checked out www.rorkesdriftvc.com on returning home. Sad.
Biblical rain when we were there meant the smaller local roads were flooded with water coming direct off the newly ploughed fields bringing the mud with it. This closed some of the roads as we tried to get to Hereford – arriving there by a circuitous route. Worth it though.
Hay on Wye (bit “touristy”), Ross on Wye & Symonds Yat worth your time. No boat trip available at Symonds Yat due to the atrocious weather but glorious views from top (“Don’t just stop at tea hut, head for flag pole” was sound advice given to us).
Overall, a peaceful cottage in a beautiful & relatively unpopulated part of the country. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Local walks on doorstep.
Liked least: As usual, my wife can't map read!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petey321
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“We were so disappointed.”
Reviewed 30 May 2012 for a stay in July 2010
4
people found this review helpful

Thank goodness, for the sake of other unsuspecting guests, the description of this property has been amended and it now says it is adjacent to another holiday let.. At the time my partner and I booked the Granary ( I can not accurately say the exact date ) there was absolutely no mention of another holiday let anywhere near it., especially not such a huge one. The only thing mentioned was that it was close to the owner's property, which did not concern us. We were so desperate to find a stand alone, peaceful retreat that we scrutinised the literature over and over again before booking. It was of the utmost importance to us and we certainly would not have overlooked such a vital detail. We did not miss the mention of another holiday let because it was not there, written in the description! Neither was there any mention of the meadow being shared either, which would have obviously alerted us to other holiday makers in the close vacinity. Even now the details have been updated, it might be an idea, just to totally clarify how close these properties actually are, to add an extra photo to the gallery. This could be taken from the front of the little Granary, illustrating how severely limited any privacy is, especially as the doors and windows are directly opposite from each other. I feel only then can future guests make a truly informed decision before booking.

Now on to the condition of the Granary itself. Lovely as it could have been, it was dirty in several areas. The beam in the bedroom actually looked furry there was so much thick dust standing up on it. You couldn't miss it so goodness knows why it hadn't been cleaned. Cobwebs hung like lacy garlands from the wall at the top of the stairs, dust on the heated towel rail was so visible you could have written your name in it and there was grime around the base of the taps. The shower area wasn't too bad but there were still several pubic hairs in the base which obviously were not pleasant to contend with. Some of the plates and dishes still had crumbs sticking to them and a lot of the cutlery was dirty. The cutlery tray looked like it hadn't been washed for a while too. It was disgusting. My partner was so upset she was in tears and neither of us felt relaxed until we had cleaned the necessary areas ourselves. Everything (we didn't attempt the dust on the beam or stairwell) cleaned off with ease so this only served to indicate that the cleaning regime was obviously lazily carried out with no attention to detail.

Yes, we could have mentioned the lack of cleanliness to the owners. The main reason we didn't was because they were really lovely, having driven out to meet us when we couldn't find our way there through all the country lanes. Not a brilliant reason I know but, as we were just beginning our holiday, we didn't want our week to start with a confrontation and, possibly, subsequent awkwardness. Above all though, the need shouldn't have arisen in the first place - the grime was self-evident and everywhere should have been spotless. There is no excuse. Guests should not be put in a position where they have to point this out, possibly resulting in a bad atmosphere. It is a basic right for a paying guest to be provided with a clean place to stay. It doesn't have to be the height of luxury, just clean.

We filled in, in great detail, the feedback form provided by Syke's when we returned from our holiday and even sent it via recorded delivery so they were certain to receive it. Not a word did we hear back from them. Absolutely nothing. Great customer service! Maybe they're only interested in positive feedback. Although, it's strange because I notice there is a response from them with regard to another negative review on Tripadvisor.They appeared to respond very quickly to it too. Amazing that! Maybe, as the negative comments are being expressed within the public domain, rather than privately, they have to look as though they're listening. Whatever the reason, we will not be booking through Syke's again, or recommending them to anyone either.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surrounding countryside.
Liked least: The lack of cleanliness and lack of response from Sykes.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing